Make Your Next Trip Extraordinary

The perfect destination for a father-son week with my 15 year old…
Matt Johnson | August 10, 2019

I was looking for the perfect destination for a father-son week with my 15 year old. After deciding to explore the Swiss Alps, we reached out to Nina for help. With only a couple of weeks to work with, she planned a week that we will never forget. We started in Zürich and enjoyed being in the old town. We originally planned to make our way to Chamonix, but Nina recommended we head east instead and she was right! Ladina and Villa Flor were just the special touch you expect from a knowledgeable agent and just the right spot for us, as opposed to being in St Moritz itself. In particular, our stay at Couer des Alpes in Zermatt was ideal and the staff were all extremely nice and helpful. The location is great and the view, perfect. All of the activities (helicopter to top of Matterhorn, mountain biking down, tuk tuk tour of Zurich and more) really held my 15 year old’s interest, which was critical! But the real clincher was Nina arranging for us to drive an Aston Martin through the Alps for three days. Needless to say, the car was a particular highlight! Happy Birthday to me!!!

We especially enjoyed our day in vineyards of Lavaux…
Michelle and Nicholas Golubov | July 31, 2019

Nina planned an excellent trip for my husband and me to Geneva and Lausanne this past July. The hotels and rooms were excellent. The transport top notch. The tours and guides excellent. We especially enjoyed our day in vineyards of Lavaux with our guide Nicolas. We would definitely recommend her and use her again.

A fantastic job listening to our preferences to avoid the usual tourist spots and spend time more off the beaten path…
Gary Reading | July 14, 2019

Nina and David did a fantastic job listening to our preferences to avoid the usual tourist spots and spend time more off the beaten path. Communication with them throughout the process was collaborative, helpful, and easy. Prior to our departure we received a detailed itinerary with full descriptions and instructions (where to meet drivers, timelines etc.). David also kept track throughout our trip and assisted when unexpected things arose (train late in Italy) so that we had no worries. The hotels they suggested (Villa Orselina, Coer de Alps and Guarda Val) were all exceptional. The views from our room in Villa Orselina and Coer de Alps were amazing and we truly enjoyed the Mountain Hut experience suggested by Nina/David at Guarda Val. Service at all hotels they suggested was wonderful. They also had guides arranged for us and all were great. Particularly Anna in Ticino (Bavona Valley – magical walk through a beautiful place and Bellinzona – also arranged for dinner reservations at the castle for us), Nikki in Zermatt who was a delight and took us on a great hike and gave ideas for our next two days hiking, and Albert in Zurich who suggested a side trip to Rapperswil which was very enjoyable. Nina and David’s suggestion for a first class Swiss rail pass was excellent. We used it for boat rides in Ascona, Zurich and Lucerne, a bus ride in Ticino, and side train trips to Bellinzona, Lucerne, and Rapperswil. Well worth it! Restaurant suggestions from guides and hotels along the way were all excellent. Particularly the staff at Coer de Alps who suggested SonnMatten dinner on their terrace which was a highpoint. Overall an exceptional trip. Nina and David did a fantastic job. Highly recommend!

Parasailing in Grindelwald, a Canyon Swing, a Jet Boat in Interlaken, a private cave tour, glacier trekking…
Travis Schmitt | June 30, 2019

We just returned from Switzerland ( June 2019), so this review is hot off the press!

We worked with Nina Müller and Philipp Kaegi and began setting up our trip. The process was very straightforward….I talked with Nina on the phone for about 30 minutes explaining where we would like to go, the activities and a preliminary budget. With this framework, Nina and Philipp created an itinerary that included many excellent suggestions that we were not aware of, even though I had done a fair amount of research on my own to know what Switzerland had to offer.

We made some tweaks from their suggestions (most of which were excellent) and they were very receptive to the modifications.

Parasailing in Grindewald, a Canyon Swing, a Jet Boat in Interlaken, a private cave tour, glacier trekking, helicopter transfer from Jungraujoch to Gstaad, Via Ferrata in Murren, Corner Gorge adventure in Zermatt, along with many other activities….AWESOME!

The execution of the trip was flawless. Drivers and guides were on time and very professional and fun.

When the helicopter landed in Gstaad in a grassy field, the driver was right there waiting for us. Flawlessly executed.

The activities, pacing and hotels were also all fantastic. Even the weather was great.

There would’ve been no way to plan our trip on our own and have everything run as smoothly as it did.

Also, Nina corrected a hiccup at the Alpina Gstaad….they charged us for an additional person in the room, which had already been paid. Nina took care of this immediately. Another advantage of having a “fixer” on your side.

