Make Your Next Trip Extraordinary

Went well beyond our expectations to create a purely magical and moving experience that we will never forget…
Christina Nester | June 12, 2019

Our trip of a lifetime to France and to attend the 75th Commemoration of D-Day was a spectacular, mind-blowing experience and one we will never forget. Jack and Michael’s team designed an outstanding travel itinerary that met every request we made for our trip and then went beyond.

First, the places we stayed in Paris and Normandy were exceptional. The hotels in Paris, the Grand Hotel du Palais Royal and the Hotel Relais Christine were beautiful, well located and very welcoming. Our very favorite was a charming find, Les Lilas de Bellefontaine. A charming B&B located in Bayeaux. The owners, Catherine and Serge were so very welcoming, gracious and generous that it was hard to leave because they became family.

The guides arranged for us in Paris, and Normandy were so valuable to showing us around and maximizing our experience with their incredible knowledge and insights that brought every experience more life and color. Caroline is a treasure and felt like family when she saw us off to Honfleur. Damien showed us a wonderful time as we sampled Camembert cheese and Calvedos wines. The true highlight was Vanessa and Geert who toured us the landing beaches, especially Omaha Beach. Gerrt took the time to add his research of my father’s movements on June 6th, 1944 adding color and dimension to the facts.

I want to add that we were not notified until June 5th that we had tickets to attend the 75th Commemoration and I emailed Marcello and a driver was arranged with a pick up time to get us to the shuttle pick up area the very next morning.

Jack, Michael and Marcello, listened to what we wanted from the trip, listened to our feedback as the trip took form and went well beyond our expectations to create a purely magical and moving experience that we will never forget. Gratitude beyond measure to them. And thank you for the flower to welcome us home. Gratitude and respect to each of you for creating a trip of a lifetime.

Other special experiences included meeting with an olive grower for a tour of her olive trees…
Lisa Newmark | June 8, 2019

Michael Eloy recently helped us plan and guided us through our recent trip to Provence. We were 2 couples who have traveled together many times over the last 35 years, and have previously used travel planners with much success. This trip was no exception. Michael and his team (Marcello) worked closely with us to first educate us about the possibilities available to us for a week in Provence, then suggested a wonderful itinerary that we tweaked together until we were all pleased. He suggested several hotels for our stay, and we ended up in charming places for 4 nights in St. Remy and 3 nights in Menerbes. He also recommended restaurants for both lunch and dinner and they were all excellent. He also coordinated our train travel from Paris to Avignon, and arranged for our rental car and private drivers as needed. All of this went off like clockwork.

Over the course of the week our time was divided between time when we did not have private guides and time when we did, and we really enjoyed this balance. When we did not have guides, Michael’s team provided us with very good background information, suggestions on how to spend our time and good directions, information about parking, and all we needed to feel like we could get around ourselves with confidence. The tour guides that we did have were knowledgeable and interesting, and we enjoyed our time with them. On two of our days, Michael himself was our guide, and those days were most enjoyable. A highlight of our trip was a full day of touring by bicycle, led by Michael, covering almost 50 km from our hotel in Menerbes. None of us had been on bikes in years, but after a few minutes of a refresher course, off we went on what turned out tho be a great, memorable once in a lifetime experience! Other special experiences that Michael arranged for us included meeting with an olive grower for a tour of her olive trees, a first hand explanation of how olive oil is produced in Provence, and a tasting of her products right in the middle of the olive trees! We were also treated to a cheese tasting in the private tasting room (more like a cave) with the owner of a notable cheese shop in St. Remy, which of course included tasting some Rose as well.

Provence in mid May was filled with blooming poppy fields and beautiful wild iris everywhere you looked. Our trip was everything we had hoped for and more, and much of that was due to the excellent planning and guidance by Michael and his team. We highly recommend their services, and believe that they added much value to our trip.

I had a few places I particularly wanted to visit and they not only incorporated my ideas but made some great recommendations.
Paula Pumphrey | June 3, 2019

Jack Dancy and Marcello Glo were wonderful to work with. I had a few places I particularly wanted to visit and they not only incorporated my ideas but made some great recommendations.

