Make Your Next Trip Extraordinary

I wanted someplace that was safe and offered a choice of dining experiences
Ron Klausner | April 28, 2021

PANDEMIC TRAVEL I went to Cap Jaluca in Anguilla April 14-21.

I called Meg because I wanted to get away and really didn’t care where I went in the Caribbean. I wanted someplace that was safe, even though my wife and I have been vaccinated, and offered a choice of dining experiences. Meg advised us Anguilla would be perfect as they have a dining “bubble” of restaurants available and they take Covid very seriously.

We had been to Cap Jaluca 15 years ago and loved it. Mind you, we very rarely go anywhere a second time as there are so many places to explore in this world. However, Cap Jaluca, with its wonderful beach and excellent service, fit the bill.

We had a wonderful time. Meg negotiated an upgrade and free breakfast delivered to our room every morning. We certainly recharged.

She clearly understood this was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity
Carol Cozen | March 15, 2021

PANDEMIC TRAVEL There aren’t enough superlatives to describe our experience with Meg. Our daughter and a friend wanted to ski/work remotely for a month anywhere out west. The problem was there were no season lift passes and weekly passes, if available, were cost prohibitive. With nowhere to turn, I emailed Meg from Wendy’s WOW List to see if she could help.

Meg was able to secure terrific accommodations in Aspen which came with 30 day lift passes. Additionally, when an issue came up with their original condo prior to arrival, Meg had them upgraded to a beautiful unit at no charge.

All along the way, Meg provided useful advice about ski rentals, restaurants and happenings in Aspen. She clearly understood this was a once-in-a lifetime opportunity and was genuinely excited to be part of the planning process. She was responsive and terrific to work with and I would highly recommend her!

Meg chose the best place for this special occasion
Benoy Benny | February 27, 2021

PANDEMIC TRAVEL Feb 2021 trip to Miami South Beach for a special landmark birthday for my wife. Meg Austin did a great job walking me through the options and chose the best place for this special occasion and equally as important set things up where the experience was a special one. She added her own special touches to the special trip that added up to making it extra special.

She guided us through hurdles we would have had to figure out the hard way
Adrienne Whaley | February 23, 2021

PANDEMIC TRAVEL Meg was the greatest. Patient with us while we figured out dates and flights and destination. She gave us places to choose from and once we had it down she handled everything. She pulled it off in 3 weeks time. Absolutely we will use her again when planning a ski trip and probably a spring break trip as well. With all the changes in 2021 she guided us through hurdles we would have had to figure out the hard way as well as saved us time in research. Even checked in with us each day and sent me an email at 430 in the morning after checking the status of our 6am flight!!!

Meg is a magician, miracle worker, and a hero!
Matthew Gamble | February 23, 2021

PANDEMIC TRAVEL Meg Austin is a magician, miracle worker, and a hero to the people!

I called Meg to try to get us a safe, on budget, and kid friendly trip to the Caribbean for our family of 6 (including kids ages 9, 7, 4, and 1 1/2) – Certainly not the easiest task in the middle of spiking COVID cases here in the US and changes in policy for travelers returning to the US. To be honest, I was about to give up on this trip due to uncertainty regarding evolving COVID issues and other agents’ difficulties coming in at our budget.

I decided to call Meg as a bit of a “Hail Mary.”

That Hail Mary was a winning touchdown pass for our family. Meg nailed it – nailed it – and nailed it:
Safe.
Under budget.
Kids had an absolute blast.

And our itinerary was to us quick as a flash. Did I mention I gave her only about 5 weeks of notice?

She’s a kick to work with, enthusiastic and fun, and put us in just the right spot. She was super fast with responses to questions, concerns, and followed up with us on the days of travel and while we were on our trip to make sure things went smoothly with return COVID testing/airline requirements/and all things pandemic related.

Very highly recommended! Call Meg Austin.

Matthew D. Gamble, M.D.

We had a stocked fridge, a bottle of wine, and a decorated Christmas tree all coordinated by Meg!
Lisa Manning | January 6, 2021

PANDEMIC TRAVEL Meg Austin planned a trip for my family of 3 to Canyons/Park City, Utah over the Christmas/New Year’s holiday. It was perfectly planned. She suggested great restaurants (although due to covid, we mostly got take out in our lovely suite that she found with amazing views of the mountains). When we arrived at our suite, we had a stocked fridge, a bottle of wine, and a decorated Christmas tree all coordinated by Meg! She found ways to minimize risk on the airplane by getting us first class seats (at a good rate) on the first row of the plane. She had the skis delivered to the lobby of our hotel, no waiting in line!

