Make Your Next Trip Extraordinary

The trip of a lifetime!
Katherine Hoyt | March 7, 2018

Sanjay Saxena made my trip to India the trip of a lifetime! I went from February 6 to March 3, 2018. As part of his planning, Sanjay had us end the trip in Jodhpur where there was a very special celebration of a Hindu festival on March 2. He made it possible for our trip to include a few off-the-beaten-path places in which I was interested and where few organized trips go. He also suggested places and activities which were marvelous. All the hotels he picked were perfect and we often got upgrades because of his contacts. On the ground, our arrangements were handled by an excellent local company and we were completely taken care of, even pampered, from beginning to end. It was clear that Sanjay stayed on top of them throughout and he contacted us regularly as well. This amazing trip would not have been possible without Sanjay!

Personal and in-depth knowledge
Brett Knowles | October 29, 2017

Sanjay Saxena planned the perfect trip for my wife and I. From the very outset Sanjay gave us great advice and suggestions on every aspect of our trip with his personal and in-depth knowledge of India. He sent us numerous suggestions and detailed itinerary that we then refined to suit us. Even when last-minute changes had to be made Sanjay found a way to find new hotels and transfers with no delay or stress. We are already planning our next tailor-made adventure with Sanjay.

Absolutely priceless
Lark W Katchur | December 28, 2016

I had been in the international travel business for over 11 years, yet when my friends and I decided to go to India — a daunting locale— I decided to query Wendy, as I had met her years ago, for her referral. Sanjay was a perfect operator for us: experienced, creative, insider information. There were four of us with different parameters, and Sanjay listened to our wants and needs: budget, sights, timing, locations, and comforts. He put together a custom (and affordable) great tour, exactly what we wanted but could not find with a standard ready-built tour. I questioned Udaipur, but Sanjay was right: couldn’t have missed it! Eating dinner at a local merchant’s house? Absolutely priceless. There are lots of steps putting together this type of trip, so be patient.

He exceeded our expectations
Kirti Shah | October 8, 2015

Sanjay is very knowledgeable and helpful. The itinerary was planned by Sanjay after discussing our interests. The challenge we had given him was to plan a trip and show us parts of India that he would be proud of. He exceeded our expectations and the trekking in Ladakh was awesome! Sanjay was able to get us into some places in India which we could not have seen without his contacts. Also, he went out if his way to help us with our China/Tibet trip which we had booked with another operator.

Nothing short of amazing
Taffy & Dave Lock | April 2, 2015

We were on a magic carpet ride! We have just returned from a 5-week trip to India, professionally executed in flawless detail by Sanjay Saxena and his team. Our experience using their services was nothing short of amazing—from the pre-departure document to the final bulletin, everything was laid out and quality advice given so we could get the most out of our trip. We had the best guides and the best drivers—all orchestrated behind the scenes to share their passion for incredible India and give us wonderful spontaneous experiences which can be one of the greatest joys of travel. The accommodations were outstanding and became our oasis at the end of very busy days. If you want a meaningful, unique and memorable travel experience contact Sanjay at Destination Himalaya for his expert planning and in-depth knowledge of India.

I would do it again in a heartbeat
Cate Wallenfels | March 23, 2015

We went with Sanjay and his team to India for two months a few years ago. Everything this article says about Sanjay and his trips only scratches the surface. Sanjay and the people he works with in India are some of the most amazing people you will ever meet and Sanjay will put together a trip of a lifetime for you…over and over again. My family was forever changed by this experience and I would do it again in a heartbeat—no matter where we choose to go, as long as Destination Himalaya organizes it, it will be a life changer.

Everything was perfect
Claire Gallagher | September 15, 2014

Destination Himalaya took care of our trip from start to finish. Everything was perfect. We were handed off from one English-speaking guide to the next. Cars were air-conditioned and waiting for us as we went from site to site, and we were dropped off at the front entrance at almost every one. We didn’t have to think about anything; we just soaked it all in. Sanjay provided us with a unique trip that we will cherish for years to come. Pricing was excellent, and we stayed in hotels that were breathtaking. We had a delay in one of our flights and Destination Himalaya was able to get us an afternoon in the hotel (Rambagh Palace) at no extra charge—far better than sitting around an airport terminal! Would definitely recommend using Destination Himalaya for trips to India as they will take care of you in style.

Travel Tips

How You Can Prepare for the Laptop Travel Ban

by Wendy Perrin | May 14, 2017

Travel Tips

How to Never Wait on Hold with Airline Customer Service Again

by Wendy Perrin | December 12, 2016

Destination

How to Make a South Africa Trip Extraordinary? Go In Winter

by Billie Cohen | August 24, 2015

Ask Wendy

Ask Wendy: What Type of Camera Should I Take on Safari?

by Timothy Baker | February 5, 2018

Hotels

Wendy’s Favorite Small Hotels in Paris for 2014

by Wendy Perrin | October 27, 2014

Travel Tips

How to Plan for the Rio Olympics Now

by Billie Cohen | August 4, 2015

  • Have you returned from a trip arranged by this Trusted Travel Expert?

    If so, please leave a review of your experience so your fellow travelers can decide whether this travel planner is right for them. Include your name (because anonymous reviews are not fair), the month/year of your trip, the destination(s) you traveled to, and your advice for anyone who is considering hiring this travel planner. If you’d prefer to share your review privately, email Wendy.