The Trip Piglet they put together not only had the itinerary but recommended walking tours and restaurants. I plan on keeping it and hopefully using the walking tour guides on a future trip to France. Their pre trip package also included a book on French history which I really enjoyed reading.

Our guides Isabelle and Aline were very knowledgeable and open to all our suggestions. Sam, our main driver also made a couple wonderful recommendations on where to eat and suggested stopping at a quirky little house museum in Chartres.

The Piglet contained all the contact information we needed and came in handy when we had to contact our airport driver when we were delayed with baggage issues.

I would absolutely recommend Jack Dancy and his team for travels through France.

Boat trips, wine tours, croissant baking classes!
Elaine Patterson | May 24, 2019

We turned to Jack and Michael when my husband and I wanted to take a trip to France with some very specific interests in WWI and WWII sites. We’d been to some of the locations before, but wanted to return and “do them right” with more time and excellent guides. I contacted them and was pleased to see that they started the process with a couple of phone calls in which they asked a lot of questions about us (our likes/dislikes, goals, styles of travel) in order to customize and personalize the trip. The plan they created not only covered the items on our wish list, but included many suggestions for activities (boat trips, wine tours, croissant baking classes!) and places that we would never have found on our own. Everything was planned, including restaurant suggestions (and reservations), and the package we received before departure was as complete as anything we’ve ever received. Once the trip began, Jack and Michael’s staff were in touch with us, to check on things and to quickly resolve questions or last minute minor hiccups that are bound to happen whenever you travel. We just returned home and the trip was everything we’d hoped for and more. Fabulous guides, extraordinary special activities, great advice. Throughout the experience, from initial contact through the trip itself, we felt like we were the only clients they had to worry about. Thanks so much to Michael and Marcello and everyone who made it all happen for us.

The private boat rides in Paris and Amsterdam are a great way to see the cities…
Scott Coleman | May 22, 2019

Excellent job working with us to plan a trip for our needs/wants. All the hotels/tour guides/restaurant recommendations worked out very nicely. We liked the neighborhood for the hotel in Paris, quieter and not as touristy. Same for Amsterdam, really nice staff at the hotel, good choice. We only had one negative with one of our group not picked up at the Paris airport, but when contacted about the issue, the transportation company rectified the situation and showed up at the hotel to pay for the cab ride, and the tour company paid for a nice lunch.

For those specifically interested in the US campaign at Normandy, the guide (Mark Lane) was really great. Also the private boat rides in Paris and Amsterdam are a great way to see the cities.

Highlights included a food tour, riding around Paris in 1950s-era Citroens, a Basquiat show at Fondation Louis Vuitton, an old-fashioned circus…
Sarina Vetterli | March 28, 2019

We traveled to Paris and Chamonix during the Christmas 2019 holiday, and used Jack Dancy as our travel planner. My initial conversation with Jack took place several months before our trip, and he asked excellent questions to get an idea of what kind of trip I wanted for my family (my husband and I, and our three boys ages 17/14/9). I was really excited about his ideas and depth of knowledge. Over the next few months we decided on lodging, a really important piece of the trip, and Jack did not disappoint! He found us an incredible apartment in Paris in the 6th arr. The location and beauty of the apartment turned out to be one of our favorite things about the trip. He also found us a good place in Chamonix, although our lodging choices there were limited by the length of our trip, as we did not meet the minimum stay requirements during the holidays. I was grateful for Jack’s persistence on this point; we would have been really frustrated if we had tried to find Chamonix lodging on our own.

With the lodging secured, we turned our attention to the itinerary planning. With a city like Paris, the options can be overwhelming. Jack put together a pretty good itinerary, with plenty of information on the various neighborhoods and cultural attractions. It was a bit frustrating to get a hold of Jack at times during the planning process. I think his company is a wildly popular travel planner so it’s definitely worth using them, but be patient with response times. Of course, they handle lots of different locations, so if you’re heading elsewhere you will probably have a different experience with your planner.

The actual trip went relatively smoothly. It’s a challenge to travel with kids of various ages (especially teens) but we managed to keep the whole family interested throughout the trip. Highlights included a food tour, riding around Paris in 1950s-era Citroens, a Basquiat show at Fondation Louis Vuitton, an old-fashioned circus, an excellent walking itinerary in the Marais, and a Christmas Eve choral program at a nearby cathedral. In Chamonix we loved taking the cable car to Aiguille du Midi, skiing (guides are a must!), and the aprés ski scene.

