Make Your Next Trip Extraordinary

So many unique experiences
Nita Taublib | October 16, 2017

This was a two week slow food and wine tour of Sicily. From the initial phone call to plan the trips, thru the many iterations of the two week trip, Marcello was phenomenal. Every guide he hired was the consummate professional. Marcello monitored our tour always checking in (daily) with tour guides to make sure everything ran smoothly. When the weather turned for our sailing trip he immediately reorganized the day and we sailed at a later date. The food and wine tours were so special. The market tour and cooking experience in Ortigia was one of our highlights. We would highly recommend Marcello to everyone who wants a tour filled with so many unique experiences and expert guides along the way.

Worked tirelessly to locate our luggage
Cathy Strick | October 10, 2017

Marcello and Matteo were a godsend to us on our first trip to Sicily. Matteo worked tirelessly to locate our luggage which arrived two days after we did. He even arranged to have our driver collect the baggage at the airport and transport it to our hotel. Matteo also helped when our hotel in Ortigia couldn’t locate our car (temporarily) and put us in the wrong room. He arranged free breakfast and a one night hotel credit as compensation for our issues. And he made sure that our rental car was ready and waiting outside our hotel for a very early trip to the airport on our day of departure. Thanks, Matteo.

Things we loved:
-Hotel recommendations were spot on. We loved our Mt. Etna and Ortigia accommodations.
-Our wonderful guide, Guisy, who spent a lovely afternoon with us in Taormina.
-Salvo, our volcanologist/guide on Mt. Etna. So enthusiastic and interesting.
-Winery tour and lunch on Mt. Etna.
-Our private boating excursion with Enrico—awesome!
-Cooking class with Maurizio. A highlight.
-Our days with our archaeologist/guide Italo. Especially visiting the ruins and making chocolate.
-Our final dinner with Dario and his family at their olive farm. A truly wonderful experience.

Very diverse activities, destinations, and guides
Joyce and Martyn Roetter | August 6, 2017

The very diverse activities, destinations, and guides arranged for us in Sicily were without exception superb, from Palermo to Agrigento, Siracusa, Mt. Etna and Taormina. The guides we had were all extremely knowledgeable about their respective subject matters (archeology, history, volcanology, climate, current social issues in Sicily etc.) as well as charming. The activities we enjoyed were even more interesting and delightful than we could have hoped for. They met fully and indeed exceeded our expectations as embodied in the wishes and the criteria we had expressed to Marcello. He obviously listens attentively and is creative in figuring out how to meet the wishes of his clients. Notably, we also appreciated that either Marcello or one of his assistants contacted us several times during our trip to make sure that everything was going well. The guides we encountered all know Marcello well, respect him enormously and are looking forward to his next regular visit to Sicily in September. In addition to the mind expanding architectural and historical aspects of our tour we also greatly enjoyed our visit to the Camporeale winery and our day boat trip from Siracusa, which included a lunch in which we were served the most delicious mussels we have ever tasted. We had the opportunity to spend time in a small village where we could experience artisanal cheese making and even participate in pizza making with the owner of a bakery who (to our surprise) spoke English with a definite Southern English accent having lived there for 20 years.This was our first trip to Sicily and at the end of it in addition to a marvelous vacation experience we feel we have a much deeper appreciation of the history, culture, and role of this island that has absorbed/ endured successive waves of Greek, Roman, Muslim, Norman, Spanish, French and Austrian influences ranging from the admirable to the brutal. We have developed a more nuanced perspective on the events of the last century and a half and the position of Sicily since the Risorgimento and reunification of Italy.

