Make Your Next Trip Extraordinary

A personal insight into Vietnamese culture
Sara Gowing | March 23, 2017

Our travel time to Vietnam was limited (11 days, including fly time from the East Coast), but Sandy put together an itinerary that allowed us to experience the best that the country had to offer. From the traditions of the Old Quarter in Hanoi to the sleekness of Ho Chi Minh City, with beautiful countryside vistas and relaxing beach time in between, our trip was amazing! In addition to being extremely knowledgeable, the local guides he lined up were warm and personable and gave us a personal insight into Vietnamese culture. We highly recommend working with Sandy and his team!

Able to provide important feedback
Kathy and Harry Budge | March 14, 2017

During the planning process, Sandy listened to what was important to us when travelling, and was able to provide important feedback based on his experiences in SE Asia. Our trip to Thailand, Laos and Cambodia was exactly what we wanted. His guides are some of the best we have had, and we have traveled all over the world. They were prompt, courteous, attentive and extremely knowledgeable. We really appreciated their flexibility as well! We were able to change the plan based on our energy levels, etc. His guides in Laos brought us to their home for dinner ( we assisted with the meal prep of local Laos dishes) and afterwards many of their family members joined us to give us a wonderful and very memorable Buddhist blessing ceremony. It was a highlight!

I will definitely use Sandy and his team in the future when we travel to SE Asia! I would highly recommend Sandy and Asia Desk to other travelers!

"Authentic"
Wayne Fulcher | February 21, 2017

We just returned from a 6 week introduction to Southeast Asia – Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos, Northern Thailand and Myanmar. Our objective was to get an “authentic” taste of the region that took into account our age (70’s) and curiosity. Sandy with his suggested destinations, activities in each and team of guides and providers delivered the goods wonderfully! The best things we got from our trip were valuable learning (history,cultural differences, etc) and a more comprehensive understanding of the economic and cultural dynamics of the region. Thank you Sandy.

First rate
Richard Broock | February 4, 2017

Just returned from 3 weeks in Vietnam, Cambodia, Thailand and Laos. Sandy is extremely knowledgeable about SE Custom designed travel with personal guides and drivers. Recommendations were right on. Seamless arrangements. Guides were all local and very knowledgeable and able to make us “feel” the culture of the country. First rate in every respect. Highest recommendation.

Way beyond our expectations
Jeff Forgash | February 4, 2017

We returned from our 2 week trip to Northern Thailand, Camobodia and Laos arranged by Sandy Ferguson and his team. We had initially scheduled the trip a year previously but due to scheduling conflicts had to postpone a year. That allowed us the time to really spend some quality time with Sandy to focus on how to optimize our experience in the 2 week period. His recommendations made a significant impact on the quality of the trip. We could have never have planned the trip without Sandy in having the outcome we experienced. Way beyond our expectations in respect to destinations, guides and our ability to connect personally with them added to the experience. The boutique properties were awesome and made a huge difference in comfort and experience. We typically make our own arrangements on many of our journeys to provide the freedom of exploring without any restrictions but in this case having Sandy guide us made the trip a home run. The people, countries, cultures and experiences were truly magnificent.

A highlight of our trip
Sheila Cahnman | February 3, 2017

We just returned from a two week trip to Northern Thailand, Laos, Siem Riep and Bangkok & vicinity planned by Sandy and Asia Desk. It was an amazing experience that including all very knowledgeable private guides and drivers and beautiful unique hotels. We especially liked the Mekong two day cruise to Luong Prabang , a city that was a highlight of our trip. Our tour guide grew up there and provided special experiences with family and friends that we will always remember. Also our tour guide at Angkor was wonderful – navigating the site so we for the most part, missed the tourist crowds. Bangkok was our least favorite – a day in town is all you need, though our hotel on the river was nice and unique, Asia Desk’s attention to detail made all the difference.

Careful during our search for an agent
Joan Berger | January 30, 2017

In Vietnam, Cambodia, and Laos, Sandy Ferguson planned extraordinary experiences! He did what other agents did not do: he listened carefully to what we wanted to see and planned a truly custom trip for us. He cautioned us about places that were crowded with tourists, and instead he sent us to lovely villages where people were planting vegetables, running fish farms, and weaving with river grasses. Those unique visits on dirt paths lined by simple homes (most without running water or electricity) were exactly what we requested.

His guides in every spot were intelligent, informed, and enthusiastic about their histories. Sandy encouraged us to make a stop in Hue, which gave us the opportunity to see this historical city that was an elegant capitol city and that is being restored to its original beauty by UNESCO. Sandy’s guide helped us understand all the history of the country as well as the Buddhist philosophy as represented in the temples and in everyday life.

Every hotel property was beautiful and well-located with stunning furnishing and welcoming staffs. He scheduled our stops around the cruising dates on the Mekong River so that we could see much rural life during three days, with fascinating side trips each morning and afternoon from our boat, the elegant Aqua Mekong.

At Angkor Wat his guide paced each visit so we had enough time at each fabulous sight, seeing the very best temples at a relaxed pace, while avoiding times that mobs of tourists were present. Each day seemed better than the previous one and left us thinking it “couldn’t get better!” Sandy knows each city because he lived in the area for years–so he is invested in sharing the best and most fitting experiences for clients of all ages.

