Make Your Next Trip Extraordinary

Foodies and wine enthusiasts
Amelia Browne | June 1, 2017

After considering numerous other travel specialists, I decided to go with Maita and her team based on the numerous reviews of their service here and elsewhere. I knew I had made the right decision when I received an immediate response to my inquiry and throughout the planning process continued to receive prompt responses. Maita and her team planned the perfect trip for the foodies and wine enthusiasts me and my cousin are. Every bodega and restaurant was a hit. The tour guides were very knowledgeable and very professional. Each aspect was planned to lead to the next, all culminating in a fabulously indulgent trip.

Maita and Santiago, thanks for being so responsive and patient with my numerous emails and changes. Your dedication to your profession comes across in the passion with which you represent Argentina. I can certainly understand why you and your dynamic team come so highly rated and recommended by numerous experts in the travel industry. After I spoke with both of you, I had a feeling this was going to be an epic trip and I was not disappointed. You are great ambassadors and expertly represent the fabric of Argentina through your carefully curated trips. We are very pleased with how it all came together and will not hesitate to use your extraordinary service should we decide to come back. So stay tuned.

Perfect spot to fit our mood
Melissa Brecher | April 26, 2017

We used Maita to plan a trip to Uruguay in February 2016. What an incredible trip. My husband and I took our kids to an estancia for a few days, where we rode horses and took long walks on hectares of gorgeous land among peacocks, ostriches, armadillos and bulls. We were the only guests so had wonderful connections with the properties owners, the gaucho, and his son. We then drove to Jose Ignacio for a relaxing beach getaway. They found us the perfect spot to fit our mood and recommended terrific day trips and restaurants to satisfy our need for culture and great food in between sandboarding on the beach and relaxing by the pool. They were responsive before and during the trip helping with last-minute changes and suggestions. All in all, a tremendous vacation thanks to Maita and her team!

Small thing made a huge difference
Virginia Socolof | April 3, 2017

After my initial consultation with Maita, Veronica from her office took over and managed the details. She was terrific!  Our trip was lovely, and it was clear from our reception at all three hotels that Maita’s guests are given special treatment. Our bags arrived two days late, on the morning we were supposed to leave Santiago and drive across the Andes to Mendoza. Veronica was able to change our pickup time and have our guide take us to the Santiago airport to get the bags on our way out of town, and this seemingly small thing made a huge difference to us. Our guides were friendly, knowledgeable, and spoke excellent English, and when one of them forgot the planned lunch stop he found another one that we very much enjoyed. Finally, the preliminary materials that Veronica sent to me were super helpful regarding everything from tipping customs to what to wear in various locales. I will definitely use Maita’s company again the next time we go to Argentina or Chile!

An absolutely wonderful travel experience
Glen and Tanya Morrison | February 10, 2017

Mai 10 was amazing at helping my wife and I plan our trip. We were asked what types of accommodations, activities, meals, etc. that we enjoyed and then Mai 10 tailored the trip to meet our desires. All of their suggestions added to the overall experience of the trip.

During the trip, Mai 10 staff regularly checked in with us to make sure that all of our travel arrangements, accommodations and activities were meeting our expectations. Our answers were almost always that our expectations had been exceeded!

Without exception all the guides, drivers and other tour companies that were engaged by Mai 10 on our behalf were punctual, informative and attentive to our needs. Bravo Mai 10!

During our trip, we only had one instance where weather caused a travel delay. This delay may have resulted in us missing a scheduled flight. Mai 10 promptly answered my emails and expedited our transfer to make sure that we still made our flight. In short they did a great job relieving the stress that can accompany a weather related travel glitch.

Thank you Maita for an absolutely wonderful travel experience! We will definitely be planning another trip with you and recommending you to anyone that is interested in travelling to Argentina or Uruguay.

An excellent recommendation
Lou Lower | January 28, 2017

Maita Barrenechea and Alex on her team, proved to be an excellent recommendation by Wendy Perrin. Hotels, drivers, restaurants as well as the few guides we had were excellent. We particularly liked working through a specialist who was in country as this made for ease of adjusting our scheduled itinerary real time. Responsiveness to the changes we requested was tops. Far better than if we had been working through a US based operator. Will definitely use Maita and her team again for additional travel to Argentina, Chile and Uruguay.