Every day well planned and fun
David Max | June 21, 2017

Marcelo spent a lot of time with us designing a trip to Sicily that turned out to be outstanding. Here is some of the feedback & thanks we gave him:
– Thank you for a fantastic and memorable trip! We had a great time and appreciated the excellent taste of beautiful Sicily that you helped us experience.
– We loved both hotels. Delicious food, warm personal service, small size. Excellent recommendations. Thank you very much!
– The guide was wonderful. Easy to be with, organized, friendly, knowledgeable, fun. The whole family liked her and learned with interest from her.
– The driver was excellent. Always on time, brought cold water, even took his own lunch out of a small cooler to let us bring it to the beach. Always cheerful, friendly, polite, professional. Car in great shape, spacious & comfortable.
– Every activity was interesting & worthwhile, and every day well planned & fun, with enough sights & visits, and enough free time at the beach & pool.
– The founder of the herb farm was enchanting. The visit & lunch were both great, a real highlight. So creative and beautiful and fun.
– The afternoon boat was also a real highlight. We loved the crew, boat, ride, swim, commentary, everything.
– The head of the olive farm & his parents couldn’t have been nicer at the olive oil maker. We had an interesting visit and such a warm, friendly lunch.
– The beach was great for kids and fun, but we wondered if there is a more beautiful beach we could have gone to instead.
– The lunch and free afternoon at the country hotel were great. The people there were lovely.
– The free time in the little village was great. Gorgeous seaside restaurant & fun shopping.
– We loved the volcano expert & the visit to Mt. Etna. His enthusiasm was infectious, and he told us such interesting things. It was less of a hike than I expected but perfect given the heat.
– We are sorry we did not do a cooking class as you had suggested, but were not sure what we would have sacrificed to fit one in.
– Many thanks again for introducing us so wonderfully to Sicily!
As you can see, we thought Marcelo fully earned his place on Wendys WOW list. We recommend him wholeheartedly for arranging a trip to Sicily. He met us for dessert on our trip, and were so happy we got to meet and thank him in person. We loved the Greco-Roman ruins we visited with Marcelo’s wonderful guide, as well as all the other parts of our trip mentioned above. Sicily is amazing, and Marcelo will open its treasures for you.

Well planned, faultlessly managed and fascinating exploration
Virginia Meyer | June 17, 2017

Anyone who’s looking for a well planned, faultlessly managed and fascinating exploration of Sicily should call Marcello. Our Sicily trip was one of the best trips we’ve taken, and we travel a lot. In fact, I’ve just contacted Wendy’s expert for Eastern Europe for a trip were taking in August. Marcello loves Sicily and his guides and the people you’ll meet have an infectious enthusiasm for their fields. I didn’t think I’d be interested in a herb farm, but it was fascinating. We toured ancient ruins with professional archaeologists who had actually made significant finds, Mt. Etna with a vulcanologist whose main job is monitoring Mt. Etna, and an organic olive farm of 3rd generation owners with whom we then shared their Sunday family lunch. We had one mishap (sailboat malfunction) and the way that Marcello made up for it was notable. Instead of a daytime sail/swim/lunch, we did an evening sail/dinner overlooking Siracusa. The evening was so magical that I was glad we aborted the 1st sail. Ask Wendy to connect you with Marcello. You won’t be sorry.

Things you would not be able to do on your own
Julie Holder | June 12, 2017

We visited Palermo, Agrigento, and Siracusa in Sicily in early June 2017; Marcello was our travel specialist. I have a Sicilian heritage and wanted to visit the island; I had no real experience as to where to travel so let Marcello guide me as to locations, hotels, and itineraries. We went with our grown daughters and son in law (mid-20s) and had a fabulous time. Marcello not only helped me pick hotels and itineraries but checked on us virtually every day to make sure things were going smoothly and when we wanted to change itineraries, was very flexible in finding options for us. The highlight of the trip for our children was the local flavor we experienced in cooking classes, visits to farms and agritourism sites- things you would not be able to do on your own. I would highly recommend Marcello and Sicily as a wonderful place to travel.

Fabulous ideas for our travels
Ellen Marks | June 4, 2017

Marcello was wonderful in the planning of the trip, with fabulous ideas for our travels including sights, hotels, and restaurants. He was inexhaustible in adjusting the itinerary after we reviewed the trip and adjusting the details to our total satisfaction. During the trip, he was always available to talk and continue to edit our plans almost on a daily basis. He was marvelous in having the most extraordinary guides …a charming incredibly knowledgeable historian/filmmaker who fascinated our well-traveled group of four lawyers with an amazing command of centuries of history and stories and an archeologist who communicated his enthusiasm to our group , while picking up shards of ancient pottery in the “layers” of dirt!!!

He also organized a very WOW experience (thank you Wendy) in a private palazzo in Siracusa, where we all shared champagne with him and the owner. WOW! Marcello made our trip an unforgettable experience.

