Make Your Next Trip Extraordinary

The fee was well worth the quality of services
Robyn Boehrer | October 28, 2018

Andrea and her group came up with an outstanding itinerary that included Milan and the lake district of northern Italy for a group of 6 of us. All recommendations and accommodations were great and the guides (David, Tonya, Rita, Anna & Stephano, Kate) fabulous! Transfers were on time and removed any anxiety about getting from one place to another. I would just remind potential clients that her planning fee is not a deposit against future trip costs, but rather a separate charge for the planning services provided. This was little unclear in our communications, but looking back to the website it does state this. Regardless, the fee was well worth the quality of the services we received.

My travel specialist took the time to listen
Ibelis Montesino | October 26, 2018

My daughter and I took a trip of a lifetime to Italy. We were in Venice for three days, then Tuscany for three, Positano for three and Capri for two. My travel specialist took the time to listen to what experience I wanted from each place and we were not disappointed! Everything was set up for us, from hotel bookings, private car pickups to train and water taxi transportation. There was an agent at every point of our journey with an incredible attitude and professionalism. I had the name and contact of our travel specialist while in Italy and she was always available when I would text her with a question or concern. Will definitely be using this travel agency for all of my future trips and I have provided recommendations to friends and family as well!

Very good, experienced guides
Kevin Wagner | October 22, 2018

Everything scheduled went as planned and executed on time. All scheduled events were done professionally. The tours we went on had very good, experienced guides that made them enjoyable and we learned about that specific area to a degree you could not otherwise do yourself.

We had help one time where we asked to change the schedule around and our travel assistant came through quickly with no problems for us.

Overall the trip was very fun and we had an enjoyable experience.

It did not appear that anyone on Andrea’s team actually paid detailed attention…
Sharon Spinrad | October 16, 2018

Our overall trip to Sicily was amazing and we had a terrific time. The country is wonderful, our drivers and guides (with one exception) were excellent, the food and wine is delicious, and the hotels that Andrea recommended were very good.

However, after an initial itinerary was formulated for us, it did not appear that anyone on Andrea’s team actually paid detailed attention to the changes made and how they would affect us. We tweaked our plans several times before the trip, based upon our likes and dislikes, as we did more research. We paid Andrea a planning fee, so it should not have been a problem for her team to make minor changes. We counted on their expertise to guide us, especially on how to spend our travel days, if we were attempting to do too much, etc. For instance, why plan a stop in Sciacca on a Sunday? The whole town was closed. Or why tell us we would visit the open market in Siracusa, when that wasn’t possible because we were coming all the way from Agrigento that morning, and the market is only open in the morning?

Wendy’s response:

Andrea is not the Sicily specialist on my WOW List. For Sicily trips, I recommend Marcello Baglioni (click on “READ REVIEWS,” below his photo, to learn about his Sicily trips).  If you’re ever not sure whether a travel specialist is the right fit for your particular trip goals and needs, click over to Ask Wendy

Nothing was left to chance
Joseph Brown | October 11, 2018

Wendy, you and I spoke around Christmas about a 15th-anniversary trip I was planning for me and my wife. I took your advice and hired Andrea Grisdale to set up a four-day weekend at Le Sirenuse in May.

Andrea’s team was exceptional; nothing was left to chance. A day after arriving we received a call from one of her associates checking in on how things were going and already making sure our departure was well-planned. Our tour guide, airport transfers, and much-appreciated room upgrade all happened flawlessly. This is actually the second time I have used her, after having her plan a family trip to Tuscany two summers ago.

As for the hotel, I now understand why Le Sirenuse is written about so much; it is total perfection. We felt like we were in a movie while there.

A perfect blend of activities and free time for relaxation
Kyle Owen | October 5, 2018

Andrea Grisdale and her team were fantastic. I had a few phone calls with them a year ago to plan the trip. I told them things I liked and didn’t like and they developed the whole itinerary for 10 days.

It turned out to be a great trip. It was a perfect blend of activities and free time for relaxation (as we wanted), including two great hikes, a visit to ruins in Pompeii, a visit to a winery, a visit to a private farm and associated Michelin starred restaurant, and a day on a private boat (which was the highlight of the trip). They arranged for drivers and/or private guides almost every day. Every driver and guide was on time, spoke great English, and was very friendly and helpful.

The hotels we stayed at were all great hotels with very friendly staff who were very helpful in recommending and making dinner reservations for us.