We were careful during our search for an agent because we were investing a substantial sum in this trip. And he delivered everything he promised. Each arrangement he made for us–internal air flights, entrances to all sights, delicious lunch stops, and quiet rooms– was smooth and well-organized. We departed from the USA on Thanksgiving 2016 and spent 18 days without a single worry. Anyone who trusts Asia Desk with their travel plans will undoubtedly be thrilled with their experiences.

Almost like family
John Britton | January 21, 2017

We just completed a Laos/Thailand trip, our third Southeast Asia tour with Sandy. As always, the guides (almost like family), hotel selection (with detailed room selection) and flexible venues were excellent.

I would not have chosen on my own
Richard Dlugos | January 21, 2017

Our recent trip to Southeast Asia, arranged by Sandy Ferguson, was spectacular.

Everything about this trip more than met our expectations. I would say that it greatly surpassed our expectations. Neither of us had ever been to Asia although we have travelled extensively in South America and somewhat in Africa and Europe. We were in awe of the sights that we saw, the people that we met—especially our guides—and the food that we ate. I have been working to put some order to the thousands of pictures that we brought back and I’m only as far as the Mekong Delta, which is about only a week and a half into the trip.

We were very impressed with our eleven flights that comprised the trip. Cathay Pacific was exceptional, so much better than the American airlines that we have travelled. Our Vietnam Airline, which we used for most of the internal flights, were all exceptional, as was Thai Airlines. We could not believe the level of service on even just an hour flight. In business class we always got linen placemats and napkins and some form of a regular meal. In the states, we would have had to bring our own bag of peanuts.

Although the trip from JFK to Hanoi for long and exhausting, it was manageable. One point about the schedule that I’d like to make is that although we often landed in a new city after nightfall and dark, we could get a full night’s sleep before going out exploring early the next day.

We both feel that we learned so much—primarily because of our guides’ expertise—that it was almost like taking a college course in the history, culture, architecture, traditions, religions, and cuisines of the places that we visited.

We started in Hanoi with Ken, who did a great job of acclimating us to Southeast Asia. We both found what we learned about the “American War” from the North Vietnam perspective eye-opening. One of the highlights was visiting the bunker under the Metropole Hotel where Joan Baez took shelter during one of the bombings. All of the places that we visited were fascinating, including the Old Quarter—our cyclo ride was most memorable—the Ethnology Museum, the water puppets performance, which I would not have chosen on my own to attend but that turned out to be fascinating, and the Ho Chi Min Monument.

One really special part of the trip that you arranged were the local lunches with the various guides. We have travelled with several private tour companies but none of them did the local lunches. What a great way to really experience a country/region like the locals. We loved having the Obama Combo at the very first place that Ken took us to. About the only suggestion I might have would be to put some comment into the itinerary about how it’s okay to try food at these local places. Every piece of information that we have gotten prior to these exotic adventure trips warns about eating local food. It took me a while to realize that no guide was going to suggest that we try food that he thought might make us ill.

The seaplane ride to Halong Bay was very cool even though it was a cloudy day. We’ve never landed on water before. The Au Co cruise was exceptional, especially the people who took care of us on board. Speaking of the people that we met, both Greg and I continue to comment about how nice everyone was, how much they wanted us to like their country and culture and food, how hard they worked to make our experience so pleasurable and memorable.

Our second guide, Ngoc, accomplished a truly impressive feat—he made us forget about the downpour during our first day in Hue. The weather was not great while we were in Central Vietnam but Ngoc helped us to maximize the time that we spent there, including our ride on the Perfume River to the Thien Mu Pagoda, the Citadel, the Forbidden City, and the Imperial Museum. Danang and Hoi An were both great too. We especially enjoyed Morning Glory, a local restaurant that Ngoc recommended. Our trip to My Son was very informative and got us ready for the Angkor Complex later in the trip. We also managed to see a Hindu dance/theatre performance that was very impressive especially since we saw it out in the jungle. One of the highlights of the entire trip, though, was our visit with Ngoc to the Zen Meditation Hose in Hue where we had a fantastic vegetarian lunch followed by a most tranquil meditation ceremony. Neither of us had ever experieinced such a session before. In addition, the house and grounds were beautiful.

Ho Chi Min City was a very different experience because it was such a bustling metropolis. On our second day, we discussed with Henry about doing the Cu Chi Tunnels or the Mekong Delta. Since we had visited the caves in the Marble Mountain in Danang with Ngoc, Henry suggested the Mekong and we are very glad we took his advice. We got to visit quite a few small villages, traveling by boat and horse-drawn carriages. It was very informative and fun.

Visiting Angkor Wat was really the genesis of this trip. I had wanted to see those ancient temples since I was young. It was right up there on my list with the Pyramids and Machu Picchu, so I was a bit concerned about my inflated expectations. No need for that. Our stay in Siem Reap was more than spectacular. I think the main reason for that was Ken Ya’s knowledge and experience. He knew when to go where for the three days that we were with him. His recommendation that we get up before dawn to experience the special Buddhist meditation ceremony at Phnom Krom. Your itinerary was definitely correct about its uniqueness.