We will treasure our memories
Nanci Zimmerman | January 20, 2017

Maita and her team did everything possible to make sure this “trip of a lifetime” was perfect!

They succeeded and we will treasure our memories. I would not hesitate to recommend
Maita.

We were well cared for throughout the trip
Sandra Quinn, Stephen Thomas and Brian Quinn | January 16, 2017

We have planned trips with multiple WOW list agents and as always, our trip with Maita met our expectations for thoughtful planning, great guides, and an overall wonderful trip. I talked with Maita, Santaigo and other staff early in the process to discuss our interests and then we worked well on email to nail down the specifics. One of the things I appreciated was receiving the pre-trip packet of information on traveling to Buenos Aires; that was very helpful. When we arrived, our driver met us and handed us a full packet of other materials to help us enjoy the city. As professors, we like having a real depth of information and resources to read.

One highlight for us was our evening with Fabrizio at a milonga. He was a thorough teacher in explaining tango and how milongas operate in the city. That was a fascinating look at tango and the culture that surrounds it. He is very well known in the tango world so we met other people who came to greet him and were clearly excited to see him. We decided once we were in the city to have a private tango lesson and Santaigo responded quickly and set it up. We really enjoyed that experience. I had worked with Maita to identify several museums to give us a breadth of experience in the city; we found MALBA very thought-provoking, the Evita museum a must see, and the El Zanjon de Granados colonial houses fascinating for its look into the citys development. Other highlights included excellent restaurants and lovely guides who were knowledgable, engaging and fun to be with. Maria took us to her favorite empanada restaurant so that we could try empanadas as they are made in the region of the country in which she grew up.

Finally, Santiago checked in with us via the phone on several occasions, and on Christmas Eve, there was a staff person on call who responded in a timely way to a question. We felt we were well cared for throughout the trip by Maita and her team. The experience really whetted our appetite for another trip to Argentina at some future date and without question, I would work with Maita again.

Filled with adventure and memories
Sanj Rathi | January 9, 2017

Thank you for developing the list of wonderful travel specialist by region. My family and I have just returned back from a trip to Argentina which was planned by Maita Barrenechea and her team at MAI 10. The trip was amazing! Maita and her team provided my family and I (my wife and I and our three children ages 23, 21 and 18) with a fabulous itinerary filled with adventure and memories that will last a lifetime.

The MAI 10 group’s attention to detail was obvious in everything they did. From booking amazing restaurants to printing out our boarding passes. Alex, who was our primary contact was on top of things and very communicative. He even came to bid us farewell during our last day in Buenos Aires.

In summary–an amazing time made amazing by Maita and her team. I would have never met them if it was not for you.

Thank you for another amazing set of memories to add to our collection of Wendy memories!

My mother had her passport stolen
John Hick | January 7, 2017

Maita and her team provided some great options for tours and lodging – we loved our hotels. Our drivers were excellent and the vehicles safe and new. The support from our guides and the agency was fantastic when my mother had her passport stolen – they went with us to get photos done and came to the airport to assist with re-booking and immigration documentation which was wonderful.

Maita and Alex both met us at our hotel
Doug Havely | April 4, 2016

We have utilized travel specialists for other trips and have always been extremely satisfied with the results. When we took our trip to Argentina we utilized Maita Barrenechea and her team. They were extremely helpful in the planning of the trip. They provided suggestions but we never felt like we were being pushed into something we didn’t want to do. We were impressed when Maita and Alex both met us at our hotel upon arrival and provided some excellent information for our trip. It was obvious from their preparation that they were very organized and professional. We had to modify our trip due to a brief illness and they handled the changes quickly and helped to minimize the stress. In addition, I periodically emailed them with questions during our trip and they were always prompt with their response and willing to help whenever we needed them. I would highly recommend Maita Barrenechea for anyone planning a trip to Argentina and Uruguay.

I would absolutely recommend
Erin Murphy | March 29, 2016

I was very pleased with Maita. She was responsive, professional, and proactive. I had an ambitious set of goals (single woman traveling alone on her visit to three South American countries over a two week period with only about 10 days to plan!) Everything went according to schedule (I had numerous drivers transferring me from hotel to hotel or event to event). I felt safe and secure at all times. I would absolutely recommend Maita to another traveler.