Overall, everything was just as we had hoped. An awesome vacation. I would highly recommend Andrea and her team to friends and, in fact, already have.

We could not be more happy with our trip
Will Willis | October 2, 2018

We worked with Andrea and her team to organize our honeymoon on relatively short notice — about a month before our trip, scheduled for the end of August which is typically very busy in Italy. The team listened to our ideas and desires for the trip and quickly prepared an itinerary that took us to Lake Como, Lake Garda, Tuscany and Ravello on the Amalfi Coast, with accommodations and activities to match what we were looking for. The team was great about adjusting the itinerary to squeeze as much in as we wanted or to manage the budget. Our trip included a private boat tour of Lake Como, wine tasting in the Valpolicella region, day trips to small towns scattered around Tuscany, and a private tour of the ruins of Pompei, among other things.

We could not be more happy with our trip. The accommodations were spectacular, particularly Casta Diva on Lake Como and the two Belmond properties in Tuscany and Ravello. The tour of Lake Como was one of the top experiences of our trip thanks in large part to our wonderful guide, Rita. She was a delight and we’d recommend her to anyone. Our guide for Pompei (Carmine, if we’re remembering his name correctly), was also incredible and we wouldn’t hesitate to recommend him. All of the drivers were also very good in their own right, very charming and personable, and managed transfers seamlessly.

Regarding Andrea and her team’s service, everything was wonderful. It was an enjoyable and clear process from start to finish, everyone is incredibly kind and professional, and we wouldn’t hesitate to use Andrea again in the future.

This trip was excellent beyond words
Cheryl & David Crowdis | October 1, 2018

Our travel specialist for this trip was excellent beyond words. We had used Andrea’s services before, about 5 years ago to Milan and Bellagio, and couldn’t wait to schedule another. This trip included Bologna (4 nights) and Venice (8 nights). We rate them excellent for many reasons: drivers, guides, and all forms of transportation were perfectly on time, courteous and friendly. In this regard, that was a value in and of itself. We would never have been able to coordinate the kind of transfers, guides, etc. on our own.

The value of a well known and respected agency guarantees that all hotel recommendations will be top notch! They were. The hotel locations and services provided by each hotel was excellent. The service staff at each and every hotel went above and beyond any expectation, anyone could possibly want or need.

As far as solving challenges or destination related issues, traveling out our age (Senior and a Super-Senior) can be a bit difficult as the only way to get around Venice is on foot or by boat – which we did quite easily as our guides made sure we were comfortable with the pace and not overly tired on our many guided walks.

As an aside, while relaxing over a refreshment in Venice, a couple from the US sat down next to us – struck up a conversation and learned they were on a “tour” which included all of Italy in 20 days and they were exhausted! I described our travels and recommended Andrea to them right then and there, and they were most grateful.

One thing that stands out for us is the way our transport out of Venice to the airport was handled. Not once were we left to fend for ourselves and how to get from point A to B, as our guide was with us the whole time (water taxi then a private driver to the airport itself), including confirming gates, times and then sending us through Security!

As far as advice to anyone considering using Andrea and her staff – please at least make contact with them. Have your questions and ideas ready in order to get exactly what you want on a vacation!

This trip was the best ever – we have been home for two weeks now and frequently describe in detail to friends and family that this was “the best ever” trip we have taken!

Everything about our Italy trip was spectacular
Jennifer Carroll | September 19, 2018

Everything about our Italy (Amalfi Coast) trip was spectacular and taken care of from the drivers to the hotels to the excursions. I would highly recommend!

My dad can't stop telling everyone how amazing the meal was
Allison Elia | August 29, 2018

Andrea’s team did a great job planning an Amalfi Coast 60th birthday celebration for my dad. They did a great job accommodating one of our group’s flight delays and were very responsive despite the late hour. The highlight was by far the dinner at Don Alfonso’s! My dad can’t stop telling everyone how amazing the meal was and how wonderful the owners were to show us around the property. The hotels they chose were perfect, given our group size and budget, and they really listened to my request to give my dad the best possible views.

We really had the local flavor from all the guides and drivers
Earl Rubinoff | August 19, 2018

Just everything was super organized and all activities we on time and scheduled perfectly. No hidden surprises. All our tours-drivers -restaurant reservations were all done smoothly. Also, another key was that we really have the local flavor from all the guides and drivers that were arranged for us.