Extremely well-planned and varied 10-day trip
Hope & Gregg Geller | May 24, 2017

Marcello is a wonderful travel agent who created an extremely well-planned and varied 10-day trip. He kept tabs on us throughout our time in Sicily, even managing to meet us while in Siracusa. Guides ranged from good to excellent, recommended hotels were divine.

Graduate degrees in the areas as to which they guided
Toni Ceisler | May 9, 2017

My husband and I traveled to Sicily, with Marcello Baglioni as our trip planner. He was great! We told him our interests (archaeology, history, and food), and the fact that my husband has a bad knee – so stairs, etc. would be an issue. The trip he planned was perfect; the guides and drivers were also excellent. Also, the day we left, there was an article in the newspaper about a new bit of history in Palermo that would be of great interest to us. While waiting to take off, I texted Marcello who replied that he couldn’t promise success, but he would look into it, It turned out that the guide he had chosen for that area had researched this very thing and so we were thrilled to learn about it.

I will say that the guides were impressive – most had graduate degrees in the areas as to which they guided. We also enjoyed our cooking lesson with the delightful chef in Ortigia.

I would definitely recommend Marcello for anyone who wants to visit Sicily.

Personal contacts add so much
Mary Munn Laronge | January 25.2017

I used Marcello for a special private journey that I planned for a group of lifelong friends ranging in ages from 34 to 87. Marcello helped me plan a once in a lifetime experience in Sicily for my group of 8 in October, an ideal time to visit Sicily. I had been to Sicily many times over 30 years as a student, and later on cruise ship day trips and pre and post cruise short stays. I knew what to see but I needed help in crafting truly memorable experiences for my group, with someone who had up to the minute connections and furthermore, ideas. Marcello is the man to pull off your dream trip to amazing Sicily!!! Marcello succeeded in getting us through sites with no crowds, into lovely restaurants and the best rooms at the best hotels.

His guides were absolutely top notch in every respect, and some of our highlights were the outdoor food market in Ortigia followed by a cooking class with chef Lele Torrisi. Our olive farm experience luncheon was a highlight, too, as well as the mount Etna Winery. Marcello’s personal contacts add so much to the experiences he crafts for his travelers.

When we had a service issue one night Marcello was right there to fix the issue specially arranging a dinner out in Trapani where tourists rarely go. While in Siracusa he personally checked in on us so our travelers could meet him and thank him for all he had done!!
Marcello is a Sicilian gem, use his expertise to craft your amazing journey to one of my favorite islands. I can’t say enough good things about Marcello!

We wholeheartedly recommend
David and Chris Lusignan | October 10, 2016

My wife and I just completed a late September/early October two week self drive trip around Sicily arranged with Marcello. The trip was spectacular and Marcello’s planning, guidance and in-country services were a major reason for this.

We toured several ancient sites and medieval towns, lunched at wineries, climbed the Scala dei Turchi, sailed the coast of Siracusa and climbed on Mt. Etna…..all of which were extraordinary. Marcello even surprised us with a private tour(with lunch) at a family owned palazzo in Ragusa Ibla. Marcello’s hotel recommendations met our expectations perfectly, all of his guides were expert and excellent and his drivers timely, courteous and punctual. And it was comforting to know that Marcello was following up and looking out for us on each leg of the trip(I have used other WOW List specialist with great success, but Marcello is the first to actually expend the effort to track your daily movements in country to ensure your trip is progressing as planned). We also got to spend an enjoyable evening with Marcello over dinner in Siracusa and learn a bit more about his evolution into a first rate travel specialist.

We wholeheartedly recommend Marcello to others looking to plan a Sicily adventure. You will not be disappointed. Thanks Marcello!

The best there is in Sicily.
Linda Garrett | September 1, 2016

With very little advance notice Marcello planned four cities in Sicily in August 2016 for us. High-quality experts with incredible credentials guided us from Mount Etna to culinary experiences extraordinary in their scope and detail.  Look no further than Marcello Baglioni for the best there is in Sicily.  —Linda Garrett

