Make Your Next Trip Extraordinary

Quirky places off the beaten path
Sharon Ferrara | June 12, 2018

Michael was instrumental in planning our two week trip to Marrakech and Fez. We concentrated on architecture and design as I attend design school. He listened carefully and created an itinerary that covered not only major points of interest but quirky places off the beaten path.

We spent many fun and interesting days with our loyal guide, Hassime. We began our time together in Marrakech and were delighted when he informed us that he would be joining us in Fez. It was emotional when everything came to an end, as he had become a son to us.

Sometimes, a local designer would join us to expertly explain and expose us to different aspects of the industry; I helped weave a huge, black and white Berber rug, on the loom at the medina showroom. In a lighting factory in the industrial area, I observed metal being intricately cut and filed to create breathtakingly beautiful sconces and pendants of huge proportions. I created and fired my own 8-inch square, black and white tile, in a factory outside the city. We watched men hand carve cedar with intricate, geometric, design, forming screens, doors and decorative woodwork. We visited the tannery and to watch leather being dyed.

In a tiny shop, through a cave in the medina, we observed silk, of agave, woven into fabric on the loom. Moroccan colors are the most vibrant I’ve seen. Everybody was smiley and happy to allow me to watch them work. They gave me hand-carved spindles and tassels and samples of glittering passementerie and braid. One gentleman carved a shoehorn, out of real horn for my husband. Hassime asked him to please make a small hole in the handle, and I attached a tassel.

The last factory we visited was my favorite. It is a porcelain factory where all kinds of tiles and pottery and vases and dinnerware are created and hand painted. The mosaic designs on wrought iron table tops are out of the ordinary. I am planning on ordering two.

In addition to ALL of this, Michael ensured that we saw every museum, garden, palace, spice market, and minaret. He helped me with restaurant reservations when my hotel was letting things slide. He arranged all transportation, and there was a lot. Always with a clean, shiny Mercedes SUV, that was on time, even at 2 am.

He arranged a day trip to the Agafay for lunch in a private tent (wonderful) and camel rides (hilarious ). Our young host, Hamead, was so humored by my fascination with his elaborate (really) turban, that he promptly unraveled all 20 meters of it and recreated his
“Lawrence of Arabia” vibe so I could see how it’s done.

Honestly, I could go on, but I am sure you get the gist.

I asked Michael if he did any other countries, say India? and his response?
“No Sandra, I don’t. I’m a Moroccan kind of guy”.

What more could you possibly want?

I can't think of a single misstep
Ann Roberts | May 13, 2018

Michael Diamond planned a truly extraordinary trip to Morocco for my husband and me. He exceeded my expectations from the very start, which is tough because I am a frequent traveler and have high expectations. He took such great care in asking important questions and listening thoughtfully to my responses in order to plan a personalized trip with the perfect hotel choices (we prefer small over larger properties), relaxing and efficient pace of travel, wonderful dining reservations, and excellent private guides and drivers. He even planned a day with a designer to assist me in shopping for rugs and apparel in Marrakech. I loved that Michael did not approach the trip from routine travel plan but he really planned every element just for us. It was evident from the beginning that Michael has been planning bespoke trips to Morocco for a very long time and has the very best contacts in the country.

He was so patient as I adjusted my trip itinerary a few times before locking in a plan. We stayed in Rabat, Fes, Marrakech, Skoura, and Casablanca. Michael checked in on us during our vacation, which was thoughtful.

Our favorite experiences were the tour of Volubilis, the medina of Fes, the shopping day in Marrakech and our stay at Dar Ahlam in Skoura. Michael was also super speedy in adapting our schedule at the last minute when our international flights were canceled and rebooked for an earlier arrival in Casablanca. Michael responded to my urgent request early in the morning on the actual day of departure in scant minutes and assured us that our guides would be there to meet us at the new arrival time. Oh, and I forgot to mention that pleasure of having the VIP airport service at each stop where it is available.

It was such a wonderful travel experience! I cant think of a single misstep. I would not hesitate to recommend Michael Diamond. Thank you, Wendy, for leading us to Michael.

I would recommend without hesitation
Gail Haven | April 2, 2018

Our trip, planned by Michael Diamond, was spectacular. The only faux-pas, not on Michael, was that we had to wait about an hour at the CMN airport for the guide/driver to arrive (apparently there was a traffic tie-up) and I, unfortunately, wasn’t given the 24/7 contact information for Morocco and had no choice but to reach out to Michael via WhatsApp (but the reception was poor). While I feared that this was emblematic of what was to come, I could not have been more in error. The rest of the trip was INCREDIBLE! And our guide, Hassan, was beyond amazing – a 15, on a scale of 1-10! Michaels riad selections were outstanding, as were his restaurant recommendations. I would recommend, without hesitation, Michael for anyone going to Morocco!