Greg and I are still commenting that Ken Ya’s suggestion about the direction to visit Angkor Wat made that site so great because we came in opposite the way all the crowds were coming. And the sunlight was perfect for picture-taking, which, of course, will make my job of sorting photos from Siem Reap so much more difficult!

Other highlights form the Angkor Complex were enjoying drinks at sunset on the moat of Angkor Thom—Ken Ya really pours a gin and tonic!—and our tuk-tuk carriage ride out to Ta Prohm, Ta Nei, and Ta Ken our first morning in Siem Reap. After visiting Ta Nei, Ken Ya and our tuk-tuk driver arranged for a short break of local foods and beverages out in the jungle before heading on to another temple. We loved the longan berries that we had there and several other places. Every temple that we visited was different and beautiful in its own special way.

I had no preconceived notions about what we would see in Luang Prabang and Chiang Mai. I had never heard of either city before I saw your itinerary. What great times we had in both places. All our guides were wonderful but Ek was a standout. He simply went far beyond the usual expectations. For example, on our excursion to the waterfall, he brought us some delicious flan that he had made. All the places we visited with him were interesting and his steady stream of information was very helpful and really gave us a sense of the culture and history of Laos. Obviously, dinner at his and Paan’s house and his family’s Baci ceremony were a once-in-a-lifetime experience as was our visit to the All Lao Elephant Camp at Ban Noun. I had expected a short ride on the elephants, but our 45-minute trek, including crossing in the river, was outstanding.

Chiang Mai was exceptional as well. Just when I thought that I had seen enough temples, Nikki brought us up the mountain at sunset to Wat Pra Borommathat Doi Suthep and the next day to Wat Pra Singh the “Silver Temple” where we had a special blessing by the primary monk under a canopy of strings. Nikki also surprised us with a great trip on another horse-drawn carriage to Wiang Kum Kam on our way to the airport.

Pablo did an excellent job of taking us to see the highlights in a whirlwind trip of Bangkok, including the Emerald Buddha Temple and the Grand Palace, a long tail boat ride on the Chayo Phraya River, the Reclining Buddha Temple, and our day-trip to Ayuthaya.

When we got home, our friends asked us what was the highlight of the trip. We both said that the entire trip was the highlight! I would cite, though, that the people that we met were the real highlights. They made us feel welcome and a very real part of their culture and country.

Accommodations were terrific. I especially liked the Pillars House in Chiang Mai. Our “butler” there, Toto, was exceptionally helpful. Its setting was spectacular, as was La Residence, Anantara, the Park Hyatt Siem Reap, and the Luang Say Residence. And having dinner at a window table in Lord Jim’s in the Mandarin Oriental overlooking the bustling river Bangkok was unbelievable. Starting our trip in the historical wing of the Metropol in Hanoi was a great way to begin the trip. The only accommodation that I had a less than stellar opinion was the Caravelle in Saigon. While we were upgraded to an apartment suite, I didn’t think the service nor the view from our window was up to the level of the other accommodations.

Still, this was truly the trip of a lifetime.

Level of detail of the itinerary is exemplary
Liz and Marc Schnitzer | January 16, 2017

Northern Thailand, Laos, Cambodia (Siem Reap), Bangkok

When you have traveled a lot, to say that a trip may be the most remarkable you have ever taken is a pretty big statement. That four seasoned travelers, who have worked with many guides and specialists, agree wholeheartedly says even more. Wondrous aptly describes the countries we visited, but it was the high caliber planning and quality of the local hosts (guides), led by Sandy Ferguson and executed by the Asia Desk team, that resulted in 16 spectacular days. We highly endorse working with them.

Here are some reasons why:

Sandy grew up in and has lived all over the region. It is in his blood. He is not just sitting back and rolling out tried and true itineraries. He wants to open up this part of the world to you in the most fulfilling way possible. This is clear from the outset. We had numerous phone and email exchanges from which Sandy well synthesized the specific trip goals of four adults. Several draft itineraries were crafted from these conversations to get to our final one. This was not just a schedule of stops; it yielded many “wow” experiences.

The level of detail of the itinerary is exemplary and includes information about not only where you are going, but also photographs of each of the guides with their cell phone numbers and bios. There is a definite willingness and flexibility to change the itinerary at a moments notice depending on your desires or energy level on a particular day.

This is feasible in large part because of the quality of the local hosts who are part of the Asia Desk extended family and not random subcontractors. They are enthusiastic, responsive, warm, unique, and special. They welcomed us into their homes and spotted many reasons to stop spontaneously for a must-see experience. They love what they do.

We are so pleased with Sandy and Asia Desk that we already recommended them to friends and family for recent trips to Thailand and Vietnam. All returned raving about this team.

Definitely be going back to Southeast Asia
Peter Barker | January 16, 2017

We worked with Sandy to coordinate a trip to Vietnam for two weeks in late December through early January. The trip exceeded our exceptions. Everything was coordinated perfectly and unique to us. The guides were fantastic and they made the trip special. The last night riding around Saigon on a Vespa tour set up by Sandy was one of the highlights of our rip. We will definitely be going back to Southeast Asia and look forward to working with Sandy again.