Worth every penny and more!
Meredith Still | July 22, 2018

My husband and I rarely use a travel agent because we love to do the research and plan every detail of our vacations. However, this trip was for our 10 year wedding anniversary, so we wanted the ultimate luxury experience without having to think about anything. Andrea and her team far exceeded our expectations for our anniversary celebration—it was truly the trip of a lifetime.

After our initial phone consultation where she discussed our interests and desires for our Capri and Amalfi Coast vacation, the first proposal she and her team sent was on point. She really listened to what we wanted and tailored the proposal accordingly.

We just returned from our trip about one month ago. There wasn’t a minute that went by that my husband and I didn’t think “this was worth every penny and more!” We truly didn’t have to worry about anything. From the knowledgeable and kind drivers to awesome tour guides and boat captains, it was beyond perfect. Our favorite day on the trip, and arguably in our lives, was when our boat captain picked us up in Capri, toured us around the island, let us swim in the grottos, and eventually dropped us off for the rest of our stay in Positano. The views were so stunning, but the captain really made our experience so special.

Andrea has the connections with all of the right people, which makes the entire experience unlike any other. I will absolutely use her and her team for future trips, especially to Italy! We can’t wait to go back!

Access to great guides
Craig Briscoe | July 5, 2018

We traveled to Lake Como, Italy for my wife’s 50th birthday. I would use IC Bellagio again because they had access to great guides and were helpful for me in picking a hotel (Grand Hotel Tremezzo) which we absolutely loved. Overall though the experience felt a bit like a low-touch operation in that I really got more lists of things to choose from versus someone making recommendations based on things we specifically liked or providing counsel on why we would/would not want to do some things versus others. Good news was that there were great things to choose from but honestly felt more like they took my order than planned my trip. My contacts kept changing through the planning process but that was really not a problem because they did a superb job of covering for each other when one was out. So through the whole process, they never missed a beat. They were super responsive and basically gave me everything I asked for. It was a wonderful trip. I would use them again mainly because they had great access and I have been to Italy several times and have a pretty clear idea of what I do/don’t like but not sure this would be my first choice for someone who needs a lot of direction to choose and plan.

Enabled us to skip the lines
Alan and Helen Robinson | June 24, 2018

Our June 9-18 trip to the Italian Lakes and Milan surpassed expectations. The hotels on Lake Como and Lake Maggiore were wonderful, conveniently located on water’s edge, and offering every convenience. The Armani Hotel in Milan, while also 5 Star, was not our “cup of tea” particularly after our stay at the two hotels on the lakes. The Armani lobby is on the 7th floor, entered by an express elevator from the front entrance. Getting from the lobby to one’s room entails taking a 2nd elevator bank, in our case going down to the 3rd floor. Exiting the hotel requires the same procedure in reverse (i.e. going from 3 up to 7 and then from 7 down to the ground). The dark hallways and rooms, in our opinion, are too somber. Each of our 4 private tour guides (one each for Como, Maggiore, Verona, and Milan) was superb, very knowledgeable regarding the history and culture of their respective venues as well as being very pleasant. In addition, having our own guides enabled us to skip the lines at various sites. Having private boats to tour the lakes with our tour guides added to our enjoyment and comfort. Kudos to Andrea Grisdale and her staff for compiling a thoroughly enjoyable and memorable experience and for their timely responses to any questions and requests that we had, both prior to and during our trip.

All accommodations were excellent
John Stull | November 1, 2017

Traveled to Rome and Amalfi Coast.  Trip went as planned and all accommodations were excellent. Everything went according to plan. Excellent service.

Seamlessly planned
Vickie Macafee | October 29, 2017

From the time we arrived in Venice, we not once felt anxious about where we were, where we needed to go, how we were going to get anywhere. The trip was seamlessly planned. We will always use the WOW List, in the future for all of our trips!

The tour guide, Louisa, was amazing. Her knowledge and passion about the artwork we saw was amazing. She brought the experience in Venice to life!

We could not ask for more
Scott Lichtig | October 25, 2017

We made changes during our trip, which were taken care of quickly and with a smile. We also had to return a few days early from our pre-paid trip, due to a medical emergency. Andrea was able to secure some of our pre-paid money back, although it was not technically due us.

Also, the rooms at the hotels chosen were magnificent. That is what we like: not just detail in picking the right hotel; but the very special room at the special hotel. We could not ask for more.