If you want a great trip in Switzerland……get ahold of Nina and Philipp….you will be very glad that you did!

I always felt the priority was in designing a trip that I would love…
Mark Hoffman | June 21, 2019

I initially met with both Nina and David Zingler to discuss the trip details. They were both very attentive and listened to what kind of experience I was looking for and offered very helpful feedback. Because initially we were going to be driving for the entire trip, I worked with David as that is his expertise. Working with David was very enjoyable. The complexity of the trip meant numerous iterations to get everything to work out. I always felt that David’s priority was in designing a trip that I would love and there was never any pressure to quickly settle on a final itinerary. To me that is very important and it came through in every interaction with David. Whenever I had a question, he always responded quickly with a well thought out and well researched response. The result was a perfectly planned and executed trip. David worked it out so that we got to see and do everything that we wanted to do. The trip went off without a hitch – so we did not need any assistance while on the trip.

I could not recommend Nina and David enough. They were very personal and very easy to work with. I especially liked how they always listened to my feedback and were able to implement it flawlessly. No push back or trying to sell me on something I did not want. I felt like we were a team in planning the vacation.

Perhaps the best trip we have ever taken
Jack Berryhill | January 26, 2019

This is a much delayed review of our trip through Switzerland in September – October 2018.

It was superb. My family can only say that it was one of the best — perhaps the best — trip we have ever taken.

The guides we had were all first-rate: Albert Schoch who met us in Zurich; Andrea Matossi and Nicole Buess in St. Moritz; Anna Bezzola who gave us a simply marvelous walk through the Bavona Valley (I was so happy we included this in our itinerary); and Judy (I think this is her name — I didn’t get her card) in Zermatt.

Thomas and Lin — proprietors of the Hotel Coeur des Alpes in Zermatt were perfect hosts.

We were also very happy that we included La Sagne and its beautiful valley — where we met and visited with Simone Perrenoud. We must be related because our mother was a Perrenoud, and her grandfather came from La Sagne to America. We also visited the church in La Sagne where a number of Perrenouds are buried.

I think the Hotel Palafitte in Neuchâtel was our favorite.

The only change we would have made to the itinerary would be to have spent only two nights in Interlaken rather than three. The Jungfraujoch was spectacular, but we decided not to go to Murren and the top of the Schilthorn because that would have been somewhat a repeat of the Jungfraujoch. Instead we enjoyed a leisurely tour of Thun and its castle on the way to Neuchâtel.

One less night in Interlaken and, instead, an extra night in Geneva would have been perfect.

By the way, the only travel glitch we had was getting to the Hotel les Armures in Geneva. Our navigation system directed us to a street that was blocked by bollards. We did not know that if you drove up to the bollards, they would automatically go down. So we had to park on that street and call the Edel & Stark rental car person to come from the hotel and drive our vehicle to the hotel — which he did. But, as a result, we had no time to explore any of Geneva.

In sum, the tour exceeded all our expectations, and once again we thank you both, Philipp and Nina, for putting it all together for us and making the excellent arrangements.

Bien joué! Merci beaucoup.

She was honest about when we needed a guide and when we could do things on our own
Rebecca Wolf | December 24, 2018

We used Nina for our family trip (my husband and myself and 3 kids ages 18, 16, 11) to Switzerland this past June. She planned a great trip for us, with perfectly located hotels, and she was honest about when we needed a guide and when we could do things on our own. She suggested some fun things like a chocolate workshop in Bern, and hiking with a Swiss St. Bernard dog in Zurich. She was particularly helpful with kosher food — our biggest travel obstacle — and arranged to have kosher catering for us delivered to our hotel in Zurich, with the hotel warming it up. We would be happy to book with Nina again!

Our best travel experience ever
Jerry and Janet Kline | September 21, 2018

Throughout our marriage, we have vacationed dozens of times in Europe, the Caribbean, Canada, and the U.S., and never felt the need for a travel agent. We’re old hands at clipping travel articles in magazines and newspapers and consulting travel guides.

But Switzerland, we knew, would be different. The country overflows with magnificent scenery and boasts an extraordinary transportation system, but it’s also famously expensive for visitors. We were determined to make this experience the trip of a lifetime. We enjoy touring by ourselves and wanted to take advantage of Switzerland’s rail system. It was time to turn to experienced trip planners.

We contacted Wendy Perrin. She suggested that we talk to Nina Mueller in Zurich. What a fortuitous suggestion that turned out to be! Nina, who phoned us to discuss our interests and expectations, and Philipp Kaegi, who worked closely with us to design the trip and answer our many questions, were outstanding and indispensable. The two-week-long tour turned out to be our best travel experience ever. Nina and her staff deserve all the credit.