An eye-opening, fun and adventurous trip!
Sarah Nelson | March 26, 2018

My family’s Morocco trip was organized by Micheal Diamond in March 2018. It was an eye-opening fun and adventurous trip! We did motorcycle rides, camel riding, cooking classes, pottery and of course walking around in the medina. It was well organized at a good pace. We liked our tour guide, he connected well with the kids and the driver was always prompt. I highly recommend Micheal for next trip and anyone who is thinking of exploring Morocco!

Wonderful trip for our family
Ron Klausner | January 19, 2018

Michael Diamond planned a wonderful trip for our family to Morocco. He selected perfect accommodations given what we had requested in advance. The time spent in each city was perfect. He secured us the best guide. Even my Millenial children commented how good Mohamed was.

One night I asked everyone what was the best part of the trip. They came up with many different answers (how good is that?!?!?) but universally agreed that the best day was shopping in Marrakech with a local designer who guaranteed great quality and best pricing!!

The only glitch was finding the airport expediter the last day but it finally did get resolved. Our driver failed to call when he was an hour away. Michaels team on the ground eventually cleared up his mistake and we made our next flight in plenty of time.

I would have no reservation recommending Michael Diamond and his team to plan a trip to Morocco.

Exotic, diverse, historically very interesting
Diana Bell | November 21, 2017

We very much enjoyed the Morocco trip Michael Diamond planned for us. We already had flights booked in & out of Marrakech, so travelled October 1-15, 2017 in a circle from Marrakech to Ouarzazate, staying in the oasis town Skoura, then to Erfoud to the desert-dunes, next onto Fes, then through Volubulis Roman ruins to Rabat, Essaouira, then the beautiful Ourika Valley & national park. It was exotic, diverse, historically very interesting, sophisticated with Arabic design, great food (pomegranates were ripe), lovely hotels both in the medinas and the cities & desert. The guide and our driver were excellent and responsive to our questions, needs and special requests. Highly recommend Michael Diamond.

Wonderful introduction to Moroccan culture, history, and life.
Julie Lerner and Jeremy Lerner | October 11, 2017

We had a fantastic trip. From the moment we arrived and were met by the VIP service in Casablanca airport, everything went smoothly. Loved all the accommodations – Riad Fes, Kasbah Tamadot, and Villa des Orangers. Villa des Orangers more than Riad Fes, mostly because of the spacious bathroom. Although I loved the rooftop terrace at sunset at Riad Fes – magical. We had the “A” team with guides Mohammed and Hassan and our driver, Youness. They were amazing. I think Mohammed is the best guide I have ever had. He is an amazing storyteller and provided us with a wonderful introduction to Moroccan culture, history, and life. The hikes and hiking guides in the High Atlas Mountains were also exceptional. The cooking class at Palais Amani was really fun. The vegetable tagine was the best tagine we had the entire trip. The lunch we had with Mohammed at Café Nejjarine was the best Moroccan meal we had other than our cooking lesson. A fabulous trip full of great memories with my adult son!

Got to experience the real Marrakesh
Jeffrey Eskind | October 5, 2017

Michael Diamond is superlative and I encourage anyone going to Morocco to utilize his services.

He customized a fantastic honeymoon in Marrakesh for my children from 9/29/17 through 10/1/17. He listened to what they wanted and planned accordingly. The tours, tour guides, and accommodations were fantastic. When we missed our flight from Madrid to Marrakesh we called him at 7 am and he was there and had us fixed up within an hour with our private transport at the airport when we arrived. The kids felt like they got to experience the real Marrakesh and just wished they had more time. I will use Diamond again.

Fabulous job with the itinerary
Dominique Tran | May 25, 2017

Michael Diamond did a fabulous job with the itinerary, and our guide (Zouhair Aarab) was truly a special guide. He was always on time, very knowledgeable, and very pleasant to be with. He made our trip to Morocco very special. After the trip we feel like to come back to Morocco again and again. Also a very big thank you to Wendy for introducing us to Michael Diamond. This was truly a trip of a lifetime.

Travel Tips

Is 2015 the Year to Travel to China?

Wendy Perrin | March 16, 2015

let's create an extraordinary trip

Europe: Plan Your Trip!

Wendy Perrin | February 21, 2017

Airline Travel

Istanbul Airport Layovers: The Best Way to Spend Them

Brook Wilkinson | February 16, 2016

  • Have you returned from a trip arranged by this Trusted Travel Expert?

    If so, please leave a review of your experience so your fellow travelers can decide whether this travel planner is right for them. Include your name (because anonymous reviews are not fair), the month/year of your trip, the destination(s) you traveled to, and your advice for anyone who is considering hiring this travel planner. If you’d prefer to share your review privately, email Wendy.