Make Your Next Trip Extraordinary

Expertise was invaluable
Sharonne Hayes | July 16, 2017

We truly had a wonderful Peru experience. The range of activities, environments, and experiences was remarkable. We spent time in the Sacred Valley, Machu Picchu, a few days hiking the Andes (starting at 14,000 feet and ascending to almost 17,000), and finishing it off with a perfect Amazon cruise experience on the Delfin. All connections, guides, facilities, and food were great. We are so glad we used an in-country travel agent. The expertise was invaluable in light of the fact we had two families traveling for part of the time together, part of the time apart, and for part of the time, adult children having yet a third itinerary. Pleasing two families with ages 17 – 63 is an art, and we appreciated Marisol’s advice. We didn’t have any issues for her team to “fix” but were pleasantly surprised to have not just a car and driver, but the use of a guide and on-the-fly help with dinner reservations while hanging out in Lima before our overnight flight home.

Luxurious and authentic
Kate Moore | July 10, 2017

Marisol and her staff planned a fabulous trip that was so luxurious and authentic. We had a small budget but they still seemed to make everything first class. The staff is incredibly welcoming and accommodating. The hotels we stayed at were so unique and the experiences unforgettable! I will NEVER travel outside of the US without a service like this again!

Helped at every stage
Marty Slater | June 20, 2017

Everything was great and helped at every stage. Wonderful trip

I had a stress-free vacation.
Nancy Wolf | April 19, 2017

Every aspect of our vacation was planned flawlessly. Mark Green, on Marisol’s team, coordinated trains, guides, hotels, restaurant reservations…all so I had a stress-free vacation. We spent a day with Chef Penelope in Lima, visiting the market, drinking Pisco Sours and cooking in her beautiful home overlooking the water. Truly a memorable experience which my entire family loved. We then flew to Cusco and Fernando was our guide for five days of exploring the Sacred Valley, Machu Pichu, and Cusco. I cannot recommend Fernando more highly. He was so knowledgeable, engaging, flexible and personable. He was able to arrange a doctor visit to our hotel at night when one member of my family was sick. Our driver Hugo kept our car spotless and there always was a supply of water and snacks. I’m looking forward to returning to Peru to visit other parts of the country, and I definitely will be using Marisol and Mark again!

A masterfully planned trip.
Ana Chamorro | January 23, 2017

It was a masterfully planned trip, everything was excellent including the small details. I fully recommend them.

Worked around challenges
Dave Bexfield | November 1, 2016

My wife and I went to Peru in October, 2016. Since I have a disability due to multiple sclerosis (using a wheelchair often), I needed this trip planned to the 9s by experts extremely familiar with the terrain, streets, hotels, etc. It was. We worked around challenges and the trip turned out to be fantastic. Highly recommended. Thanks for the recommendation, Wendy!

We had a wonderful time
Helen Santalone | July 25, 2016

My husband and I traveled in Peru for 2 weeks. We had a wonderful time on our trip which was planned by Marisol and her team at Aracari. Everyone at Aracari was extremely attentive and helpful at all stages. My husband and I have numerous calls with our agent Mark Green during the planning. Mark made sure that our concerns were addressed and our suggestions were considered and incorporated in our itinerary. Raul warmly welcomed us at the Lima airport upon our arrival. From that moment on, we were well taken care of by Aracari guides and drivers at various locations. We spent an educational and fun day with Ronald in Lima. Ronald’s knowledge about the architects in Lima is incomparable. We were so grateful to have Leo as our guide in Sacred Valley, Macchu Pichu, and Cusco. His love of the country, Cusco region, nature, and the culture is contagious. We loved our stay at the Suasi Island. In Mancora, we stayed at K! Chic (best boutique hotel), recommended by Aracari. We could not have done the trip with Aracaris thoughtful planning. At the end of the trip, there was a little hiccup with the hotel in Lima, but Aracari representatives immediately took action to ensure my last day in Lima was taken care of.

Overall, we would not hesitate to recommend Marisol and the team at Aracari to anyone who wants to visit Peru!

There's no way I ever could have constructed such a wonderful journey
Jon Paul Buchmeyer | July 17, 2016

Marisol and her Aracari team were terrific from beginning to end. Marisol immediately replied to my inquiry—within hours, if I remember correctly. We then set up a Skype call, which was phenomenally helpful. She asked me tons of questions about my preferences, the group I was traveling with, and gave me incredibly helpful and honest feedback about what was doable—and pushed me to do things I hadn’t considered. For example, this was a special trip for my niece just graduating from high school—about to study marine biology in college—so Marisol steered me toward the right Amazon basin area I hadn’t even considered. Truthfully, I was a little worried about her passing off her notes to a colleague, but it turned out flawless, seamless, and Mark Green was tremendous. He answered all of my questions, made adjustments so quickly as needed, kept me advised the entire way. The materials they delivered were superior—and then waiting for us on arrival.