Planned perfectly and there were NO issues, not even a hiccup
Lisa Moses | September 27, 2017

This was an amazing trip. Everything was planned perfectly and there were NO issues, not even a hiccup. The tour guides were so knowledgeable, the restaurants were excellent, the drivers were so pleasant and prompt, and the hotels were gorgeous. Everything was amazing. I would highly recommend Il Bellagio to my friends and family.

A carefree "insider" experience that only comes with detailed local knowledge.
Dan Zarkovacki | September 25, 2017

Andrea and her staff exceeded our expectations for our recent two week trip to northern Italy. From the initial phone conversation with Andrea through the work out of all of the details with her staff, we felt very well taken care of. The private drivers & tour guides Andrea selected were invaluable to us for a carefree “insider” experience that only comes with detailed local knowledge… which they have.

We will definitely work with Andrea for our next future trip to Italy!

We were thrilled every day
Rebecca Wolf | July 27, 2017

We used Andrea Grisdale for a family trip to Italy this July, and couldn’t have been happier. All of the of service – from top-notch hotels to English-speaking drivers – exceeded our expectations. We were thrilled every day as we traveled through Rome, to the Amalfi Coast, and then to Venice. We have complicated travel needs as kosher travelers because we only eat in kosher-certified restaurants – a rarity on the Amalfi Coast. Andreas team arranged for a kosher caterer in Rome to deliver delicious meals to us in Sorrento and for our hotel there to serve it to us in a private dining room with our own waiter. We felt incredibly normal! It was a treat not to eat cold, packaged food on our hotel beds, as we have unfortunately had to do many times. Andreas team was a pleasure to work with, and we can’t wait to plan another trip with them soon.

Planned and executed perfectly
Lynn Casper | July 10, 2017

The entire trip was planned and executed perfectly. The quality of the guides, drivers and special experience companies were top notch.

The travel agency was extremely customer focused and very attentive. I would recommend to everyone.

They have all the connections
Joel Gonzalez | January 30, 2017

This is a long due recognition for excellence in travel planning, I have taken two trips to Italy with Andrea Grisdale and her team, and wouldn’t consider another one without them.

They have all the connections you would need to have any kind of wonderful experience you might not even think for yourself, from diner recommendations, private tours (one of their drivers was a personal friend of Ferruccio Lamborghini, and got us a private tour of the museum without any reservation or prior schedule!), hotel upgrades, and in case of an emergency they will got you covered. (I left my laptop in Venice and they helped arrange everything to get it back to our hotel).

Simply perfect!!

Summer 2013 and May 2016

Able to impart her vast knowledge
Kevin Haney | January 27, 2017

We spent a fabulous week in Florence right after New Years. This was the second time we used Andrea and and her team and they once again did a great job.

The planning stage with Andrea, Creta and Stefano was fun. We were offered some interesting things to do while on vacation and after some back and forth, we arrived at our itinerary. From that point, they finalized everything and got us set to travel by sending additional information on the food and culture of Italy.

Once in Florence, we met Tanya, our tour guide, Tanya was a great tour guide who we had the pleasure of being with for 4 days. She not only took us to the various sites, but she was extremely knowledgeable about what we were seeing. We loved our time with Tanya as she was able to impart her vast knowledge to us in a conversational manner so that we could ask questions and offer our observations. Tanya also shared some cultural knowledge with us on such things as where to shop and what to look for when searching for restaurants in which to eat. In addition, Tanya was always checking with us to make sure we had everything we needed.

Another highlight of the trip was Andrea’s team arranging for us to take a cooking lesson with Stefania. Stefania was very friendly and took us through a local market to shop for the food with which we were going to cook. Stefania was a gracious host at her house and she made us fell very welcome We learned a lot from Stefania and are looking forward to entertaining our friends with some of the dishes we learned to make that day.

Another great thing that Andrea’s team does is they have Grazia and Nicole on duty to call 24 hours a day if we needed anything plus they checked in at various times during the trip to make sure that everything was going well.

A great service offered by Andrea’s team is their VIP airport experience. They have a person meet you when you arrive and meet you at the airport before you depart. This made everything easy, especially with our luggage and the VAT refund process.

In conclusion, we had a great time and want to thank Andrea and all her staff at IC Bellagio. We appreciated all of their efforts in making sure we had a great vacation. There is no doubt that we will engage Andrea and her team for a third time when we return to Italy.