Meg suggested we ski at Canyons/Park City because we could use our season passes from our local ski resort in Pennsylvania there. This saved us money. We did not have to wait in long lines for lift tickets because we had our season passes already. We went right outside from our hotel and there was the lift. Our flight was delayed on return and Meg was on it immediately, making sure we could get a late check out at our hotel and rearranging the car service to the airport. It was the smoothest family trip we have taken. My husband, who isn’t a big skier, said it was the best ski trip he’s been on! I appreciated her knowledge and feedback in finding the right ski resort for us!

Far exceeded our expectations and took the angst out of all the details
Mary Powers | January 6, 2021

PANDEMIC TRAVEL Meg Austin planned and coordinated a ski trip for us that far exceeded our expectations and took the angst out of all the details. We traveled to Beaver Creek the week before Christmas 2020. Being veteran travelers and a party of 9 we wanted the guidance and expertise of a seasoned travel expert with the ever evolving COVID pandemic. Having used Wendy Perrin for a trip a year and half ago, we knew this was our best way to go.

As Richard Branson says, “When making experiences, attention to detail matters.” Meg made sure every detail was covered from arranging a party of nine arriving from three different states to two different airports to finding accommodations where we could all be together. Our equipment was even delivered to our lodging in stages as members of our group arrived at different times. She found beautiful, perfectly located accommodations with amenities that fit our needs. Her demeanor was so positive and enthusiastic! She was very respectful of our budget and made sure to stay within it or find a way to make it work. We take pride in making our own travel plans, however, we do not think we could have even made it work within our budget with the quality of accommodations, location, reservations and services we received.

Meg is very focused and never pushy which we truly appreciated. We threw her curveballs when our son had hand surgery 2 weeks before the trip and our daughter developed a back condition that sidelined their skiing plans and she responded with home run alternative ideas. We often wondered if Meg ever slept as emails and texts were almost always answered within minutes. If you want top notch travel advice with a plethora of options to choose from, we highly recommend her for your next travel experience. We guarantee you will not be disappointed!

We are immensely grateful to Meg for making our family holiday trip truly extraordinary and look forward to using her again in the very near future!

We weren't sure we'd be able to put together a trip but she helped make it happen
Kristin Forbes | January 4, 2021

PANDEMIC TRAVEL Meg did an amazing job for a last minute request to find us a place to stay in the Turks & Caicos that had some privacy to reduce risks around COVID. She didn’t bat an eye and found a couple of amazing options. We weren’t sure we’d be able to put together a trip with only about a week’s notice–but she helped make it happen. Thanks!

THE best in every aspect of planning a trip from start to finish
Bonnie Raskin | January 2, 2018

I have worked with travel agents and travel specialists throughout my adult life on trips spanning several continents and complicated itineraries. In short, Meg Austin is THE best in every aspect of planning a trip from start to finish. I’m not sure if I’d be classified as “high maintenance”—you’d have to ask Meg that—but I ask a lot of questions and require a lot of information and guidance in every step of planning a BIG trip like the one my husband, daughter and myself planned through Meg. It was our first cruise and Meg guided me through every aspect patiently and expertly. Meg knew exactly which cabins to book for us, which flights to put us on, when and how to reserve our excursions and dining options so there would be no FOMO. Meg is incredibly well connected with insiders, so she was able to pull strings to get us everything SHE wanted us to have in our tour package—items I didn’t even know to ask for, but thank goodness Meg did. She handled me with humor, grace, zip-quick responses, and was always one step ahead of me.

It will take a long time to fully process and digest the breathtaking beauty of Tahiti, the graciousness of its people—including every crew member on the Paul Gauguin—and how perfectly Meg took care of my family through every step. This was a trip of a lifetime, and it’s going to take a lot to top this week.

No hitches or hiccups at all, anytime, period. Once onboard the ship, I followed Meg’s guidelines to a tee and booked our dinner, diving, and excursion reservations—which were all about timing, as the ship was fully booked. No problem for us—we had Meg Austin as our travel guru.

Meg could not have picked out a better cabin for us and our daughter. It was everything she said it would be—fantastic location for viewing breathtaking scenery, and the cabin amenities were wonderful. Cabin service twice daily! Fresh towels and stocked refrigerator throughout the day!

The food throughout the cruise was only exceeded by the professionalism and warmth of the Paul Gauguin staff. We made fast friends with the ship’s captain, so we were treated to tours of the bridge and engine room, and of the galley with the executive chef. The only way I didn’t roll home was due to all of the activities and excursions I went on that were so well organized and staffed. The snorkeling was excellent, as were the guides. My husband and daughter enjoyed terrific dives—four divers to a divemaster, unheard of on a non-liveaboard diving trip. Nothing was lacking. Everything exceeded all of our expectations. We met lovely guests from around the world. Yes, the ship was fully booked, and there were a lot of kids and family reunions, but we did our thing and they did theirs. Maybe next cruise I’d opt for adults only, but that’s just me. Even my previously Cruise-Averse Husband was completely won over by this Paul Gauguin cruise experience. You’d have to be insane not to have felt this way. It was luxurious beyond words.