Superlative trip to Argentina
Patrick Doherty | March 25, 2016

I cannot speak highly enough of the superlative trip to Argentina from which I just returned. I researched trips to Argentina extensively, and had several itineraries planned for me from named high-end travel firms. Then Wendy Perrin’s WOW List for 2015 came out, and I spent some time and effort duplicating my efforts with Maita Barrenechea. Maita and her firm are everything Wendy says of them. They are attentive to the client, and carefully crafted a trip based on our needs and desires. They understand the nuances of travel in Argentina. Transfers were seamless. The itinerary and choices of tour guides and hotels were impeccable. Someone from the firm, often Maita herself, responded to every one of my emails quickly and thoroughly. Maita reviewed the itinerary with me by phone a week prior to the trip, to confirm all details and recommendations. The firm emailed nearly every day during the trip (without being at all intrusive) to ensure that the hotels and tours were to my satisfaction. The trip was not inexpensive, but it was priceless and worth every peso.

Exactly what I wanted
Ron Klausner | March 8, 2016

I could not have asked more from a travel agent both in the planning stages and during the trip. The group delivered exactly what I wanted as far as accommodations and excursions. I took a five week trip to Argentina and Chile so it was not a simple trip. During the trip they checked in by telephone and email every few days. Perfect!

All and all a good trip
Amy Martell | February 10, 2016

We traveled to Argentina and Chile late January/early February 2016. Our travel planner was Mai10. They were very responsive but in retrospect I think we probably needed to have a conversation live rather than always email. We also had many changes in the itinerary over the course of the planning which made it confusing as well. All and all a good trip and parts were great….but overall not the best we have taken.

Maita is top notch.
Jan Heininger | January 28, 2016

We have used many of Wendy’s trusted travel experts and Maita is top notch. She and her staff (especially Santiago) were not merely superb planners, tailoring our requests to what proved to be wonderful experiences, but they were on top of every aspect of our trip. Maita was able to get us access to experiences we could not have gotten on our own (or I suspect by other planners) from a day-long excursion with one of Argentina’s top condor experts (and a lovely man to boot) who not only taught us much about condor behavior but was a great birding guide as well, an outdoor lunch created and cooked for us by a young and talented chef (another lovely man) and a wonderful day fly fishing on a deserted river (where I learned to cast and catch fish despite very high winds). She also chose places for us to stay that were not merely memorable but perfectly suited to what we wanted in our accommodations. Our time in Argentina bracketed a three-week trip to the Falklands, South Georgia and Antarctica. That we’d been to Argentina three times previously made it that much more important that we have a planner who could guide us to experiences we hadn’t had previously. I can’t recommend Maita and her staff highly enough. Wendy does a great job in choosing her trusted travel experts. And Maita is one of the best.

She made it happen.
Gail Mautner | January 12, 2016

Maita is an excellent travel agent for a trip to Argentina. She asked us what type of places and activities we wanted to see and do – and she made it happen. We had the most wonderful guides from Buenos Aires to Bariloche to Cordoba to Iguazu Falls. Our Bariloche experiences were so amazing – hiking for 7 miles to reach the most beautiful views, having a private gourmet lunch at the top of the mountain, riding horses on a family ranch and sharing a special lunch with the entire family, to hiking to Iguazu Falls. We really felt that we got to experience Argentina.

Highly recommend them.
Deborah Meyer | January 10, 2016

Our family just got back from a wonderful trip to Buenos Aires, Colonia, Mendoza, Santiago and Valparaiso during Christmas week. Maita and Florencia put together a beautifully planned itinerary for us with great recommendations for sightseeing, hotels, restaurants and wineries. Our guides were excellent, and our itinerary was planned with great care and attention to detail. We are very happy that we used Mai 10 to plan our trip and highly recommend them.

My trip to Argentina was amazing!
April Lull | December 4, 2015

My trip to Argentina was amazing! Everything was organized, and executed beautifully. All I had to do was be ready for every adventure at the right time! Maita and her staff “got me” and what I was looking for. Had a small “glitch” with one of my flights, and they magically altered my itinerary to fit the problem. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking to experience Argentina.