Excellent fit to what I desired
AnkeenThomasian | November 3, 2016

Andrea and her team were amazing.!!!!!!The hotel that I stayed in was one of the best, cleanest, and the staff were so accommodating. The area was exactly what I was looking for. It was quite and close to Bellagio. I asked Andrea if I can learn and practice the Italian language in this trip. The area she chose was excellent fit to what I desired. The driver that picked me up and dropped me off the airport was extremely professional and the drive was very comfortable. The private tour guide by Rita was one of the best tours I have had. Rita was amazing. I had a day with the owners of the hotel at their house for Pizza. Home made pizza!!!!! It was great to know them and to know the history of Palazzo Del Vicere (The hotel I stayed at). I enjoyed every aspect of this trip. Thank you Andrea and team for making this happen. God bless you all and I so appreciate such great team like this. My next trip to Italy Andrea and her team would be the team to go to for sure. Thanks Wendy Perrin for recommending Andrea and her team. Great choice!!!!!!!

In a very short period of time and they delivered
Julie Holder | October 31, 2016

Our cruise was cancelled at the last minute. Andrea and her team had already been hired to plan our post cruise trip; we jumped into action and asked them to help us plan the 7 day cruise portion in a very short period of time and they delivered for us extremely well. I was particularly impressed with Grazia and our “in country” support. When the weather didn’t cooperate, we were able to move our tours around, when we wanted our transportation changed, it happened, she was responsive and amazing to work with. The properties were amazing and the tour guides were excellent.

Worry free high end experience.
Kelly Tousi | September 7, 2016

Andrea Grisdale and her team at IC Bellagio was focused on who we are to help design an experience that fit our style and interests – so they took the time to ask questions up front and then to present options. They communicated regularly and responded very quickly during the entire planning process.

On the trip, they stayed in touch to ensure all was gong well. Since we had no changes, requests or issues, we did not really need the support but it was very good to know it was there.

What truly set them apart was the actual experience we had. Everything was very well done – the hotels were superb, the guides were very knowledgeable and personable (as were the drivers) and the recommended tours / experiences were both well organized and definitely tailored to our preferences. We also had enough “down time” built in to enjoy some places on our own.

For anyone either taking a first trip to Italy or who wants a tailored experience that requires very little effort on their end, I would not hesitate to recommend Andrea and her team at IC Bellagio. Please note, this is not the least expensive option but in my opinion, it was worth what we paid to have a worry free high end experience.

A great travel specialist.
Joseph Mcbrine | August 22, 2016

Andrea Grisdale and her Lake Como-based team did an amazing job for us. She arranged for our stay at a beautiful, private villa high in the hills above the town of Bellagio. The views of the Lake from up there were stunning. The property was brand new with every modern amenity and even had a swimming pool. There was more than enough room for all of us. It was a short walk to town from there as well. On one of our days there she arranged for a private guided boat tour of the Lake with a visit to the famed Villa Balbianello from Star Wars and James Bond films. Her restaurant recommendations were superb. We appreciated her responsiveness to details and her very timely responses with email communications. We were never left wondering or hanging for information. That to me is a hallmark of a great travel specialist. She and her team fit that bill to a T!

I would HIGHLY recommend IC Bellagio
Janette Gill | January 6, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 20th anniversary in April 2015 in beautiful southern Italy (Positano and Capri). Andrea Grisdale, of IC Bellagio and her staff planned and orchestrated a trip of a lifetime complete with safe/knowledgeable drivers, fabulous hotels with extra perks, and special encounters with the local people. Several of our favorite activities included cooking lessons with Mamma Agata, a private tour of the ancient city of Herculaneum, a cooking lesson and farm tour with the owner of Don Alfonso, and a very memorable lunch along the Amalfi coast at Lo Scoglio while transferring to Capri on a private yacht. We can’t wait to go back!

In the past I have typically planned our own trips, but for the last few years I have utilized the services of 3 other travel experts recommended by Wendy Perrin (Entree Alaska, Costa Rica Expeditions, and I’m currently working with Pierre of Nicaragua Adventures on a family trip over Spring Break). I would HIGHLY recommend IC Bellagio, and the other travel experts list above, to anyone looking for a unique, customized travel experience. Why stress about the small details when you can let the experts do it for you!

