Make Your Next Trip Extraordinary

I am very grateful for all his help!!!
Phyllis Cohen | November 14, 2019

The trip was terrific!

Hotels: All the hotels were well-located and the hotel personnel were attentive, helpful and just wonderful. Breakfasts were fine.

Meals: All our meals were terrific! Pablo made our dietary restrictions known everywhere. Lourdes in San Sebastian introduced us to loads of new tasty dishes and was fabulous! I would delightfully dine with her anywhere!

Guides and drivers: They were superb and really a pleasure! Having Alfonso for two days was a treat! His knowledge of the artists and their paintings was superb! And Gaudi! — Bernard was a treasure as well!

The wine tour? Lorraina was wonderful. I wish we had had more energy and drank more. It was a splendid day — even though the weather tried hard to not cooperate.

In total: Pablo did a fabulous job for us! He listened and responded in a timely fashion always. He gave us great ideas and executed our wishes with good cheer and helpfully! I am very grateful for all his help!!!

Thank you so much!

P.S. One more comment that you might impart to future travelers; We had some difficulties with Iberia Airlines. For one domestic flight, I thought our seats included being able to have one bag each. That was not so and we were penalized by having to pay $40/bag at the airport. That was not at all clear when I bought the seat. And, Jeff and I travelled home on Iberia, booked through AA. We were not ever allowed to select a seat and had to wait until we got to the airport to be assigned. We spoke with several people at Iberia on the phone and at the airport, and got the feeling that Iberia is not an easy airline with which to deal. We certainly would not recommend them.

We had asked for a focus on food and wine, so we had…
Marlyn and Michael Keaschuk | October 20, 2019

Pablo (and his assistant Joana) planned our Spain trip, including Madrid, La Rioja, San Sebastian, and Barcelona. The hotels chosen were excellent for a pair of travelers experiencing those locations for the first time, with easy access to the main attractions of the city. We had asked for a focus on food and wine, so we had full guided days in La Rioja and Penedes, a cooking school and pinxtos tour in San Sebastian, and a session in an anchovy cannery in Getaria. The guides we had were prompt, informative, and really flexible (which is always the advantage of paying for a private guide rather than opting for a group day tour). I would not hesitate to contact Pablo for our next trip to the region.

A trip for me and my 3 teen/tween-aged daughters…
Kirsten Smith | September 2, 2019

Pablo helped organize a trip for me and my 3 teen/tween-aged daughters to Barcelona, Costa Brava and Costa del Sol this past summer. Initially he organized an action-packed trip for us however took feedback along the way in the planning process to accomodate for beachside/poolside days as well as fun activities like e-biking and kayaking. In the end this was a blessing as we travelled in the height of the European heat wave and this did not melt our enthusiasm for Spain!

Gorgeous beaches and farmland, amazing meals everywhere, not overly touristy…
Amanda Mandel | July 24, 2019

Pablo was very responsive and flexible during the process of planning our trip. He listened well to what we wanted (an adult trip with lots of time to wander on our own), and booked us a lovely small hotel in Barcelona (The Mercer) and at the amazing Torrent del Mas in Costa Brava. All logistics went very smoothly, and Pablo was quick to answer the few questions we had during our trip. They gave us good restaurant choices in Barcelona (Bar Canete is a must go) and in Costa Brava (Pais del Mas). We can’t say enough positive things about Costa Brava – gorgeous beaches and farmland, amazing meals everywhere, not overly touristy…and Torrent del Mas was one of the most beautiful hotels we have been to. It was a bit challenging to leave each day to go sightseeing! We would go back to these parts of Spain in a heartbeat, and would definitely recommend Pablo as a travel planner.

I had also asked Pablo to try and get my son Jordan a Spanish guitar lesson, since my son is a guitar enthusiast.
Jeffrey Bernfield | June 1, 2019

Wendy,

I recently used Pablo to arrange a celebration trip for my son Jordan and his wife Deanna’s 2nd anniversary trip to Spain. They traveled to Barcelona, San Sebastian and Madrid and just returned a few days ago.

Overall, Pablo was a pleasure to work with throughout the trip planning process. He was very communicative – from the beginning – and was interested in crafting a personalized vacation for them. Pablo was easy to reach via email and always responded promptly and with thoughtful, intelligent answers. There was a lot of back and forth in the planning process and his insights were welcomed and helpful.

Specifically, one of our interests was to try different exclusive restaurants and wineries during the trip. Pablo was able to secure reservations at three different Michelin star restaurants in Barcelona and San Sebastian and he arranged wine tours to various boutique style wineries. In fact, one of the highlights of the trip was a special wine tour and bike ride that he recommended and arranged during the stay in Barcelona.

I had also asked Pablo to try and get my son Jordan a Spanish guitar lesson, since my son is a guitar enthusiast. Pablo was able to do this and that was another highlight of the vacation. Another highlight was a Flamenco show that Pablo had personally recommended.

