Make Your Next Trip Extraordinary

The captain was very engaging and…
Bruce McLean | October 21, 2019

The captain was very engaging and the crew of one was efficient knowledgeable and attentive. The guide extraordinary in her knowledge and ability to find answers to questions. I was given the opportunity to pilot the barge and commented that it was like trying to push a rope. Riding a bicycle on the tow path was a good way to get some exercise and pictures of the barge and locks along the way. The captain had electrical shore service every night and that was really appreciated as we did not have to listen to a generator all night.

Ellen and Lori helped our group pick the ideal barge for our group.
Kimberly Prater | September 30, 2019

Ellen and Lori helped our group pick the ideal barge for our group- The Gran Cru. This phenomenal barge is only in its second season, has a fantastic staff that works well together and created a very convivial atmosphere- as well as lots of wonderful food and wine. A Gran Cru wine and 3 cheeses were served at every meal and Chef Joe was outstanding. In addition to cooking our meals, he held a couple of cooking classes for us. Boat manager, guide and wine expert Anna- superb! Without the input of Ellen and Lori we likely would have chosen another barge and not had the same experience.

I also appreciated the heads up from Ellen that because of no rain, we would not be on canals but rather on the Saône. In reality it mattered little as our itinerary remained the same and the scenery remained beautiful. This is our second barge trip through Ellen and I will use her again for future trips.

The crew on the Magnolia were all wonderful.
Leslie Goldenberg | September 30, 2019

Our barge trip in Southern Burgundy on Magnolia exceeded our expectations. Ellen’s suggestions to go to that area was perfect. The area was beautiful with lots of interesting and fun things to see. The crew on the Magnolia were all wonderful. Captain Nicolas was warm, friendly and very competent. Magali, his wife was very knowledgeable and very wonderful to spend time with. Sarah, the chef was outstanding! We all agreed her food was the best we ate in the two weeks we were in France. Our hostess, Brigette, had a wonderful sense of humor and was always there to offer a drink or anything else we could want. Gypsy, the dog was even a great addition. Two events stand out as very special. Maggi arranged for us to have dinner at her parent’s home in a near by village. She translated since they did not speak English. Even though there was a language issue the evening could not have been more delightful. Talk about interacting with the locals. The second surprise was musical entertainment our last night. Two local fellows came on board and played instruments and sang. My face hurt from smiling. This was a trip to remember!

Each day was a perfect mix of moving along the canals and traveling to many beautiful castles, parks and villages.
Helene Bard | August 12, 2019

Ellen and her team were so helpful in selecting the right barge and it exceeded our expectations. We wanted to experience Scotland and the Spirit of Scotland in Inverness was recommended. The information and description enticed our small group to selecting a July date . We didn’t have any problems or challenges establishing the trip details for Inverness.

Expectations were surpassed. The accommodations were beautiful, clean and very comfortable for two people. The lounge, dining room and outside areas were comfortable and offered shade and sun to enjoy the amazing scenery and to experience fabulous food, wine and entertainment. Local folks came to serenade us with folk music, stories and bagpipes.

Each day was a perfect mix of moving along the canals and traveling to many beautiful castles, parks and villages. I loved the experience so much, next year will include a barge cruise in France.

Very helpful in selecting the right boat for us…
Steve Goldner | June 19, 2019

Having done a Burgundy barge cruise once before, my wife and I had very high expectations for this family trip. Ellen Sack exceeded those expectations, on all accounts. She was very helpful in selecting the right boat for us and our two sons and daughters in-law. The crew of the Rendez-vous was personable, energetic, knowledgable and genuinely fun to be with. Lori Young handled several special requests from ballooning, to live music on board, and birthday surprises, all with a “no problem ” approach. The entire experience from the first call through many months of planning was 5 stars.

Our barge cabin was better than a number of the fine hotels we have stayed in.
Burnie Dunlap, Ph.D | October 13, 2016

We had a great time aboard the Hemingway, 9/25/16 to 10/1/16, and we believe all barge trips for us in the future will be defined by this trip. Our support, from making the choice to pick the Hemingway to answering little questions, was handled quickly and accurately by Ellen and her team. The barge trip was outstanding in all regards, service, room, food and tours. Our barge cabin was better than a number of the fine hotels we have stayed in. The service from all the barge employees and the owners was excellent. Each meal was a pleasure and an adventure. The wine and bar selection were also excellent. While our fellow passengers did not want to go on some of the tours (they had been before) we loved each one and learned a great deal about the wines and the history of the area.

It was a really, really great experience that will be hard to top.

Surpassed our expectations
Jerry Huller | October 7, 2016

My wife and I were quite pleased with our interactions with Ellen Sack and her team. Because we were new to barge cruising (having only done ocean and river cruising before), Ellen helped us narrow down options and select what we consider an ideal barge cruise for us. We selected the Savoir Vivre. It carries 8 passengers. What we especially liked is that we got to dine at a different place, in a new town, each night.