Andrea and her team delivered!
John Zerr | December 30, 2015

This past summer my family and I enjoyed a wonderful trip planned by Andrea Grisdale and her team. Our requested itinerary included time in Rome, the Amalfi Coast, Capri and a week in Sardinia in a rented villa together with experiences that were more off the beaten track than a more traditional family vacation. Altogether, the trip was a bit more than three weeks in duration. We had traveled and toured through Rome, the Amalfi Coast, Tuscany and Northern Italy on a number of occasions before and were looking for something different and geared to some of the interests our kids have (who range in age from 9 to 18). Andrea and her team delivered! Some of the more notable experiences included a private bike tour from Rome out along the Appian Way to see ancient Roman aqueducts (some still in use today) and a stop at a 500 year old farm house for cheese and wine, a private Gelato making lesson, a private guided tour of areas of Rome less frequented all while riding on Vespas, a guided hike in the hills above the towns of Ravello and Amalfi, private cooking lessons at a Michelin-starred restaurant to private boat trips to explore the beautiful coastlines of Amalfi and Sardinia. Andrea and her team did a fabulous job of listening to the types of activities that appealed to us as a family, the kinds of hotels we prefer and did an excellent job of suggesting experiences and properties that responded to our preferences. The only aspect of the trip that fell slightly short of our expectations was the villa we rented in Sardinia. Andrea and her team do not do much villa work on the island and are less familiar with areas outside of the Costa Esmerelda (we wanted to be in a less touristy area of the island). Don’t get me wrong – it was absolutely fine – just not of the same caliber accommodations that she was able to arrange on other portions of our trip (which were all truly exceptional). Because Andrea and her team did such a good job of suggesting experiences and events that really showed she listened to what we like to do and the types of things that we enjoyed from past trips to other countries, I plan to call Andrea and her team again the next time we visit the Amalfi Coast, Central or Northern Italy.

A wonderful and memorable trip
Mary Sanchez | October 25, 2015

My husband and I went to Rome and Florence in September 2015. We had a wonderful and memorable trip . Andrea and her team put together an excellent itinerary that included 5 star hotels along with 5 star tours. All the drivers, tour guides and assistants were professional and friendly and went out of their way to make sure that we were well taken care of. I agree with all of the previous reviews posted on this website. If you want to experience the best of Italy , then Andrea and her team should be your go to travel specialist.

We had an incredible time
Marcella Abugov | October 19, 2015

We were very pleased with our Trusted Travel Expert. Our stay at Villa Cora in Florence was extraordinary! We loved everything about it—the service was superb, the food fabulous, and the room was divine! Thanks so much, will use you next time we travel for sure. We had an incredible time.

Our travel through Italy was flawless
Valerie Huntting | October 4, 2015

My husband and I traveled to Italy from 9/13-10/1/2013 started in Milan, Lake Como, Venice, Florence, Rome and Sorrento. We had an extraordinary time with the help of Andrea Grisdale and her team, our travel through Italy was flawless. With Andrea’s help we had the vacation we wanted and within our budget. She was absolutely wonderful to work with. The restaurants she recommended to us were fabulous. We always had a contact number and name 24 hrs a day in case we needed help at any time. This was the most comforting of all. Any time we travel to Europe in the future, Andrea will be our first call.

Highly recommend
Derek Davidson | September 23, 2015

Andrea and the IC Bellagio team organized all of the logistics for our honeymoon in the Amalfi Coast (Sept 2015). Every aspect of the trip—from planning to enjoying—was entirely flawless and stress free. We enjoyed every element of the trip that ICB touched—every driver, boat captain, tour guide, etc. was friendly, on time, professional, knowledgeable and with a great personality. ICB definitely has the pulse on what the best of the best is in the area.

We couldn’t have been happier with the level of service provided by Andrea and team.

The best part was that they are entirely flexible with their planning services. My wife and I wanted to plan some of it ourselves and rely on ICB for their expertise where needed (such as transfers). ICB worked with us and went out of their way to understand what we were doing on our own to ensure a seamless vacation and that their planning meshed with ours—they really cared about making sure we had a great vacation above all else.