Wonderful memories thanks to Marcello.
Linda and Tom Uhler | July 24, 2016

Our trip to Sicily in June 2016 has left us with wonderful memories thanks to Marcello. We told him that food and wine are passions for us and he arranged a great itinerary including visits to a flour mill, an herb farm, chocolate maker, dairy farm and an almond and ricotta producer. In addition we visited several wineries and had a personal tour of the market in Ortigia followed by a cooking class. Archaeology and culture were not left out of the trip. Among the things weve raved to friends about were having a REAL vulcanologist show us Mt. Etna and highly educated archaeologists make ancient sites come alive. The caliber of the experiences plus that of the guides and drivers was one of the hallmarks of our trip. It was what we hoped for and more than we expected. Everywhere we went Marcello was given high praise and we would second that . He has made many valuable connections in Sicily and we were the lucky beneficiaries. We appreciated how Marcello checked in with us each day and loved having the opportunity to meet him in Siracusa. We cant thank him enough for making our Sicilian adventure so memorable. We would recommend a trip to Sicily, planned by Marcello to anyone who travels. This trip will be the benchmark for any future European travel for us.

Every day was a "wow".
Hesty Leibtag | July 7, 2016

​Our trip to Sicily could not have been better. Working with Marcello Baglioni was a dream. Marcello hired us the best guides for all our excursions and every day was a “wow.”

Marcello stayed in touch with us throughout our travels and ensured everything ran smoothly. We had the best time and I would not hesitate to recommend his expertise to anyone planning on visiting Sicily. His knowledge and professionalism are unparalleled.

Intimate knowledge of the culture of Sicily
Fran Levine | June 22, 2016

Marcello knows Sicily. Inside and out.

Marcello has planned several things for me over the years. He can customize anything and will advise you to give you the best experience possible. Marcello knows the best places to go, which ones to avoid and how to spend the day to get an authentic Sicilian experience. This past summer, September 2015, Marcello arranged for us to spend a day going to the market and cooking with a local chef, which was amazing! I traveled with a group of students to Sicily several years ago and Marcello arranged cooking classes for a group of 20 year olds making Sicilian food aficionados out of the most resistant boys, planned visits to wineries on Mt. Etna, lunch at a farm near Siracusa, language lessons, accommodations…everything to make a disparate group of young adults interested and engaged. That was a true test…and he passed with flying colors!

Marcello’s intimate knowledge of the culture of Sicily is the reason to have him plan a trip. Anyone can book a hotel for you or tell you the sights to see in any given city…that’s easy. But to know what to do, eat and see in order to feel like a local yourself is what Marcello does best. Marcello’s knowledge of the history of the island together with his long-term relationships with people ensure that you get the most expert attention in whatever you want to do.
Mille grazie, Marcello!

Grand and glorious
Isa Engleberg | May 3, 2016

Marcello Baglioni made our 2015 trip to Sicily a wonder-filled journey and an indelible memory. We’d considered booking a small group tour and looked into several companies. Then we found Marcello. From the minute we arrived to the minute we waved farewell, we were in the capable hands of his exceptional guides and followed a plan that let us see more, do more, learn more, and eat much better than we would have on our own. And we did so without spending our budget on the very posh or the very touristy. We stayed in bed-and-breakfasts where we were treated royally and whose staff made sure we always had the best of all possible breakfasts before venturing beyond their doors.

We only stayed in Sicily for 12 days—and could have stayed another 12. Our friends are astonished: “What’s there to do in Sicily for that long a time?” Our answer: If you have a few hours, we’ll tell you and you’ll put it on your must-visit list.

We toured Palermo; went both east and west of the city. We saw the influence of the many “invaders” whose cultures mixed to create a unique people and place. We visited a remote goat farm and tasted the fresh milk and cheese. We ate lunches along with local wines that left us wanting a nap, but choosing instead to see splendid architecture, churches, cathedrals, historic sites, and tiny villages. From Palermo we headed south and then east to take in archeological sites we’d never heard of and now wonder why we hadn’t. Beautiful towns and landscapes rivalled those we’ve seen in dozens of other countries.

Palermo, Cefalu, Sant ‘Ambrogio, charming Catelbuono (where we ate manna from heaven, really!), Monreale’s glorious Cathedral begun in the 12th Century, Erice high above the sea, Segesta and its Greek Temple, Argrigento’s Valley of the Temples, Villa Romana del Casale, and Syracuse. All with wineries along the way for tasting and refreshing our zeal to see more. And great food.