We are Meg Austin lifers—if she’ll continue to have us. I actually helped some of the guests with information that Meg gave me that they didn’t know! I guess that makes me a Meg Austin protegee!

I tell everyone about the Wendy Perrin website and WOW List… and I suppose I also have to now share Meg Austin as well. I have not had one iota of disappointment with either.

Knew the right places, the right guides and the right resort
Jeanne Day | December 19, 2017

She planned everything and had to make changes when our plans changed. Everything went smoothly during the entire process. She knew the right places, the right guides and the right resort to satisfy a diverse family group.

She was proactive, quick to answer emails
Elizabeth Hogan | July 19, 2017

Meg was extremely helpful and patient while arranging our travel to a friend’s wedding in the South of France. When the original hotel for the wedding was booked, she helped us make alternative plans and continually contacted our first-choice hotel until they were able to accommodate us for our entire stay. She was proactive, quick to answer emails and followed up with us before and after our trip. We enjoyed working with Meg for a second time and definitely plan to use her in the future.

June 2017, Les Baux de Provence

She took calls on her day off and made magic happen
Deborah Glassman | July 5, 2017

I can’t say enough great things about Meg. We have just gotten back from our third trip arranged by her. She went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure everything was perfect for us. She took calls on her day off and made magic happen. We vacationed in her backyard ( practically ). Her insider knowledge helped to make us feel like locals rather than visitors. I recommend Meg in a heart beat.

A fabulous spring break vacation on relatively short notice
Elizabeth Hogan | March 19, 2017

Meg Austin planned a fabulous Spring Break vacation on relatively short notice for our group of 10 – two adult couples and six teenage girls. She personally vetted our accommodations – Villa Yuum Ha at Hotel Esencia, sending me her own photos and emailing and calling to explain the house’s unique floor plan. The house and additional beach house worked perfectly for our group. The full staff at the villa met our every need, and the staff at Hotel Esencia also checked on our group regularly. Meg arranged 2 excursions for the group. The first was a trip to the ruins at Tulum and to dive in Dos Ojos cenote. The second was an open water dive off the coast at Playa del Carmen. The Cenote and Tulum were a little overrun with tourists, but the outing was still a success. The guide at Tulum that Meg arranged was excellent. The dive guides for our open water dive were also very professional and attentive and helped make our entire group comfortable on a pretty advanced dive. The beach at Xpu Ha bay is beautiful – practically private, with perfect white sand and clear blue waters. We would all return to this location and I would definitely use Meg to book another trip in the future.

You just can’t beat her knowledge and experience
Hillary Pugh | February 11, 2017

We just returned from a trip to Playa del Carman that Meg arranged for my husband and I. It was our first time using her and we couldn’t have been any happier with everything! Meg asked us what we were looking for in the trip and then came back with options that filled those categories perfectly. We loved the all inclusive we stayed at, and being in Mexico made us realize that with the overwhelming amount to choose from we could have easily ended up at one that wasn’t at all what we wanted. Meg has such a great knowledge of the resorts there that we trusted what she recommended, and we absolutely loved it. The private excursion she set up was incredible, we loved our guides and felt well equipped for our adventures. Basically, every detail that Meg had her hand in was amazing. We sang her praises every day we were there. We will always work with her in the future. You just can’t beat her knowledge and experience.

Insight and experience
Wayne Brearley | February 2, 2017

We have been working with Meg for the last decade, and value her insight and experience. My wife has had some very serious health problems. It has radically changed our outlook on vacations. While I am sure many people look for adventure on vacation, we value safety, comfort and convenience. Meg has gone to great lengths to make sure that my wife is comfortable and well cared for, and that if problems arise, we can get home quickly and safely.

Her clients are well taken care of
Michael Smith "Smit" | January 28, 2017

I have known Meg since the 1970’s. She has been my trusted and valued travel agent for many years. Her vast knowledge and experience has guided me and my wife to destinations all over Mexico, Central America, Caribbean and parts of Europe. We just returned from Secrets in Costa Rica and it scored (in my strict standards) a 9.28 out of 10! It was perfect. Our dear friends (whose mother was a travel agent for decades) also raved about this specific Costa Rican resort. Meg is straight forward and wants to make sure her clients are well taken care of. I strongly recommend Meg for any adventure you might be contemplating. Smit in Woodinville, WA.