All of the hotels were outstanding and all of the personal guides were great. In fact one of the guides helped Jordan with his guitar learning!

All of these arrangements and recommendations, allowed them to experience Spanish cuisine and culture in a way that I am sure would not have been possible otherwise. He was attentive to details and creative in his suggestions and he had the ability to secure unique, private and culturally enriching activities.

I would give my highest recommendation to Pablo and he is a deserving member of the WOW list.

He has excellent connections to the best guides and upgrades at all hotels;
Joel Gonzalez | April 22, 2019

Pablo proved to be of exceptional value on our trip to Spain. He has excellent connections to the best guides and upgrades at all hotels. Changes of plans during travel and special requests on the go seem to be regular for Pablo. He had all small details taken care of, and we will use him for the next trip to Spain.

He made a great itinerary that was the perfect mix of history, culture, and physical activity
Stephanie Danforth | March 21, 2019

Working with Pablo was a joy. I appreciate his knowledge, high level of service and fabulous attitude. He delivered exactly what we wanted. He made a great itinerary that was the perfect mix of history, culture, and physical activity. Our tour guide in Cordoba was perhaps the best guide that we have ever had. The hotels were delightful, the dining recommendations were superb! He was very conscious about staying within our budget (even more exacting than me!). He cautioned us about doing too many day trips from Seville and instead enjoying the vibe (which was the right call). He also gave me some great recommendations for when we had down time for some do-it-ourselves destinations. I was surprised that Spain is now my favorite European destination. I can’t wait to get back and will definitely book with Pablo the next trip.

Extremely accommodating to the diverse needs of our group
VIRGINIA MEYER | NOVEMBER 18, 2018

In September, a group of 8 family members ranging in age from 19 to 70 spent 11 days touring Portugal and then in doing a partial walk of the Camino into Santiago de Compostela in Spain. Goncalo and Pablo did a faultless job of organizing this trip according to our interests. We wanted to see the important sights, but yet have some athletic activities. We had 3 very athletic people on this trip. I told Goncalo that having excellent, informative guides was very important to us and he delivered. Tiago, our Portuguese guide, speaks perfect English, has traveled to the US and elsewhere, has inexhaustible energy and an encyclopedic knowledge of Portugal. Teresa Oliveira, our guide for the Spanish hike, was also very knowledgeable, as well as fun and extremely accommodating to the diverse needs of our group. Most notable was the way that Teresa and Pablo accommodated a last minute schedule change at the end of our trip. Due to Hurricane Florence, 2 of our group moved their return flights up by a day, 20 hours before flight time. While driving to our hotel, Teresa et al managed to move up all the next day’s activities, ie guides & private visit into that afternoon so that the early departees wouldn’t miss out on anything. Somehow they got it done and later Pablo refunded people for the hotels/taxis they didn’t use! That afternoon’s private visit was to Pazo do Faramello. We did a few private visits during this trip, but this was exceptional. Beautiful place, fascinating history, charming host—go if in the vicinity. Without hesitation, I would recommend Goncalo and Pablo to anyone.

It was everything we could have wished for
BILL AND LYNN MARTIN | OCTOBER 1, 2018

Great job, great trip, can’t wait to go back!

Thanks to the knowledge, experience, planning, and outstanding logistics management by Goncalo and his Spanish colleague Pablo, we had a spectacular 21-day trip to Portugal and Spain. It was everything we could have wished for. Each venue was interesting, enjoyable, different, and memorable. Highlights included Lisbon, Porto, Sevilla, Granada, and Cordoba, but we also enjoyed Coimbra, Evora, Cadiz, Ronda, and other venues.

The quality of Goncalo and Pablo’s selected guides was exceptional. All were knowledgeable, responsive, personable. The guides in Lisbon, Granada, and Seville were especially impressive. All the guides were responsive to our needs and wishes and helped us understand the surprisingly complex history and uniqueness of the sights we visited. Not surprising, the Alcazar, la Alhambra, and Mezquita will be memories for a long time to come. But less well-known venues such as the cork markets in Evora and the white-washed village of Grazalema were also enchanting.

All the drivers were well-dressed, professional, and courteous. The cars were clean and terrific. The high-speed AVE train from Cordoba to Madrid was terrific, a great choice.

We enjoyed all the recommended hotels. The Posada in Lisbon was terrific. We were so very happy we chose to stay at the Alfonso XIII in Seville. It was a highlight, wonderful in every way. The Parador in Cadiz was remarkable and our junior suite fabulous. And we were so very happy we had successfully attained reservations at the Parador de la Alhambra in Granada. It met our high expectations driven by feedback from friends. In general, the hotel breakfast buffets were outstanding… the pasteis de Natas and churros with chocolate were favorites! We were also greatly pleased by personal greeting notes at each venue.

Food and wine are highlights in Portugal and Spain. We had many wonderful meals based on Goncalo and Pablo’s recommendations. The Rabo de toro stew and various suggested soups were delicious. We also really enjoyed the chosen Fado restaurant.