In Syracuse we stayed in magical Ortygia. From there we journeyed to the vast Pantalica Valley and its ancient tombs, Baroque Noto, an olive farm, a fishing village, plus a day on Mt Etna with a perfect finale at Benati’s vineyards and winery. Plus an herb farm, an olive farm, Caltagirone and its stunning pottery and mosaics, two cooking lessons, and (did we say?) good food.

Our last two days in Syracuse were made for memories. First, we saw a modern production of Seneca’s version of the Euripides’ Greek tragedy Medea in an open, ancient Greek theater overlooking the city and the sea—with a clear sky and full moon above. The next day, we sailed the bay off Ortygia aboard a private sailboard and enjoyed a swim and, of course, a seaworthy lunch.

So how did we do all this in 12 days without a single flaw, bad moment, aching feet, or indigestion? It would have been impossible without the meticulous planning, entrée to rarely seen sites, Tommaso’s driving us beyond where the buses go, and brilliant guides such as Dr. Claudio Italo (archaeologist extraordinaire), Enrico (a caption worth more than his salt) and Marcello who joined us one afternoon.

If we had stayed in Sicily for three weeks on our own, we would have had a wonderful time, but nothing as grand and glorious as what we now call The Marcello Experience.

We were so pleased with our trip
Joseph McBrine | April 6, 2016

Having been to Italy several times my husband and I had never had the pleasure of exploring Sicily. Not sure where to start in planning our trip we decided to go with Wendy Perrin’s trusted travel expert for Sicily, Marcello Baglioni. I can only say that without him we would never have had the wonderful experience that we did. We started the process by telling him some of the things we wanted to see and do during our time there. He worked his magic and put together an amazing self-drive trip for us. We visited a working dairy farm–(and enjoyed a delicious meal there!), had a private guided tour of the Valley of the Temples in Agrigento, took a private cooking class with a well known local chef in Siracusa, and enjoyed an informative, as well as beautiful, hike on Mt Etna with a volcanologist. In addition Marcello took our trip to the 21st century by creating a personalized google map that we could access anywhere with our mobile phones. With this tool we were able to easily navigate between cultural attractions, as well as recommended restaurants, cafes, and museums he personally highlighted for us, using the GPS on our phone. We were so pleased with our trip I recommended his services to a colleague who just came back from his own special journey to Sicily. Bravo Marcello!

Absolutely wonderful experiences
Jan Heininger and Jamie Reuter | March 4, 2016

Marcello organized our Sicily trip in April 2011 and was one of the first of Wendy’s Trusted Travel Experts we used. We decided on the trip only a couple of months ahead of time and felt overwhelmed by choices. So we contacted Marcello. He introduced us to the concept of Slow Travel (see his note on Biggest Rookie Mistake) — travel less, see more in depth. The trip he organized for us was packed with absolutely wonderful experiences we never could have had on our own. We focused principally on southeastern Sicily and had terrific guides, wonderful cooking classes, a great hike on Mount Etna, magnificent cheese, chocolate and wine tastings, great horseback riding and one of the most charming hotel stays we’ve ever had — a room in an Ortigia (Siracusa) hotel that had an enormous private terrace with sofas, tables and chairs and a huge, very private hot tub overlooking the ocean that took all our aches away after long days hiking, sightseeing, cooking, eating and horseback riding. (We also got to Agrigento and Palermo and were in Palermo for Good Friday confraternity processions.) Marcello is a charming man (he met us for coffee one day) and we are very grateful to him for introducing us to Slow Travel. We have incorporated it into virtually all our subsequent trips — many organized by more of Wendy’s excellent Trusted Travel Experts. Thank you, Marcello. This is an overdue thank you note to you.

Airline Travel

Philadelphia Airport Layovers: The Best Way to Spend Them

Brook Wilkinson | March 10, 2016

Family Travel

Do’s and Don’ts for Your Trip to London

Charlie Baker | September 13, 2016

What to Book Now

The Best Trips to Book in September: What to Lock in Now

Brook Wilkinson | August 18, 2017

  • Have you returned from a trip arranged by this Trusted Travel Expert?

    If so, please leave a review of your experience so your fellow travelers can decide whether this travel planner is right for them. Include your name (because anonymous reviews are not fair), the month/year of your trip, the destination(s) you traveled to, and your advice for anyone who is considering hiring this travel planner. If you’d prefer to share your review privately, email Wendy.