Jack and other planners from his team were readily available to us during our trip. When a question or concern arose, I received quick responses from them.

I would recommend Jack for complex trips involving more than one destination, first-time travel to a destination, or groups with different ages and interests.

We LOVE the hotel and restaurant recommendations in Paris
Deborah Wente | November 18, 2018

There was some turnover during the planning of the trip, it was not a major issue but may have caused some slight delays in communication. We had gone back to Jack and his team because we so enjoyed working with Simon last year, this year felt a little less personal. Nothing bad, just a little less.

We LOVE the hotel and restaurant recommendations in Paris, and in fact stayed and ate there two years in a row.

One of the things that I find most valuable about using a TTE is the support on the ground. Our flight was 4 hrs delayed arriving in Paris, I emailed Marcello and by the time we landed she had notified the driver, and changed our restaurant reservation. It gives me great peace of mind to have that on the ground support.

Another thing I find valuable about using a local expert is letting us know about things that we may not find on our own. One of the highlights of our trip was the Carrieres de Lumieres, and I don’t think I would have found it on my own.

Great hotel choice in Arles. Also, we are very simple eaters and Jack’s team easily responded to my request to change the style of restaurants recommended.

All in all, it was a great trip! Thinking Bordeaux for next fall.

Jack put together a fantastic itinerary
Mike and Molly Hartmann | October 21, 2018

We just returned from a two week trip to France. In planning the trip with Jack Dancy and his team we explained we wanted to focus on wine, history, and culture. Jack put together a fantastic itinerary including stops in Paris, Champagne, Alsace, Burgundy, and the Loire River Valley. I cannot imagine a better, well-planned trip than what we experienced. Every detail of the trip from hotels, to drivers, to tour guides and meals was well thought out and exactly what we were looking for. Jack’s particular knowledge and experience with the wine guides in each region was especially helpful as they were the best we have ever used. With any trip, things came up along the way and the Trufflepig team immediately responded to every situation as it arose. We cannot recommend Jack and his team highly enough and wouldn’t think about making another trip to France without including them.

Jack is one of your best travel experts we have ever used. He was great to work with pre-trip, recommended great guides, and was extremely responsive throughout the trip as we canceled dinner plans at the last minute several times. Before the trip, they sent our train tickets, their extremely detailed itinerary “Piglet” book, and two books on wine and wine history…no one has ever sent us books pre-trip! He and his team are one of your best and the reason we use your travel professionals whenever we travel. Thanks for a great recommendation.

We’d tried, with no success, to get in on our own.
Patricia Campbell | December 11, 2017

Jack’s colleague Simon put together a fabulous French trip for my husband’s 70th birthday. We wanted to attend the annual Christie’s wine auction benefiting Hospices de Beaune, and knew we would need expert help as we’d tried, with no success, to get in on our own. Simon took care of everything for us.

We were in a beautiful hotel (his pick), he got us lunch/dinner reservations in the most fabulous restaurants, and best of all he got us tickets to the wine auction and tickets to the incredible Dinner of the Dukes at Drouhin Cellars. And if that wasn’t enough, Simon set us up with a private guide to go to the Montrachet villages and have private tastings. Sublime!

We ended our trip in Paris, and although we had told Simon the hotel and restaurants we wanted to visit, he set everything up and made sure the hotel knew it was a birthday trip. Everything was fabulous.

We had great drivers picking us up and transporting us from airport to train station to hotel, and back. We had phone numbers at our fingertips in case anything was not right. All in all, we were taken care of beautifully and loved every minute of the trip.

Thank you, Wendy Perrin, for introducing us to Jack and Simon.

It is such a luxury, without a luxury price
Deborah Wente | November 16, 2017

I recently traveled to Paris and Burgundy France with my 79-year-old Mom, my niece, a friend, a friend of my Moms and her daughter-in-law, ages ranging from 17 to 79.