In terms of special arrangements, we found the boat cruise and the winery in the Douro Valley especially enjoyable. The boat Goncalo chose for us was exceptionally nice and the winery lunch delicious.

One anticipated challenge for Bill involved the omnipresent cobblestones and sometimes steep grades. Thanks to heads-up from Goncalo and Pablo, accommodating guides and drivers, along with his walking stick, enabled Bill to walk almost everywhere.

Wonderful eating and drinking experiences
Rosemary Love | June 25, 2018

Both Gonçalo and Pablo did an amazing job planning our trip. From the very first day when we were upgraded to the Bette Davis( they knew she was my idol)suite at the Maria Cristina hotel in San Sebastian to all the wonderful eating and drinking experiences, they set up for us. Some of the highlights were a beautiful sail down the Tagus to Lisbon, a private eating club experience in San Sebastian and another amazing suite at Reid’s Hotel in Madeira.

When a friend of ours was injured on a bike trip we took in the middle of our vacation, Goncalo switched all our reservations around so that we could stay in Porto near the hospital for a few days. He canceled several hotel and activities at the last moment and we didn’t have to pay for any of it.

They leave no stone unturned
Aaron and Melissa Bonvillion | June 9, 2018

Spain and Portugal, Honeymoon

We are SO happy we booked through this team.

We had Pablo Calvo and Goncalo Correia as our planning team. We did not reach out to WP / begin planning our trip until the first week of March. Pablo and Goncalo set up a conference call at a time when all four of us could connect. We spent nearly an hour on the phone discussing our wants, past experiences, tastes, and etc. I also have an email stream of 75 emails working out the details and asking questions during the process. The team was excellent with communication and making sure we were delivered a valuable experience.

The itinerary and gameplan they put together could not have been matched. We initially said we wanted to visit either Madrid or Barcelona, Spain and then Porto, Portugal. The team was able to put together a trip that included 3 days in Madrid (including a full day excursion to Toledo), 3 days in Barcelona, and 4 days in Porto (including a day excursion to the Douro Valley and a half day in Guimaraes), Tapas and tavern tours, private walking tours, personal transportation, prepaid entrance fees and reservations, cooking experience, boat cruise, wine tastings, proper hotels, train tickets, and I am sure I am leaving something special out. We hit plenty of history, culture, food, and drink.

The trip went off without a hitch. Reservations and timing of events were seamless and perfectly positioned. The local guides were so helpful to kick off each city. We would have never known to do some of the activities and excursions that were put into place for us. The rough draft bid was around 20% higher than our initial budget, but we worked together well to alter some of the activities without compromising the experience. They warned us that they would go with the full options and best experience they could provide, and then could work it down a bit if we could not swing it. This was a special trip for us, so we wanted to know what a top-level experience would cost, and we were comfortable with this approach. Like I said in the previous paragraph, they were great with communication, and did a good job of working with us through all concerns, questions, and needs.

Utilize one of these travel specialists! We cannot “stress” the lack of “stress” involved in planning the trip. We have spent time in Asia, Africa, and Europe before, along with tons of domestic travel via long weekends. The local guides were a great way to kick off each city. They gave a great “lay of the land”, with plenty of stories of both local history and current events. The team does a great job of learning about you and putting together the best layout for your tastes. They leave no stone unturned. I suggest asking for as many options as possible to find out what you would like to do. Like I mentioned in an earlier paragraph, we exchanged 75 emails and spent an hour on the phone to arrive at our final 10 days, 5 city adventure…. totally worth it!

Knowing the most important/enjoyable activities and sites, understanding the timing and effort needed at each, hotel and transfer accommodations, there are so many different points that the team performed better than we could have on our own. The drafts/proposals were easy to sort through, and we appreciated the printable version to keep on us throughout the journey. It was also very helpful to forward on to family members for their information (and flight numbers, hotel contact, etc).

Overall we were just well taken care of; it was very appropriate. The great communication did not end when we started the trip. I had multiple questions during the journey that were answered ASAP by the team. They were a great resource before and during. As you can tell, we are satisfied. We are very thankful for everyone’s efforts towards creating and maintaining a great honeymoon.

Travel Tips

Your National Parks Calendar: Which Park to Visit Each Month

by Brook Wilkinson | January 2, 2017

Destination

How to Make a South Africa Trip Extraordinary? Go In Winter

by Billie Cohen | August 24, 2015

Travel Tips

Smart Travel Strategies for Summer

by Wendy Perrin | June 18, 2014

  • Did you use The WOW List to plan a trip with this Trusted Travel Expert?

    If you’ve returned from a trip arranged via Wendy’s WOW system, please leave a review of your experience so your fellow travelers can decide whether this trip planner is right for them. Include your name (because anonymous reviews are not fair), the month/year of your trip, the destination(s) you traveled to, and your advice for anyone who is considering using this trip designer.  If you’d prefer to share your review privately, email Wendy