NOT the typical first tour
Susan Nethero | November 4, 2016

He also suggested going to Thailand after our Vietnam segment and discouraged us from visiting the beaches in Philippines due to potential for weather problems. Boy, he was “right on” as a typhoon crossed through Philippines during our Vietnam visit so we appreciated his honesty! He recommended resort island we had not considered before- called the Pimalai in Koh Lanta Thailand — it was 85% of the experience of Aman resort at 1/3 the cost of Aman! (We told Sandy, we were Aman junkies ) he tried to offer a new place with same high quality of experience! We loved it!

Also the three guides were very thorough- friendly- and extremely focused on making us happy!
In hindsight, we probably would not have booked as many days with guides ( we were played out on history) and just needed more relaxation time! The guides took that feedback and helped us another ways like make restaurant recommendations and also booked spa facilities! His guides love him and they do right by him!

In route, Sandy also informed us about city and countrywide changes in Thailand with the Kings passing– likely closure of some palaces and temples that would have been normal tours. We had been to Bangkok a number of times, so we delighted in going places that are NOT the typical first tour! We definitely like the more unique exclusive places to visit and to meet the people !

Sandy was extremely thorough and very organized! Very fast on all follow-up and extremely knowledgeable about the region! He grew up in Bangkok! I would highly recommend Asia Desk!

A most magical trip.
Suzanne Anderson | August 17, 2016

If you want to visit Southeast Asia and don’t make you arrangements with Sandy Ferguson you are making a big mistake . Just returned from a most magical trip. We were cared for and informed at every part of our journey. Ready to do another.

Exceeded my high expectations!
Deborah Wente | May 29, 2016

My initial desire to go to Thailand was to interact with elephants. The experience suggested by Sandy Ferguson, Patara, exceeded my high expectations! It was a wonderful day interacting with elephants and their mahouts. Sandy also suggested we begin our trip on Ko Pha Ngan, which turned out to be a great way to adjust to the time difference and get introduced to Thailand. Our guide in the North, Nickie, was the best!

More than we could ever imagine.
Sally Silverman | March 17, 2016

I have enjoyed many trips enhanced by wonderful guides (and some made a little less perfect by guides who were not up to par). The most amazing guide I have ever had, however, was one who took every request into consideration, and listened to conversation to learn more about us and what we wanted to experience. We were teamed with Le Thi Hang for the Northern portion of a trip to Viet Nam, a trip arranged by Sandy Ferguson and Asia Desk (AWESOME!) Hang actually  stopped our driver in the middle of the road in Dien Bien Phu when she saw an engagement procession on a side street. We got out of the car, watched and followed as she explained the traditions to us. Some of the young men spoke with her and before we knew it, we were invited to the engagement party, and were honored guests! This is just one example of her willingness to go beyond the itinerary, and off of the schedule to make our trip more than we could ever imagine.

The experience he crafted was perfect
Charlie Mize | March 8, 2016

Sandy planned a honeymoon trip for me and my bride to Cambodia, Laos and Thailand (southern islands and Bangkok) in February – March of 2016. The experience he crafted was perfect – perfect in concept, orchestration, imagination and detail. I say this as a veteran traveler – I speak french and spanish, have worked and lived in Paris and have traveled throughout Europe, south and central America and to Hong Kong. Sandy’s work was the best I’ve had yet, and his in-country guides are thoughtful, dedicated folk who add their own magical touches to the experience. It is clear that he is very close to them and their families and cares a great deal about them. It is also very clear that he worked closely with them to make our experience into the adventure we’d hoped for. I thought it might be helpful to describe a few of his guides that met us along our journey.

Kheleur, our guide to Angkor Wat and Cambodia – welcoming, gentle, accommodating and masterful in his plans. Subject matter expert in the temples. We loved how he created seamless transitions between touring and our wild events (for example, candle-lit dinners on rural tropical estates, sunset cocktails on the water about Angkor Thom) as much as we loved the archeological tours, evening cruises and dinners themselves. The boat tour and the villa dinner merit special praise – he made them appear as if magically created. The midday respite to allow for physical training (and swimming and napping) was brilliant.

Ek and Paan, our guides in Luang Prabang and the Laos countryside – warm, kind, absurdly welcoming. We were treated as family – I felt unworthy! They gave us love and generosity. Ek sparkles with goodwill and joie-de-vivre. He also seems to know every single person in town. When we through a wrench the plans he had made for us (we changed a lunch site and some afternoon touring) he cheerfully accommodated – and facilitated – our wishes as if it were nothing at all.

Pablo, our guide in thailand and Bangkok – we loved Pablo. Enthusiastic, a careful listener, an eager and engaged teacher of Thai culture and history, a gentleman whose goodwill and blithe spirit are as radiant as his smile. I am sure he has brought hundreds to the same five temples, has taken the same longboat cruise every week for years, and could apply for permanent citizenship at the flower market. You would be unable to tell – at each stop of the white van, he would genuinely brighten as he shared our discovery of each new scene.

Truly, the journey Sandy crafted for us was educational, exciting, restorative. Cannot recommend highly enough.