Andrea Grisdale is incredible.
Nick Greene | September 3, 2015

Andrea Grisdale is incredible. However, she did my intake discussion and then handed me off to someone else, who handed me off to someone else at a different stage who then handed me off to someone else for completion of final documents who then handed me off to someone else as an on the ground contact. As a result of the multiple people involved–there were many issues with the planning of my trip that I ultimately had to escalate to Andrea to resolve. while each event and hotel they planned was wonderful, they did not all work together. for example, the hotel they recommended for our wine tasting was at least 30 minutes away from anything we did on those days and no restaurants in the town were open on the day we arrived. the same thing happened with the hotel we were placed in at Lake Orta–most of the area restaurants were closed on that day. There were other equally nice/priced hotels for the wine tour part of our trip that would have been better located. The reason why I selected a local travel agent and did not work with my usual US based travel agent is that I assumed someone local would understand which hotels would be best located to the tours they scheduled for us. additionally, our guides were told requirements requested by “the client” which were never requirements of ours or even discussed with me. Thankfully, when that became apparent, our guides were able to adjust on the fly. However, we would have had an even better experience if we were asked to provide our actual requirements instead of the travel professional on Andrea’s staff making them up. this experience was completely different from my previous experiences working with other travel professionals recommended on your WOW list (which were amazing!)

An incredible team of experts
Stacy Lederer | August 3, 2015

I just returned from the Amalfi Coast and had the MOST amazing trip ever. Our agent, Andrea from IC Bellagio and her incredible team of experts organized a flawless trip through Positano, Ravello, and Capri. We had the best of the best of everything, including the drivers, dinner reservations, tours, private guides and especially the hotels. I literally can’t thank them enough for making our summer vacation so memorable. I can’t wait to go back to Italy again!!

Andrea's work was top-notch!
Karen Faulkner | July 12, 2015

Andrea Grisdale put together a fabulous trip to Italy for us. From beginning to end, our experience working with Andrea was great. All of the properties she recommended were outstanding, and the guides she provided were not only local experts but also people we enjoyed being around. Andrea’s work was top-notch!

I cannot imagine how we will top this trip
Jill Mehl | July 6, 2015

What a pleasure and a stroke of good fortune to discover Andrea Grisdale and her team at IC Bellagio! From our initial coffee in NYC to toss around some ideas to the many emails that followed, I thoroughly enjoyed planning our week (June 2015) on the Amalfi Coast and Capri, which was a surprise to mark my husband’s 50th birthday. Andrea’s team asked all the right questions, attended to each detail, and created an itinerary that combined heavenly experiences that brought together all the elements I was looking for: relaxation, romance, fun, adventure and extraordinary food and service.

We especially loved our time at the Hotel Le Sirenuse in Positano and the Hotel Don Alfonso in Sant’Agata, Sorrento. While I was looking for a WOW experience in terms of quality and service, I have no doubt that Andrea has the breadth of knowledge and contacts to create any kind of itinerary and experience to suit each client’s desires and budget.

I cannot imagine how we will top this trip. But I’ll be 50 in a few years, so I am sure we will try! Thank you, Andrea and IC Bellagio!

We couldn't have been happier with our service
Fred & Vola Palmer | February 25, 2015

My husband and I were referred to Andrea for our trip to the French and Italian Riviera in January. We couldn’t have been happier with our service.

The itinerary was just what we wanted—places, hotels, etc. The guides and drivers were knowledgeable, considerate and likeable. Andrea’s people checked in with us throughout our trip, which was very comforting.

We highly recommend Andrea Grisdale, IC Bellagio, the guides and the drivers.

Our final itinerary was outstanding
Richard Edwards | February 12, 2015

Andrea and her team at IC Bellagio helped us plan a wonderful two-week visit that started in Florence, then went on to a week in Tuscany at a villa at Castello di Casole and then on to Piemonte where we stayed in wine country at Hotel Villa Beccaris in Monforte d’Alba and ended with a few nights at Lago d’Orta at the historic (and restored) Villa Crespi. After interviewing Andrea on the telephone to ensure a good “fit” before our hiring IC Bellagio, we were surprised when she turned around and extensively interviewed us and learned about our interests, past travels, and goals for our trip. She and her team sent us some options for various parts of the trip and then, once we had narrowed down the geography, we discussed many options for guides, excursions, hotels, meals, etc. Our final itinerary was outstanding and included some special activities, such as an opportunity to go out truffle hunting with a leading truffle hunter and his dogs in Piemonte. Our guides were local, personable and very knowledgeable, and open to tailoring tours to our interests. We have traveled worldwide for forty-plus years and IC Bellagio is one of the top travel experts that we have worked with. Their attention to detail is fantastic and they really know Italy and have access to unusual activities and top guides.