We were met at the airport by a wonderful driver who transported us to our hotel. Later in the trip, he took us to the train station, boarded the train with us and loaded our bags. He was the best!

Simon on Jack’s team organized a wonderful blend of planned activities in Paris, with time for us to explore on our own with the help of walking guides that pointed out cafes, shops, and other points of interest.

We toured the catacombs with a wonderful guide, Caroline, took a pastry cooking class (where I learned enough to make vanilla cream filled choux when I returned home), took a private cruise on the Seine. Restaurant reservations were appreciated, but we found that we were happiest with bread and cheese in our hotel so canceled most with no problem.

The next portion of our trip was in Beaune. Simon arranged for private wine tasting – what an experience! We had the chance to chat with some of the premier winemakers in Burgundy. A walk from village to village through the wines with Laura taught us so much about the particular culture of winemaking in Burgundy. A day in Dijon was well spent.

We traveled in November 2017 – not an ideal time weather wise, but great to not have to deal with crowds. We plan to travel to France again next November and will use Simon to help make it extra special. There were a couple of little glitches, eg., we had the wrong address for the cooking class, but there was always someone available on his team to help us out.

It is such a luxury, without a luxury price, to have someone arrange for pickups, transfers, restaurants, hotels. We had a GREAT time!

Out of our "normal" zone
Christopher Herzner | November 9, 2017

Jack’s colleague Simon was great, and pushed us out of our “normal” zone. We did things on this vacation we never would have done or known we could do (i.e. Fencing lesson, and kayaking down the Loire). His understanding of how we like to travel or hotels we like to stay in really showed. I loved all the hotels, and the locations of these hotels were perfect. I highly recommend Simon.

Good listener and very responsive
Patricia Rose | October 15, 2017

Simon Aplin was a good listener and very responsive to questions and feedback as we planned the trip. Importantly, his feedback proved to be accurate. The hotel and restaurant bookings were interesting and varied but at a uniform quality level. The guides were consistently excellent. Suggestions for walks and places to visit were well thought out. The pace of the trip was reasonable given our time limitations. Simon took the trouble to meet us when we were in Beaune. The office staff in Canada were also very professional and responsive. A very good description of the trip would be “smooth and very fun.” We will definitely use them again if we decide to do another major trip in a place with which we are unfamiliar.

A couple of really big surprises
Michael Silverstein | August 24, 2017

I wanted to take my son on a World War II battlefield tour of Europe–we went to Normandy (US & British beaches, Pegasus Bridge, Pont du Hoc, St. Mere Eglise, German gun positions, US cemetery and other sites such as Bayeux Tapestry, Normandy Museum etc), Luxembourg Cemetery, Bastogne, Maginot Line, Verdun (WWI), Arnhem and Nijmegen, Dutch National Liberation Museum, a Dutch concentration camp, Munich, Nuremberg and Dachau.

I contacted Wendy Perrin and she made the introduction to Jack and Simon. I explained we are history buffs and like to eat. Simon took care of everything–I cashed in some frequent flyer miles to get us to Europe and Simon took over from there. He arranged everything from pickup at the airport to all our hotels, transportation and most importantly guides. Simon also made reservations at restaurants for us but also left days where we had no reservations (he gave us some recommendations). He recommended excellent hotels and they were all in great locations where we could walk out of the hotel and walk to about 90% of all our restaurants. This allowed us to also see the local area. His guides were all excellent. They would pick us up from the hotel and double check what we wanted to see, make any changes (Nice flexibility which came in handy in Arnhem and Nijmegen as well as Munich) and go on from there. I did not want any tour cut short due to time and that never happened–we got to see everything we wanted (plus more) and there were a couple of really big surprises. You have to go to Fort de Fermont at the Maginot line which is outstanding–we had a private tour and it was fantastic. We wanted to see Nijmegen and the guide made an immediate adjustment and recommended the National Liberation Museum which was fantastic and got to meet and discuss with a gentleman who personally witnessed US paratroopers landing on his farm. Truly a wonderful experience and an honor.