We had an incredible experience
Susan Weiner | February 25, 2016

We had an incredible experience visiting Northern Thailand and an additional day in Bangkok.  In Chiang Mai and Chiang Rai our tour guide, Nikki, brought us to sights and restaurants we would never have dared to venture to on our own.  Her enthusiasm and love for country was evident throughout our visit. Nikki was attentive, could almost read our minds, and made our trip most memorable. From taking us to tiny specialty restaurants to arranging massages for us and even getting our laundry done after a day with the elephants, Nikki certainly contributed to our enjoyment of northern Thailand.  We also enjoyed our brief visit to Bangkok and learned a great deal from our guide Pablo. Asia Desk did an outstanding job putting together this trip for us.

Words cannot describe
Robert L | January 18, 2016

Truly awesome 16 days in Southeast Asia (December, 2015)

Words cannot describe our 16-day “trek” through Vietnam, Cambodia and Thailand, all professionally arranged through Sandy and his team. We generally like to plan our trips independently, however, trying to navigate Southeast Asia and fit everything we wanted to do in a somewhat limited time-frame would have been challenging, especially in unfamiliar countries. From our very first email encounter with Sandy to the many subsequent phone conversations with him assisting us with planning, to our wonderful in-country hosts in each of 5 different locations, every activity, every detail was executed flawlessly. We were concerned that we had created about an overloaded itinerary, but everything went smoothly and without a hitch. Having a private car made hopping from site to site extremely efficient, and we enjoyed the personalized tours and historical/cultural discussions everywhere we went. All the hosts were welcoming, enthusiastic and knowledgeable in their individual regions. While historical sites were important to us, the local food culture was equally important. We wanted to dine where the locals dined, and our hosts pointed us in the right direction. In Hội An, our host even arranged for us to take a Vietnamese cooking class. (This past week, we made the Phở that we learned to make in Hội An!)

Sandy’s great customer service and expertise made our SE Asia trip an extremely positive experience. We highly recommend him!

The planning was flawless.
Llyce Tamkin | January 18, 2016

From the beginning, Sandy Ferguson really listened to what we said we wanted for our multi-generational trip – and made terrific suggestions to complement our must-dos.

Here’s one of the things I liked best: When you’re traveling with 12 people, age 10 to 78, and are extremely jet-lagged (13-hour time difference for most of our trip), it’s helpful to have someone who has listened what what is truly important, and has designed plans that accommodate everything from allergies to injuries to complete exhaustion.

Here’s the other thing I loved: The planning was flawless. There were no problems with internal flights, errant guides or drivers, hotel reservations that somehow disappeared. All of the arrangements worked like clockwork, which (having had a very different experience on other trips) was deeply appreciated.

The guides were, for the most part, excellent. While I wasn’t wild about our guide for the Cambodia part of the trip (he was okay, but not great), our guides in Thailand and Laos were memorable and added immeasurably to the overall experience.

Sandy and his team know their stuff. If you’re planning a trip to Southeast Asia, you couldn’t ask for anyone better!

We would highly recommend him.
Shona Kitei | January 14, 2016

Our family had a fantastic two weeks in Thailand, Cambodia and Laos thanks to Sandy. We would highly recommend him.

It was everything we hoped for
Katherine Houy | January 11, 2016

We are just back from a wonderful two weeks in Vietnam, all arranged by Sandy Ferguson. It was everything we hoped for and more. My husband and I enjoyed the planning process, picking places to go, amount of time spent in each, and discussing hotel alternatives. Sandy’s recommendations were perfect. Our guides were amazing and made great restaurant suggestions as well. For a trip perfect in every detail, call Sandy!

We would highly recommend Sandy
Joseph Lash | December 29, 2015

We recently returned from an 11 day trip through Thailand which was developed and executed for us by Sandy Ferguson at Asia Desk. From our initial email and phone inquiries and through the process of planning of the itinerary, we found Sandy to be very friendly, open and engaging and with a wealth of information and advice that ultimately translated into a very memorable trip. Our initial stop in Bangkok was coordinated for me along with a conference which I was there to attend and providing local activities for my wife and daughter. We especially appreciated Sandy’s early on advice to ditch the conference hotel and to book our stay at the Oriental – just incredible and well worth the small inconvenience in travel. The following week we traveled to the north to Chiang Mai and Chiang Rai. Our local guides in each city graciously and enthusiastically managed every aspect of our itinerary while in Thailand, from our airport meetings and departures, through the planned tours and transportation to local venues and advice and various recommendations. We would highly recommend Sandy and Asia Desk and hope to have the opportunity to engage their services again with future travel in the region.

Literally without a flaw.
Skip Oppenheimer | December 8, 2015

Sandy and his team are fabulous in organizing and executing a trip that is literally without a flaw. The guides are extremely knowledgeable, most accommodating and a pleasure to be with. The whole experience was outstanding from beginning to end. Most highly recommend.

An extraordinary trip that we will never forget.
Eric Himmel | December 3, 2015

My wife and I engaged Sandy to arrange a trip for us to Hanoi, Ha Long Bay, Hue, Hoi An, Saigon, Can Tho, and Angkor Wat, for two weeks in November 2015. We had an extraordinary trip that we will never forget. It all revolved around our hosts at each destination, selected by Sandy’s team, who were unfailingly helpful, kind, and entertaining companions, able to adjust to our interests and lead us to experiences we would never have found on our own. Beyond that, the planning was impeccable and the accommodations excellent (and, in the case of the Metropole in Hanoi, in a class of their own).