We could never have done it so nicely on our own
John and Linda Spiller | December 16, 2014

Andrea Grisdale and her wonderful staff at IC Bellagio made our first trip to Italy wonderful! We could never have done it so nicely on our own. Having private transfers and guides saved us lots of precious time and also made our days so much fun and stress-free. After our guided tours we had plenty of free time to roam around, shop, and visit the fabulous fun cafes for our afternoon aperitivo.

All of our drivers and guides were born in Italy. They were so very knowledgeable and friendly and proud to tell us many interesting things about Italy and the sights they showed to us. They all went above and beyond the call of duty.

Since my husband and I were traveling alone, we wanted the comfort of knowing we had back-up if we needed help of any kind. IC Bellagio gives their clients that peace of mind by providing  a back-up person and number to call in each city you are visiting. Our contact person called us early in our trip to check on us and see if we needed anything. We certainly appreciated that level of attention from ICBellagio. We did later call our contact person when our Venice hotel put us in a nice room but not quite as nice as we expected. We called the front desk and asked for a nicer room, and they said none was available. We called our contact person from our cell phone, and she made a quick call to our hotel front desk, and we were immediately escorted to a bigger nicer room.

IC Bellagio arranged a private boat ride from the Venice train station to our hotel and then on the departure day we had a private boat take us to land where a private escort met us and escorted us thru the Venice airport and personally checked us in and took us to our gate. Making that transfer from the Venice hotel to the Venice airport by ourselves would have been stressful for us. The transfers by private boat across the canal were magical.

IC Bellagio also provides their clients with an extensive list of recommended restaurants in each city you visit. They even gave us several pages of detailed information about Italian wines and Italian menu items. We found that information very valuable when
ordering from Italian menus.

We are telling all of our friends and relatives who plan on traveling to Italy to plan their trip thru Andrea Grisdale and her fabulous professional staff at ICBellagio. Our trip was absolutely perfect!

What a fabulous trip
William M. Reynolds | November 24, 2014

Having just turned 60, I thought I had  “done Europe” in every way possible, from backpacking as a young man to travelling to various countries while stationed in Germany during the cold war to self-planned vacations. But, I had never travelled with the help of an outstanding travel advisor like Andrea from start to finish. What a fabulous trip.

I can’t tell you how wonderful it was for my wife and I to have been gathered up and whisked away without anything to worry about. The people Andrea provided as drivers, guides and connection assistants were all courteous, respectful and knowledgeable and were on time every time. I would specifically like to recognize Anna who was our guide for the Lake Como tour. She was so fun and full of life. She had a wonderful personality and the ability to mix her expertise with a congeniality that made the day very enjoyable for us. Alessandro was our driver from Verona to Venice. He took us to Soave, and while we had lunch he went out of his way to call and arrange for us to meet a local artist whose painting was on the wall in the restaurant.

The Villa D’este was beautiful and was our favorite hotel during our trip. The Gritti Palace was also beautiful and was so grand. We feel like we got to stay in two of Italy’s best hotels. We did not particularly care for the Palazzo Victoria in Verona, but that is understandable wedged between the other two grand hotels we stayed in. The Palazzo Victoria was just a bit too modern for us and the room appointments were a little cheap looking. The Affresco suite was just too cavernous for us.

All of the restaurants were fabulous. Could not have been better. Coming in November really was a perfect time because we felt like we were the only “tourists” around.  We had all of Italy to ourselves.

We won’t travel to Italy again without Andrea.

 

What to Book Now

The Best Trips to Book in August: What to Lock In Now

by Brook Wilkinson | July 26, 2018

Family Travel

Family Road Trips: How to Eliminate Stress and Bickering

by Billie Cohen | August 1, 2016

Destination

5 Top Places in the Seychelles for Pristine Nature

by Brook Wilkinson | April 4, 2016

Travel Tips

The American West You Don’t Know About, But Should

by Brook Wilkinson | November 3, 2016

Destination

A Surprising Day Trip from New York

by Billie Cohen | August 18, 2014

Destination

Seven Spectacular Places to Celebrate Earth Day

by Billie Cohen | April 22, 2015

  • Have you returned from a trip arranged by this Trusted Travel Expert?

    If so, please leave a review of your experience so your fellow travelers can decide whether this travel planner is right for them. Include your name (because anonymous reviews are not fair), the month/year of your trip, the destination(s) you traveled to, and your advice for anyone who is considering hiring this travel planner. If you’d prefer to share your review privately, email Wendy.