I would not consider using anyone else
David Leach | January 27, 2017

Meg is incredible! My wife and I have booked many vacations with her and I would not consider using anyone else. Cancun, Cozumel, Cayman Islands. She does it all. This past trip she got my family the absolute best room at the entire hotel at the Iberostar in Playa del Carmen. She also had a private limo pick us up at the airport and take us to the hotel. Total surprise on both accounts but that’s the kind of service she provides. Only the best. Use her for your travel and you will NOT be sorry!

The rooms she got for us were superb
Virginia McKenna | July 21, 2016

Wendy, thank you for recommending we use Meg Austin to put together our 2-week vacation to Hawaii. We used Meg for our trip to Mexico after Christmas, and she did a bang-up job on that. When I contacted you about whom you recommended for Hawaii, you suggested I use Meg again. That was outstanding advice. She put together a trip for us that ran perfectly. She got us a third free breakfast each day for our daughter who was sharing our room at the Fairmont Kea Lani. Each activity she booked for us was well run and professional. The rooms she got for us were superb.
I have used your recommendations for travel specialists worldwide and have to count Meg as one of the best. No one could respond more quickly on email.
Thanks, Wendy, for being such a wonderful resource for travel specialists worldwide. I recommend your site to all of my friends.

She is smart, honest, determined, and works tirelessly...
Kerri Meyer | April 28, 2016

We have traveled all around the world with our 3 boys, and could have never done it without the wonderful help of Meg Austin. She is smart, honest, determined, and works tirelessly to provide the most amazing adventures! We have experienced cultures, learned about history, religion, politics, and the local traditions of many countries, and she never ceases to amaze us. On the rare occasion that something goes amiss, she is on it immediately to resolve any issue and her follow up is impeccable. Always looking forward to planning another get away with Meg!

Very knowledgeable about where we could travel to meet our varied needs
Tom McHailey | March 22, 2016

Meg Austin was very knowledgeable about where we could travel to meet our varied needs (beautiful sandy beaches where we could just walk into the water and see lots of sea life while snorkeling, yet a full service, higher end resort).

Meg also checked in with us at the start of our trip to let us know that we could contact her at any time. We chose not to because we shut off from the world during our trip :)

When we were flying home, we were already at the airport when our flight status was changed to “delayed”. We weren’t getting much info from staff so we contacted Meg and she immediately got to work and found out why and approximately how long we would be delayed.

Meg was a great asset to us.

I cannot recommend her highly enough
Virginia McKenna | January 4, 2016

Meg Austin has been one of the most responsive, smart, and pleasant travel specialists that I have ever had the pleasure of working with and I have worked with quite a few. I cannot recommend her highly enough. I just wish she was a travel specialist for the whole world, so I could always use her for our travel needs.

The trip was incredible!
Heather M. | September 29, 2015

Meg helped us plan our honeymoon in the Riviera Maya (Mexico) in August 2015, and her recommendations were great! I’ve never used a travel agent before, but will definitely do so going forward—we got a lot of perks (e.g., upgrades, spa credits, etc.) that we otherwise would not have gotten. The trip was incredible!

Provided us with lots of perks
Deb Glassman | July 22, 2015

Meg Austin was terrific to work with in planning our trip to Vail over the July 4th weekend. She was able to help us with reservations and, using her clout, provided us with lots of perks. She was timely in communication and follow-through. Meg offered us her advice while simultaneously honoring our needs. Before crafting the trip she spent a lot time with us to understand what we wanted to get out of our vacation. Her recommendations were spot on. The only glitch (out of her control) was with the car rental company. I would certainly work with her again, not only to plan trips back to Colorado, but to the Caribbean, which is where she was doing research while we were in her back-yard.

Travel Tips

Quick and Easy Weekend Getaways for the Summer

by Billie Cohen | May 22, 2017

Hotels

The Biggest Hotel Group You’ve Never Heard Of

by Deborah Dunn | February 18, 2015

where to go when

Where to Go in September: The Best Places to Travel

by Brook Wilkinson | June 3, 2020

Travel Tips

How to Use TripAdvisor to Find Great Things to Do

by Eric Stoen | October 1, 2014

Airline Travel

The Big Air Travel Trends of 2018: More Comfort and Price Points

by Brett Snyder | January 19, 2018

Travel Tips

6 Otherworldly Escapes That Feel More Remote Than They Are

by Wendy Perrin | January 28, 2018

  • Did you use The WOW List to plan a trip with this Trusted Travel Expert?

    If you’ve returned from a trip arranged via Wendy’s WOW system, please leave a review of your experience so your fellow travelers can decide whether this trip planner is right for them. Include your name (because anonymous reviews are not fair), the month/year of your trip, the destination(s) you traveled to, and your advice for anyone who is considering using this trip designer.  If you’d prefer to share your review privately, email Wendy