Exactly what we wanted.
David Muraskin | December 3, 2015

My wife and I relied on Sandy to plan a two week trip to Thailand, Cambodia, and Laos for October 2015 and it is hard to describe how great an experience it was. We had never worked with a travel agent before and quite frankly weren’t sure it would be worth it or be our style. But, Sandy planned a trip we never would have been able to put together on our own, but yet felt like exactly what we wanted. For example, we asked for him to arrange for us to tour some of the major sites, such as Angkor and the Grand Palace in Bangkok, with academics. He arranged for true leaders in their field to spend days with us discussing the sites and the surrounding communities. Their love of and connection with these places made the visits so much more rich. Moreover, the local hosts know exactly what you should see and how to avoid being there when everyone else is trying to see the same site. There were numerous times at Angkor when it was just us and our guides. Our host in Chiang Mai took us to Doi Suthep just as the sun was setting and everyone else was leaving, which turns out is the exact right moment to listen to the monks begin their evening prayers and watch the temple turn on the lights, which sparkle off the pagoda. Because the hosts live in the area full time, they also greatly add to the experience. They can take you to their favorite artisans, markets, and food vendors so that you actually engage with the community and get a sense of what “real” life is like. In Laos, a highlight was cooking in our host’s home and dining with her extended family, which was just wonderful (and delicious!). I won’t describe it as a trip of a lifetime, but that’s only because we really hope to work with Sandy again.

Most memorable vacation
Mariel Kriss | September 10, 2015

We just returned back from our most memorable vacation to South East Asia – Sandy & team: THANK YOU for planning our perfect journey! We visited Chiang Mai, Luang Prabang, Hanoi, Halong Bay, Saigon, Siem Reap and Bangkok — so much to see but we were happy to touch so many beautiful and different cities and cannot say enough good things about each place.

Everything was flawless – the hotel choices, our incredible guides, the exceptional levels of service, and the amazing places we visited – we truly would not have changed a thing.

We absolutely loved the unique and local touch in each city. Our guides treated us not like tourists but like family. We only wish we had more time to continue exploring this exceptional part of the world with Sandy’s guidance. It was the trip of a lifetime!

Surpassed our wildest expectations
Dan Kobick | July 19, 2015

Sandy and his team at Asia Desk arranged a trip for my wife, son and myself to Vietnam and Cambodia. Unfortunately we had a 12-day time restriction so what we could do and where we could go was limited. That said, what they arranged surpassed our wildest expectations. From Hanoi and Halong Bay in the north to Hoi An and Hue in central Vietnam, to Saigon and the Mekong Delta in the south, the trip was first class. The accommodations were superb, the food fantastic and the cultural experiences more than we’d hoped for. None of this would have been possible without our guides. Simply said, they are the best. Their knowledge, willingness to taylor to our needs and genuine love of what they do is first class. Just when we thought it couldn’t get any better, we moved on to Cambodia and Siem Reap and it did! Once again, to Sandy and his entire team, a heartfelt Thank You. We will return to visit what we missed.

Sandy's done it right!
George and Jill Anifantis | June 15, 2015

Vietnam May 2015 — Wendy, Sandy’s done it right! Our trip to Vietnam was more than we could have possibly imagined. And all due to Sandy’s hosted approach to travel. Having a host (guide) escorting us around and explaining things not only “showed us the sights” but also gave us insight through personal perspective in the country’s way of life. Big groups don’t always work for us, so we found this one-on-one approach that Sandy put together for us was exactly what we needed. We are already thinking of how we can use him again. Thanks, Sandy, we loved it. George and Jill.

The trip of a lifetime
Sara Sweetbaum Treiber | June 30, 2015

Sandy planned our honeymoon of a lifetime! We couldn’t have asked for a better travel expert to work with, and every detail of our trip was perfect. Sandy was knowledgable yet flexible during the planning process, and he worked with us to fit our itinerary to our budget and interests. He made both the planning and travel process stress-free. Before leaving for Thailand and Cambodia, Sandy’s detailed itineraries and guides provided us with all of the information we would need while on our stay, allaying any worries about traveling to the other side of the world.

Upon arriving in Asia, not one stone was left unturned, and every aspect of the trip not only met, but exceeded our expectations. Our guides in each location were all amazing. They were friendly, knowledgable, flexible, and professional, and they really made the experience something truly unique. The hotels that Sandy put us up in were all gorgeous with top quality staff and customer service. Further, Sandy had let each hotel know that we were on our honeymoon which made us feel extra special!

Our honeymoon was the trip of a lifetime, and it wouldn’t have been the same without Sandy being involved in the process. We would recommend him to anyone planning a trip to Southeast Asia and hope to go back someday and use Sandy again!

Truly an amazing experience
Peg Quinn | March 23, 2015

I have to say that we had the most amazing trip ever to Thailand, Vietnam and Cambodia. The owner, Sandy, has lived in Thailand and is married to a Vietnamese lady. Sandy speaks fluent Thai and English. Talking to him is like having a history lesson every time you have a conversation. We were gone for 3 1/2 weeks to Thailand, Vietnam and Cambodia. Sandy and his staff developed the most amazing itinerary complete with guides, hotels, transfers, planes, daily activities, and more. Sandy spends time in these countries every year developing relationships and seeking out the best places for his guests. These relationships mean the best possible trip for you. And believe me, they look after you. We were surprised and pleased at the level of detail that went into organizing our trip. We were so spoiled on this trip, saw so much, learned so much. It was truly an amazing experience. Thank you Sandy, Christine, Jackson, and anyone else that was involved.