Two examples of their careful attentiveness to our needs:

When we told Philipp that we planned to look for an ATM at the Zurich airport when we arrived, he responded with directions and maps for both the airport ATM as well as the ATM nearest to our hotel. He also alerted the guide who would meet us at the airport.

When a receptionist at one hotel insisted that our stay did not include breakfast, though we thought it did, we emailed Philipp. In less than 10 minutes a hotel representative informed us that the hotel had received a call from Philipp. He said our breakfasts were indeed included and apologized that we had been misinformed.

We stayed at five different hotels. All were excellent and met our requests for balcony views, breakfasts included, showers, and convenient locations.

The complicated itinerary relied on a total of 15 tour guides, drivers and taxis to meet us at the Zurich airport, train station arrival platforms, and hotel lobbies. Remarkably, everyone showed up on time. Most arrived early and were waiting for us. We strongly suspect this resulted from frequent monitoring by the travel agency.

Nina’s staff armed us with a Swiss Rail Pass, and we were off. The carefully designed train and tram instructions for each city were detailed to the point that we knew the schedule for each train, which tracks our trains would leave from, and when they were scheduled to reach their destinations. We also had information about the next trains in case we missed one. If we did miss a connection, we had emergency phone numbers to call. Thankfully, we never did.

Here are a few highlights of the trip:

The tour began in Zurich, where Nina (“as a courtesy”) upgraded us at the fine Hotel Marktgasse to a junior suite with roof terrace and a view over Zurich. What a way to start!

The fondue and wine Tuk Tuk tour were delightful, thanks to our charming and knowledgeable guide, Attila, who seemed to know half the citizens who waved as we drove by.

Britta Nydegger was outstanding during our day trip to St. Gallen, focusing on the Cathedral, and the magnificent Abbey Library. We learned much about this fascinating city.

Our days seemed to get better and better. We enjoyed the tour of Basel with Rose Marie Schulz-Rehberg. She’s a delightful person, warm, friendly, and so knowledgeable. Again, we couldn’t have had a better guide. We loved Basel.

Marie Therese Lauper was lots of fun and extremely impressive. We learned about the mechanics of the Bern tower clock, her work at the Cathedral, and her role as the “keeper of time.” She gave us an excellent grounding in a very short time span.

During our stay in Montreux, Nicolas Abundo outdid himself guiding us through Gruyeres. We enjoyed meeting his friends Gerard and Aurelie at Aurelie’s chalet and farm. They gave us a tour of the farm and explained the fascinating traditions of cheese making. We had a lovely midmorning coffee with them (including double cream and chocolate). Nicolas also chose an excellent restaurant at the Gruyeres Castle for a delicious raclette lunch. Later in the day, he took us to the medieval Tower Marsuns for a wine tasting in the heart of Lavaux wine country. We couldn’t have had a better day.

The next day, we spent a memorable morning visiting Tolochenaz, the village where Audrey Hepburn lived for the last 30 years of her life. Our driver, Carlos, was very helpful taking us to the sites associated with the actress. Nina’s team made the experience even more memorable by reserving lunch for us at the beautiful Chateau d’Ouchy and making reservations on the Lake Geneva restored belle epoch boat back to Montreux.

Sylvia Fournier met us in Sion on a very warm day and gave us a fascinating tour of the city— the cathedrals, old town, Roman inscriptions, and history. She accomplished a lot in a short timespan.

Julie Guidotti was wonderful. Meeting us at in Brig, she scooped up our luggage and accompanied us on the outstanding centovalli train. She told us all about Switzerland’s Ticino area and made sure we arrived safely in Ascona.

We had a beautiful day for a private boat ride on Lake Maggiore. Vincent, our captain, walked us to the boat dock and we took off, enjoying champagne toasts halfway through the ride. No rough waters, just great views. Vincent made sure we took in the delights of the lake.

The Gotthard panoramic rail route was amazing. We can’t imagine how that railroad route was constructed. What an engineering and construction feat!

We loved the boat ride to Lucerne. We had a beautiful ride on the lake and an excellent lunch. Like so many details involved in this trip, Nina ensured that we had a reserved table for lunch. Cristina Tschuppert met us at the boat dock. While walking us to our hotel, she told us about Lucerne, its history, wonderful bridges, and the River Reuss.

We saved the best for last. How can we describe our trip to Stanserhorn? Its beauty is beyond description. We had gorgeous weather and clear views of the surrounding mountain ranges. The funicular and astounding open-air cable car were great fun. Again, another engineering marvel. We didn’t want to leave Stanserhorn.

In the afternoon, we walked to Lucerne’s incredible Rosengart Museum and had a lovely time among the dozens of Picassos and Klees.