This was almost a 2-week trip and they provided all train tickets and sent them ahead of time to us. Any last minute tickets were given to us by our guides. Three of the hotels were 4 or 5-star properties. There was 1 hotel we choose as it was perfectly located but more “rustic”–we really needed just a roof over our head so it worked out well (in Metz)–it was 5 minutes walking to 30+ restaurants and was a great location to get to our other sites. Overall very pleased–was a trip of a lifetime. Simon provided a piglet (love the name) that had day by day, contact names, etc. So, in the end, we covered a lot of ground (France, Luxembourg, Belgium, Netherlands & Germany) but very doable.

Our travel took place at end of July and ended middle of August. None of the sites were crowded (even though it’s holiday time in Europe). Simon recommended and made reservations at a number of restaurants and they were all excellent–we had flexibility (which we did a couple of nights) where we cancelled the reservation he had made (In Europe they hold that table no matter what so it’s a courtesy to do that) and tried Indonesian food in Amsterdam (try the rice table–its a multi course dish) and Italian food in Metz (yes–I know it’s France but there are some good restaurants that serve other nationalities besides French). If you are interested in WWII (and WWI) Simon and his team do a great job!

We learned so much!
Nicole Harris | August 19, 2017

When we landed in France, I realized I had left our three sets of train tickets at home. Simon was on a family vacation. It was a Saturday and Zoe was not in the office. They did provide an emergency number. Our driver that was taking us to the train station called the emergency number and resolved everything. It was excellent service!!

Our guides in Bordeaux and Normandy were excellent. We learned so much!

They did reserve the Jules Verne restaurant for us. I was delighted! In addition upon arriving home, Trufflepig sent flowers to welcome us home. What a surprise!

Very patient, as we had numerous emails
Jim Roberts-Miller | June 19, 2017

Working with Simon was rewarding. He was very patient, as we had numerous emails and several conversations as to just what I and my family wanted to see. And of course, those plans changed quite a bit (at one point we thought of popping into Germany a bit, but eventually had to drop that as adding in too much). The “piglet” listing all destinations, hotels, suggested dining, and more importantly, providing every contact phone number and email one might need, was incredibly useful. He worked with us on hotels (amazing hotels), sights, and saw to it that every place we went to eat (and they were all amazing, food-wise) was informed of our dietary needs. And the guides on our guided tours were all wonderful. So, thumbs up!

A great mix of soccer, culture, and history spread across Paris, Lyon, and Marselle
John Burger | May 3, 2017

Wow. What a great experience.  Simon helped create something really special for my son and I when we went to the Euro championships in July of 2016. He created a great mix of soccer, culture, and history spread across Paris, Lyon, and Marseille. Simon found wonderful little side trips and great hotels that made every day a highlight and really captured a local feel. His attention to detail really made a difference.

We stayed in several centuries-old hotels that inspired awe
Lois and Steve Chess | October 21, 2016

We were very pleased with all the arrangements and felt Jack and Simon listened to our wants and desires and filled them. We stayed in several centuries-old hotels that inspired awe. The restaurant line up was terrific. The guides and activities oriented around wine and food and were varied and interesting (we learned a lot about Burgundy wine and history), and delicious!

Road trip in France and Italy
Wendela Roberts | August 3, 2016

In May 2016, we spent a couple of weeks on a road trip in France and Italy. Many of the arrangements were made by Simon Aplin on Jack’s team. Not all of them, since I have family in Paris and Milan, but in between those two cities, Simon planned a wonderful route for us. Before we left he had asked us in detail about our interests and preferences in order to tailor the trip to our tastes. After picking up the car in Paris, we toured the Côte d’Or for a few days. We then drove to Milan via Lac du Bourget in the French Alps, where we stayed in a wonderful old-world hotel with a view over the lake and a Michelin-starred restaurant. After Milan we spent several days in the Luberon area of Provence, where we visited small towns, restaurants and chateaux we’d never have known about if it hadn’t been for the ‘Piglet’. This is the comprehensive travel guide that Simon put together for us, with suggestions on routes, the local culture in each area, attractions, food, local manners and phrases to use. It was not only useful but frequently hilarious, and acted as our constant companion on the trip. Thanks for a great adventure, Simon!