Khob Kun Na Ka for all that you and your staff did to make this a truly amazing and remarkable experience. We would definitely recommend you and your company to anyone wanting to travel to Southeast Asia.

A magical vacation
Liz Charal | March 8, 2015

We have just returned from a 3-week trip to Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos. The holiday was perfectly organized and it was full of special and unexpected moments. The hosts were knowledgeable, informative and attentive. Not only did they ensure that we saw all the important sights, they also took us to places and events that were obviously not on the tourist trail. This added enormously to our experience. Thank you Asia Desk for a magical vacation.

We loved our two-week trip!
Carolyn Arendacs | March 2, 2015

It is hard to describe how much we LOVED our two-week trip to Thailand and Cambodia in February 2015, facilitated by Sandy and his team! From our initial planning call to the time we departed Thailand for home, everything was extremely well-organized and pleasant. As someone with a busy schedule, it was so nice to know we had a reliable and skilled team taking care of our itinerary and trip details. With Sandy’s expertise, we felt like we were really able to make the most out of a two-week window in seeing beautiful Thailand and Cambodia. While all of the locations/activities and hotel properties were amazing in their own right, the personalized attention and service from Sandy’s local guides was really what impressed us the most. Each went above and beyond to make sure we had a special experience and a first-hand view of their culture–whether it was taking us down for a walk in a rice paddy in Northern Thailand, witnessing a special temple ceremony, or helping us order some delicious Thai food at the best local restaurants! It is apparent that they take tremendous pride in what they do and want to give clients a once-in-a-lifetime experience. All in all, we couldn’t have asked for a better trip–we will hopefully be back in contact with Sandy in the future to plan a trip to Vietnam which is also on our list of places to see!

Very satisfied
Bob Eaton | February 23, 2015

My wife and I — plus a friend — completed our second trip to Southeast Asia in the past six years using Asia Desk and were very happy with Sandy’s arrangements and attention to detail.  In each case, we spent almost a month — the most recent trip took us to Northern Thailand, Myanmar, Hanoi and Siem Reap — and wished we had spent longer.  His guides are terrific, knowledgeable and — important to us — happy to talk about their backgrounds, life, country and social issues.  Even more important is Sandy’s ability to react and fix things such as he had to do in Myanmar when one of the airlines we were using stopped flying for several days.  He and his staff were able to re-book us without any significant change in our plans.  We have also recommended him to friends who have used him and were very satisfied as well.

Incredible experience!
Christina Kang | February 22, 2015

We traveled to Thailand and Cambodia for our honeymoon for 3 weeks in January 2015. It was a trip of a lifetime made possible by Sandy and his team at Asia Desk! We chose Sandy because of his extensive experience and his own personal passion for this area of the world. We knew we would have insights and service that would allow us to really be immersed in the culture and also enjoy some of the luxuries we were looking for on our honeymoon!

Our trip was impeccably planned from the beginning and after all our wedding planning, it was nice to rely on Asia Desk to take care of all the details. It was convenience and luxury all the way and we never worried about any of the logistics. From the moment we landed we were worry-free and were able to truly enjoy our trip with all the incredible food, people, history and activities. Our 3 weeks were planned perfectly, allowing us to enjoy busy days in the city of Chiang Mai and Bangkok and a completely unplugged week on the magnificent beach at Pimalai. Siem Reap was much more touristy than we thought but still worth every minute of stepping back into ancient history with all the beautiful ruins. One of our favorite things was going to the Patara Elephant Farm in Chiang Mai, and spending an entire day with our own elephant. Incredible experience!

Our hosts were a very important part of our experience in each city. They were very informed, professional and flexible, allowing us to make adjustments to our itinerary along the way. We loved getting to know them and appreciated them for not just being tour guides but truly hosts of their home towns.

This is a trip we will never forget! We would highly recommend Sandy and Asia Desk to our friends and family!

I give Sandy and Asia Desk 5 stars
Ann Rawn | February 9, 2015

My husband and I just returned from our first trip to SE Asia. In 21 days we went to: Chiang Mai, Chiang Rai, Chiang Khong, in Thailand; a lodge along the Mekong River one night on the way to Luang Prabang, Laos; Hanoi and Ha Long Bay, Vietnam; Siem Reap, Cambodia; Bangkok, Thailand. The entire trip was expertly planned by Sandy and his team. I just can’t say enough good things about the service he provided starting a year out, helping us to decide which cities and countries to visit and how many days we needed to see what we wanted to see. In order not to miss the Chiang Mai night market, he told us which day to leave the US, (Worth it! We wouldn’t have known to do that). I remember one decision point where Sandy convinced me we should take a two-night Ha Long Bay cruise instead of the one-night one and I’m so glad I trusted him!