We’re glad to be home, but we already miss Switzerland. What a fantastic experience it was. Thank you, Nina and team. And thank you, Wendy Perrin, for introducing us to them.

She had great ideas for tours and other fun things
Carrie Nussbaum | August 10, 2018

Nina really listened to what we were looking for during our vacation. She came up with a few itineraries and then we chose one. She had great ideas for tours and other fun things. During the actual trip, everything went super smoothly. She made is very easy for us to sit back and relax. the guides we had were knowledgeable and nice people we were happy to spend time with.

I would not hesitate to contact Nina and her team
Katherine Barden | July 30, 2018

We had a wonderful trip to Europe and have Nina and her team to thank for much of it! Originally we were planning to go to Switzerland but when plans changed, Nina’s team was knowledgeable and also able to use their contacts in other cities to find us great hotels, restaurants, activities and a guide.

Nina and her co-worker Yumi were in touch right away and had great ideas right from the start. When our plans abruptly shifted they shifted right along with us. Their answers to my many questions along the way of the booking process were complete and with care. My only issue was that the time differences delayed our communications.

Nina and Yumi recommended fantastic hotels in Copenhagen, Hamburg, and Amsterdam and all 3 greatly added to our trip enjoyment. They were all unique, service and locations were terrific.

Hopefully, we will finally do that trip to Switzerland and I would not hesitate to contact Nina and her team.

Perfectly located hotels
Rebecca Wolf | June 26, 2018

Nina planned a great trip for us, with perfectly located hotels, and she was honest about when we needed a guide and when we could do things on our own. She suggested some fun things like a chocolate workshop in Bern, and hiking with a Swiss St. Bernard dog in Zurich. She was particularly helpful with kosher food – our biggest travel obstacle – and arranged to have kosher catering for us delivered to our hotel in Zurich, with the hotel warming it up.

Wendy, thanks again for your travel advice — I love your website and use it for every trip!

If you want to fit a lot into a relatively short amount of time
Sarina Vetterli | February 5, 2018

I absolutely loved working with Nina initially, and Philipp throughout, for our December 2017 holiday trip to Switzerland. We started planning several months in advance; they asked all about my family (my husband and I have three boys ages 8-16) and we hoped to experience on our trip. We wanted to ski for a few days, and then explore other parts of the country for another few days. Specifically, we wanted to visit Zermatt and Schaffhausen and were open to any other suggestions. They had fantastic suggestions! We loved visiting a medieval castle and Christmas market on the shore of Lake Geneva, the cities of Zurich and Luzern, and the famous Rheinfall in Schaffhausen. Philipp arranged our hotels in Zermatt and Zurich, and both were absolutely perfect. I would definitely stay again. I asked Philipp to make our restaurant dinner reservations in Zermatt, and each choice was fantastic.

I would highly recommend Nina and Philipp, especially if you want to fit a lot into a relatively short amount of time. I felt that we got the most out of our trip and I would never have been able to coordinate that on my own. The itinerary they gave us was detailed and easy to understand; I was amazed at how smoothly everything went. Thanks to Nina and Philipp we had the family vacation of a lifetime.

Spectacular experiences our entire family loved
Jennie Grube | September 16, 2017

This trip was excellent – one of the best our family has had. The pieces of the trip were seamless. Philipp on Nina’s team helped coordinate some tricky aspects of our travel including flights on multiple reservations and selecting the best rail passes for what we wanted to do. He helped us set up two spectacular experiences our entire family loved – a chocolate making experience and a trip to an authentic alpine farm where we got to see the cheese making process start to finish and spend time with the animals. The combination of structured and unstructured activities struck a perfect balance. My expectations of activities that would suit the whole family, engaging both the kids aged 4, 8, 9 and my husband and me were far surpassed. I had been looking forward to this trip but had no idea how much we would all enjoy it! We can’t wait to go back…

Destination

5 Ways Namibia’s Desert-Adapted Lions Will Awe You

by Susan Portnoy | June 26, 2015

Ask Wendy

10 Steps to a Better European River Cruise

by Wendy Perrin | August 11, 2014

Airline Travel

Airfarewatchdog Founder George Hobica

by Wendy Perrin | September 12, 2014

  • Did you use The WOW List to plan a trip with this Trusted Travel Expert?

    If you’ve returned from a trip arranged via Wendy’s WOW system, please leave a review of your experience so your fellow travelers can decide whether this trip planner is right for them. Include your name (because anonymous reviews are not fair), the month/year of your trip, the destination(s) you traveled to, and your advice for anyone who is considering using this trip designer.  If you’d prefer to share your review privately, email Wendy