My husband, niece, and I just returned yesterday from Peru and wanted to send a HUGE GRACIAS to Aracari for making this trip one of a lifetime! Everything ran so smoothly from beginning to end—and there’s no way I ever could have constructed such a wonderful journey. For sure, it was packed, but we came back feeling we’d seen such a diversity in Peru and, truthfully, we look forward to coming back and exploring more. The entire Aracari team deserves our appreciation. They knew just how to counsel us and talk us through what would work for us, given our interests and time constraints. It ended up being a perfect balance of wildlife, culture, adventure and a bit of relaxation. And although the weather was terrible during our one-day Inka Trail hike, with rain & clouds obscuring Machu Picchu from the Sun Gate, we still wouldn’t change a thing.  What a true adventure. I can’t thank them enough. And I will of course recommend and tell everyone I know to use them—and to once again trust a Wendy Perrin specialist.

Over the years, I have used and vetted many of Wendy’s travel specialists— and, no doubt, Marisol and Aracari are absolutely top of the list.

Marisol was fabulous.
Elaine Golin | April 8, 2016

Marisol was fabulous. Seamless transfers, great tour guides, great restaurant and hotel choices.

You will be thrilled that you booked with them
Anne Rogers | February 24, 2016

We have traveled with Aracari twice (once to Machu Picchu / Cusco and the Amazon and a second time to the Galapagos) both times were amazing! They deserve their excellent reputation! I had a child get sick in Cusco and they whisked us to a hospital and also had a doctor waiting for us in Iquitos as well as on the boat in the middle of the Amazon to check on our child! They escorted us to every flight and hotel. Our hotels and guides were spectacular- and they personalized each itinerary for our family of six (which is not easy with 4 children!)… and everyone loved it! You will be thrilled that you booked with them- truly best of the best!

A very memorable trip
Colleen Keith | October 10, 2015

I made arrangements for travel from Lima to the Cusco area for 3 days—a quick trip, but I wanted to see Machu Picchu while I was in Peru. All arrangements were handled by Aracari and the trip went flawlessly. At first I was a little surprised by the cost, but reality set in and I came to terms with the cost of traveling solo. That being said, I was extremely pleased with the itinerary prepared for me, and with my guide and driver. It was like visiting the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu with a friend. I wasn’t trapped in a large tour group; we could go where we wanted and vary the itinerary as I desired. Also, I learned so much from my guide about the history and culture of the area. It was the best decision I made to use this Travel Expert. It was a very memorable trip.

Way to go
Peggy Schuemann | May 22, 2015

Peru was on our “bucket list” and we naturally looked for the person recommended by Wendy Perrin to plan our adventure.  Marisol Mosquera of Aracari, and her associates, fulfilled all of our expectations, and MORE.  Most of our pre-trip planning was completed in detail by Cecile Febre.  She listened to our wishes, followed through immediately, was totally available through email or telephone, and created a wonderful and diverse itinerary.  On landing in Lima, Giovanna Barnuevo became our contact person, and she was AMAZING!  Our guides were terrific, so well versed in their localities and in Peru in general.  Each guide had excellent English and really made us feel at home in their city or area.  I had thought to cruise the Amazon on the Aria, but Cecile convinced us the Deflin I was the way to go, and she was totally correct.  This four cabin floating guest house had a top notch guide/naturalist in Sandro and the most amazing food you would taste anywhere in the world, let alone the Amazon River!  Each of the lodges, hotels, where we stayed were lovingly chosen based on our input, and each was better than the last.  On reaching Arequipa my husband became ill.  The guide and hotel sought medical support and we continued on to the Colca Canyon and Lake Titicaca.  After only one of our scheduled four nights at this beautiful lake, it became apparent my husband was too ill to stay there.  By the next morning Giovanna had arranged for a guide, a driver to transport us to Juliaca, and a flight to Cusco, where we hoped my husband could rest and restore his health to complete our itinerary.  The doctor was called to the beautiful Belmond Palacio Nazarenes, my husband was transported to the local clinic, and upon hearing he was so ill that they wanted to keep him overnight, we determined to return to the United States.  Again, Aracari did everything possible to support us in this decision and facilitate our early departure, even though this undoubtedly caused them extra work in canceling lodging and guides.  When we are able to complete our itinerary, at some future date, we will return to Marisol and her team at Aracari, for there can be no better travel specialists to fulfill our dreams to see the rest of Peru, including Machu Picchu.  We will look forward to having the engaging and helpful Raul meet us on landing!  We recommend you contact Marisol, for Peru is a beautiful country with a rich history, tempting cuisine, and beautiful people.  Way to go, Marisol and Aracari!!!  Thank You for everything.

Travel Tips

The Ultimate Jewish Heritage Trip in Israel Includes a Stop in Europe

Sara Tucker | March 18, 2016

Travel Tips

How to Take Better Safari Photos of Elephants, Lions, Zebra and More

Susan Portnoy | November 6, 2014

let's create an extraordinary trip

Europe: Plan Your Trip!

Wendy Perrin | February 21, 2017

  • Have you returned from a trip arranged by this Trusted Travel Expert?

    If so, please leave a review of your experience so your fellow travelers can decide whether this travel planner is right for them. Include your name (because anonymous reviews are not fair), the month/year of your trip, the destination(s) you traveled to, and your advice for anyone who is considering hiring this travel planner. If you’d prefer to share your review privately, email Wendy.