Amazing experience
JoEllen Shelden | September 8, 2015

I wanted to share our amazing experience with Mai10 and Florencia. We had a wonderful trip this August as we spent 8 days in Buenos Aires. We had top-notch tour guides the entire way. We stayed at the Four Seasons which was amazing. Florencia was able to get us a late checkout at 6pm which made our last day so much more enjoyable. The pace of the trip was wonderful and we were able to enjoy sightseeing without feeling rushed. Not only did they arrange our tours but our guides communicated with each other to be sure they didn’t overlap sites. The shopping tour with Catalina (Maita’s daughter) was fabulous. We went to several private showrooms and received discounts as well. The tango show we booked, Rojo Tango, was very good. We did a day trip to Uruguay and everything went smoothly. They even confirmed all the restaurant reservations we requested. Thank you for suggesting such a great team of people.

We had a wonderful time
Kevin Haney | May 27, 2015

My wife and I just completed a one week trip to Argentina that was arranged by MAI 10. We had a wonderful time celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary in our first trip to South America.

The experience with MAI 10 was great from the beginning. It started with an email to Maita to arrange a time to speak about the trip. As you often recommend, it is important to initially speak with the travel expert to make sure that the travel expert is who you want to use. Maita called me and it was quickly apparent that her and the agency were going to be a great fit. Maita was very prepared for the conversation about the trip and we spoke for almost an hour with her asking question on our likes and dislikes as well as offering suggestions based on her expertise as to what we should do while in Argentina.

Maita then put together a suggested itinerary based on our conversation. We then communicated by email to refine the itinerary and ultimately finalized the itinerary. Maita then turned the trip over to Santiago in her office to make the arrangements. Santiago was very thorough and pleasant to deal with. Within a short period of time, he had made all the arrangements and the only thing left for us to do was to get on the plane to Argentina.

We arrived in Buenos Aires and everything went smoothly during our trip. We saw and experienced a lot of interesting things while in Argentina. We were really happy with our primary tour guides during the trip, Noonie Harrison and Teresa Vellagel. As I discussed with Maita when planning the trip, we enjoy tour guides who not only impart their knowledge, but also engage you in conversation. MAI 10 hit it right on with Noonie and Teresa. We could not have asked for better guides as we experienced things like the Recoleta cemetery, MALBA, Pallarols silver workplace and a day trip to San Antonio de Areco Gaucho town.

Some really great experiences arranged by MAI 10 were a tango night where we took a tango lesson Fabrizio Forti at his studio, then a tango show and dinner followed by Fabrizio meeting us and taking us on a milonga tour. Fabrizio was an excellent teacher who had a lot of patience to teach us and he was very interesting to talk with during the milonga tour. Another great experience was a cooking lesson with Chef Paula Mendez Carreras in her home. Paula was the most gracious host and we enjoyed our time learning to cook some Argentine specialties. The time just flew with Paula and we would recommend it immensely. We also took a quick one day trip to Uruguay as Maita said it would be a shame not to go to Colonia while in Buenos Aires. Maita was right and we loved Uruguay.

Wendy's Loyalty Program

WOW Moment: A Helicopter Ride Over The Great Wall of China

Billie Cohen | May 17, 2017

WOW Experiences

WOW Experience: Sunrise Ceremony with Cambodian Monks

Billie Cohen | August 21, 2017

Travel Tips

6 Things You Need to Know About Renewing Your Passport

Billie Cohen | November 22, 2015

Travel Tips

Nepal Earthquake: News About Traveling in the Region

Billie Cohen | April 29, 2015

Travel Tips

French Islands So Pretty You’ll Be Tempted To Skip Provence

Lily Heise | April 13, 2016

What to Book Now

The Best Trips to Book in August: What to Lock In Now

Brook Wilkinson | July 20, 2017

  • Have you returned from a trip arranged by this Trusted Travel Expert?

    If so, please leave a review of your experience so your fellow travelers can decide whether this travel planner is right for them. Include your name (because anonymous reviews are not fair), the month/year of your trip, the destination(s) you traveled to, and your advice for anyone who is considering hiring this travel planner. If you’d prefer to share your review privately, email Wendy.