Trip from Normandy south to Toulouse
Roger Kromm | August 3, 2016

We worked with Jack Dancy for our trip from Normandy south to Toulouse in May. Our trip started with a little taxi glitch due to a strike, but we were directed to a different town and different rental company. Our accommodations were nice and the B&B owners were all excellent. Our restaurant reservations didn’t work out so well but the recommended restaurants were all top-notch.

An outstanding trip
George Thompson | July 20, 2016

Jack and his colleague Simon Aplin planned a great trip to France for my wife and me. Our guide in Normandy was truly remarkable in his knowledge of, and love for, his subject, and the hotels in both Normandy and Paris were comfortable, well-located, and extremely warm and welcoming.

We thoroughly enjoyed the entire crew of our barge in Provence, the Napoleon. The crew went out of their way to make us feel at home and catered to our every whim, including some things that probably weren’t on the schedule. By the time our week was over, we felt that we were leaving family behind. Although everyone on the boat did an exemplary job, two people in particular stood out. Robert, the chef, far exceeded my expectations (which were pretty high going in) for the creativity and variety of his menu selections; he was even able to accommodate my wife’s faux-vegetarian concerns with a great deal of originality. Louise, our tour guide, bus driver, and food and wine shopper, seemed to be everywhere and was more than capable of handling everything that was thrown at her. I have no doubt that if the captain had awoken one morning with a bad head, she would have driven the boat.

The only slight blemish on our trip (and I almost hesitate to mention it) relates to the fact that, upon our arrival in Paris, we were taken for a French taxi ride—both figuratively and literally. We followed Simon’s instructions about locating the taxi stand and were pointed to a specific taxi by the starter. The driver told us he was also an Uber driver and he didn’t have a (visible) meter, which should have been my first clue. To make a long story short, our trip to the train station cost us €120 and when I told him I was expecting to pay around €55, he attributed it to the “traffic,” in spite of the fact that we still made the trip in about an hour (including the time it took him to generously stop at an ATM for me to get the money to pay him), as expected. This disparity is further borne out by the fact that our ride from the hotel to CDG on Sunday morning took about an hour and cost €59, pretty much as expected. Reminds one a little of the Biblical phrase about “finding a stranger and taking him in. . . .”

In any case, it was an outstanding trip, and we appreciate Simon’s efforts on our behalf and his attention during the trip.

Prompt, efficient and thorough
Tina Blum | June 1, 2016

We used Simon on Jack’s team to help to plan a driving trip from Normandy to Paris. From my very first email interaction, through the series of phone calls we had, he was prompt, efficient and thorough. He made sure to suggest a few “off the beaten path” experiences for us, as well as making sure we saw the important historical sites along the way. The guides he booked for us were outstanding! Simon is one of the reasons I never plan a trip without a WOW Expert.

Total knowledge of each market we visited, from Normandy to Loire to Bordeaux
Jeff Elgin | May 21, 2016

Jack Dancy was great to work with. He had a total knowledge of each market we visited, from Normandy to Loire to Bordeaux and arranged everything to our complete delight. I was especially pleased with the hotels he picked – fantastic roomy rooms so we never felt cramped while traveling. The guides he selected for us at our stops were top notch and spoke excellent English. Overall, this trip was a 10!!!

Cruises

Canal Barging: The Cruise Experience You’ve Been Missing Out On

by Billie Cohen | September 3, 2015

Travel Tips

Overseas Credit Card Purchases: Which Currency Should I Pay With?

by Billie Cohen | September 25, 2017

Destination

What Ubuntu Means and Why It Made My Night

by Wendy Perrin | April 15, 2015

Ask Wendy

Tips for a Quick Trip to London

by Wendy Perrin | May 16, 2014

Airline Travel

How to Deal with Flight Delays, Cancellations, and More

by Billie Cohen | January 22, 2016

Destination

Cuba: Why 2015 Is The Year To Go

by Wendy Perrin | January 5, 2015

  • Did you use The WOW List to plan a trip with this Trusted Travel Expert?

    If you’ve returned from a trip arranged via Wendy’s WOW system, please leave a review of your experience so your fellow travelers can decide whether this trip planner is right for them. Include your name (because anonymous reviews are not fair), the month/year of your trip, the destination(s) you traveled to, and your advice for anyone who is considering using this trip designer.  If you’d prefer to share your review privately, email Wendy