Everything he recommended we do was well worth our time. In fact, with a private guide and driver, it’s possible to be very efficient and see quite a lot in a few short days without getting overly tired. Each guide was local to the area and very knowledgeable. Because we had a driver at each location as well, our guides were free to talk to us while we were driven around. Without exception, everything went smoothly, from guides, to hotels, to flights between the countries. We had flexibility to change our daily itineraries which was wonderful. Also, we did Sandy’s special experience, sunrise at Phnom Krom Pagoda in Siem Reap, and it was amazing! I give Sandy and Asia Desk 5 stars for sure!

Just what we were looking for
Julie O'Donnell | January 6, 2015

Sandy Ferguson helped my husband and I take the 2 weeks during the Christmas Holidays and turn them in to the trip of a lifetime. We went to Thailand and Cambodia. Hotel selection, guides and sites toured were just what we were looking for. We knew very little about the area yet he took our two weeks and helped us pick interesting places and had expert guides and drivers make viewing everything smooth and interesting. I would highly recommend using his services.

Totally on top of everything
Mark Horowitz | January 6, 2015

Sandy and his team organized a two week trip in Vietnam in December, 2014, for myself and two adult children. He did a great job, discussing options with us and setting up every detail. He knows the territory, and his guides in country were relaxed, fun to talk to, but also totally on top of everything. Even when weather forced a cancellation of our second night on Halong Bay and an emergency return to port, Sandy’s crew was there at the dock to meet us, ready with new reservations and arrangements.

This was the trip of a lifetime
Teddy Speropoulos | December 15, 2015

This was the trip of a lifetime. We can’t thank Sandy and the Asia Desk enough for the amazing hosts and drivers as well as all his assistance with our complicated itinerary….South East Asia is a must to visit!

I would recommend Sandy to anyone
Dane Classen | November 14, 2014

With Sandy planning the trip my wife and I took, we were able to stay comfortably in luxurious hotels while exploring the heart all of Thailand. From Ko Samui, Bangkok, Chiang Rai, Chiang Mai, and everywhere in between we were treated very well, slept very well, and fed very well. The local guides were very friendly and knowledgeable throughout the entire trip,  with expertise ranging from history to the best local cuisine. I would recommend Sandy to anyone who wants to visit the very best that Asia has to offer.

Exquisitely planned and executed
Margaret Booth | November 3, 2014

I have never posted a review, but in the case of Sandy Ferguson of Asia Desk, it feels like a must. Sandy arranged a spectacular Vietnam/Cambodia vacation for my husband and me. The trip was exquisitely planned and executed down to the tiniest of details. His guides are superb and local so they are able to make suggestions that don’t make you feel like a tourist. Can’t recommend Asia Desk highly enough!

Absolutely superb
Lee Harkleroad | October 30, 2014

Vietnam North to South – What a marvelous country and a superbly coordinated trip – everything functioned like a fine Swiss watch – great venues, great hotels, great food, the friendliest and most knowledgable guides you will ever find – can’t wait to have Sandy help me with my next trip – absolutely superb

Flawless trip
Bryan Correa | October 27, 2014

Flawless trip, everything went very smoothly. In countries which were so exotic with so many things to see, Sandy (and his outstanding guides on the land) were able to help us see all of the can’t-miss things and still help us do what we wanted to do.

Absolutely outstanding and pleasant experience and would do it again! (Hopefully we can someday!)

Keenly knowledgeable guides
John Britton | October 26, 2014

We have used Asia Desk with Sandy Ferguson for Thailand and Vietnam. Well organized but not too rigid, venues that entail great hotels, (often with specific room selections), and gracious, keenly knowledgeable energetic English-speaking guides. Their Southeast Asian smile is forever etched in my mind.

Wish he did more countries
Laurie Kruppa | March 29, 2015

I have used Sandy twice.  The first trip was with my adult daughter to Laos, Vietnam, and  Cambodia.  He listened to what I wanted, then offered great suggestions.  His guides took great care of us, and we even went into  one of their homes for a neighborhood blessing.   The second trip several years later was with a girlfriend  visiting Thailand.  We both were very pleased.  Hotels were awesome, great value for the money.  If I go back to Asia I wouldn’t hesitate at all using his services.  Only wish he did more countries, because it’s tough to find such a great agent.

Family Travel

Shakespeare400: One More Reason You Should Be in the U.K. This Spring

Sara Tucker | February 17, 2016

Travel Tips

Passport Photos Are Expensive, But They Don’t Have to Be

Billie Cohen | March 31, 2016

Travel Tips

Why I Think Travel Is So Important Now

Wendy Perrin | November 14, 2016

Destination

How to Solve China’s Two Biggest Tourism Problems

Billie Cohen | March 29, 2016

Destination

5 Fall-Foliage Getaways

Wendy Perrin | August 23, 2016

Family Travel

Watch: The Best Zip-line Ever (and the Kids Agree)

Wendy Perrin | January 26, 2016

  • Have you returned from a trip arranged by this Trusted Travel Expert?

    If so, please leave a review of your experience so your fellow travelers can decide whether this travel planner is right for them. Include your name (because anonymous reviews are not fair), the month/year of your trip, the destination(s) you traveled to, and your advice for anyone who is considering hiring this travel planner. If you’d prefer to share your review privately, email Wendy.