The cruise surpassed our expectations. The ship captain Richard, the hostess Marie, and the guide Laura (“the crew”) were awesome. We felt pampered. We were impressed with Marie fixing a delicious breakfast and lunch for us, while still tidying up our cabins. We wanted to take her home with us. Laura was vivacious and engaging, and made history come alive for us on our tours. Richard was friendly, helpful, and low-key. He served as our driver to and from the train station and the restaurants at night. On our trips off the barge, we drove around in a spacious minivan. Richard and Laura arranged to have the van at the location where the barge docked each night, so that it was close by when needed.

We liked the casual atmosphere of barge cruising. It was more low-key than river cruising. We did one excursion a day for only a few hours. That gave us time to relax on the barge, chat with our new friends, walk along the Burgundy canals, or bike along the canal and into the towns. We also got to help open and close the gates at the numerous locks along the canal. Before or after an excursion, we would hang out in the common area at the front of the ship.

Before the cruise, I worried a little about the bikes. They are fold-up bikes, and I was concerned that they would be uncomfortable. I am 6 feet, 2 inches tall with long legs. My worries were misplaced. I didn’t have a problem. I could comfortably pedal for the several miles we traveled.

We would consider doing another barge cruise in a different area. Barge cruising is a great way to chill out—and make new friends—after doing lots of (hectic) sightseeing in another part of the country. We were a little sad to depart our new little family at the end of the cruise.

Contact Ellen and her staff if you’re interested in trying out a barge cruise. They will help you find something that fits your needs and travel style.

Southern Burgundy, Escommes to Fleurey-sur-Ouche

What more could one ask?
Mary Miller | October 15, 2015

Five companions (aged 32-70) and I spent a week on the barge Rendez-Vous in September 2015. Our travel information and documents packages arrived in good time and we were all ‘blown away’ by the thoughtfulness and thoroughness of their preparation. Hand-written birthday cards were a lovely touch.

At my age I’ve done a great deal of traveling, under the aegis of a great many companies, and Ellen Sack certainly stands out. She and her staff display expertise, patience, thoroughness, and a sense of humor. What more could one ask?

We enjoyed every minute of it
Monique Chagnon | October 28, 2014

My husband and I went on a cruise on Bonheur with two friends. We enjoyed every minute of it. Paul and Annie are wonderful hosts, and Helen is totally right in rating it the best small barge. We are very happy to have booked our trip through Ellen. Everything went as expected. Great work.

We highly recommend Ellen
Barbara and Dan Balik | October 24, 2014

Ellen and her team made our trip to Burgundy in June 2014 spectacular. We loved L’Impressionniste and the amazing crew, chef, and captain. We highly recommend Ellen Sack to anyone interested in wonderful guidance on your next trip.

Each barge is unique and different
Denise Adkins | October 21, 2014

My husband and I have taken three barge cruises arranged through Ellen Sack. We have cruised the Canal du Midi in the South of France, Scotland on the Scottish Highlander and last September were on the Bonheur with our good friends. Each barge is unique and different. What they all have in common is an unparalleled ability to create once-in-a-lifetime trips via their locations, hosts, day trips, terrific food onboard, and a sense that you are experiencing a trip that cannot be duplicated. Ellen Sack is by far the best, most responsive, thorough, generous, thoughtful travel person we have ever used anywhere in the world. The fact that if you call her office you have a great chance of having her pick up the phone, answer each of your questions, and never once make you feel that she should be doing anything else except helping you is worth the price of the cruise alone. The reason we have taken three barge cruises is simply because each and every experience has been beyond delightful. We cannot wait to book another barge cruise.

travel questionnaire

Italy: Plan Your Trip!

by Jill Johnson | December 2, 2019

Destination

One of the World’s Most Remote Islands Is About to Get a Lot Closer

by Wendy Perrin | September 23, 2017

Travel Tips

How to Stay Safe Traveling in Risky Countries

by Wendy Perrin | November 10, 2015

Our "WOW Moments" project: FAQs

Wendy Wants To Amp Up Your Trip!

by WendyPerrin.com | July 1, 2018

Airline Travel

Airline Miles and Points: How to Get the Best Award Flights in 2019

by Gary Leff | January 1, 2019

Hotels

A New Way To Get V.I.P. Treatment in a Hotel

by Wendy Perrin | September 23, 2014

  • Did you use The WOW List to plan a trip with this Trusted Travel Expert?

    If you’ve returned from a trip arranged via Wendy’s WOW system, please leave a review of your experience so your fellow travelers can decide whether this trip planner is right for them. Include your name (because anonymous reviews are not fair), the month/year of your trip, the destination(s) you traveled to, and your advice for anyone who is considering using this trip designer.  If you’d prefer to share your review privately, email Wendy