Make Your Next Trip Extraordinary

Jane McCrum was simply excellent
Kim MacLeod | April 19, 2017

Jane McCrum was simply excellent. She and Julie did a fantastic job customizing our experience and ensuring we had the benefit of their years of work experience and extensive networks in London. This was a trip my family will remember forever. The attention to detail and ability to help us decide where to spend our time and money was top notch. I really have no constructive criticism or complaints.

I would not hesitate to call on them again
Kathryn Bardman | December 6, 2016

Jane McCrum and her team (Julie!) did an excellent job helping my daughter and I plan an extended weekend in London. They were patient with us as we kept changing our itinerary, were very prompt in their email exchanges and gave excellent advice. Their recommendation of the Ham Yard hotel was spot on. It is a fabulous boutique hotel with an amazing design aesthetic and wonderful service. The concierges were incredible kind and resourceful (locating sold-out soccer tickets and arranging an impromptu dinner for our group in the library when everywhere else was booked). Also, the private tour of the Harry Potter studies that Jane and Julie arranged thrilled my 16 year old Potter fan.

I would not hesitate to call on them again.

Excellent job!
Gloria Dittus | September 17, 2016

With short notice, Jane and her team put together an interesting program highlighting a few important London stops. From a personal tour of Chartwell to tea and a personal tour of the chapel at Windsor Castle with one of the military knights, Jane planned three special days. She secured the best table for us at The Ivy and organized a walking tour of London which was capped off by a personal tour of Buckingham Palace. For a veteran traveler who has visited London many times but hasn’t visited many of the “standard tourist sites,” it was nice to visit some tourist destinations with an expert guide. Excellent job!

Did a great job
Gina Melton | August 22, 2016

Jane and her group did a great job planning a few premium tours for our last minute trip to London. We are still awaiting a credit for a snafu with our private transport from the airport but I am sure they are still working on this detail for us. We loved our driver Ivan for our last day in London and Phil our tour guide was fantastic. The day we went to parliament for a tour and lunch with a MP (great experience) there seemed to be some confusion between our guide and the MP with our meet up time. I mention this because we were rushed through security and didn’t get to say a proper goodbye to our guide, Phil, and did not have an opportunity to give him a gratuity for his expertise. We felt badly about this. I also really liked that the items of the itinerary were itemized by cost instead of one grand total at the end of the quote, which was our experience on other trips.

They are the best!
Catharine Wark | August 22, 2016

Our trip was fabulous in every respect. I would recommend Jane for attention to detail, efficiency, and flexibility with all of our itinerary changes and excellent guides. Special touches included entrees into private homes, a courtesy gift and follow up email when we returned home. Truly made the trip a smooth and first class delight. If you want an insiders trip to London/ England choose Jane! They can open special doors for you. All of Jane’s staff were very prompt in responding to our may queries during the planning stages; sometimes even late at night. They are the best!

Everything worked like clockwork.
Francis Rath | April 21, 2016

Jane McCrum is terrific – met some wonderful people at the Tower, Parliament and Windsor. Also had tea with Jane and everything worked like clockwork. Her guide was extremely knowledgeable.

One to remember the rest of our lives
Victoria Cross | October 4, 2015

My husband and I had used Wendy’s experts for travel to Kenya and also to the Southwestern U.S. and definitely wanted to use one of her experts for our trip to London because we knew of the priceless benefit of worry-free, impeccably-planned travel. However, our needs were very different for this trip. We were traveling with another couple who had never experienced the benefits of using an expert, we were staying in a friend’s flat which was quite centrally located to museums, transportation, and other wonderful sights, and we were only staying a week. Although our friends questioned our judgement on using professional assistance, we convinced them to trust us. We all were more than thrilled with the outcome.

We asked Jane to plan two full days for us, one in London, and one on the outskirts. We also asked her to get us tickets to a show for a different night. Our itinerary was as well planned and thought out as any of our other trips, in spite of our small number and few days. The show tickets were delivered right to our flat before we arrived. We were given a contact phone number, which we used once, so we could ask any questions at all. A knowledgeable, private driver took us on trips to Oxford, the Wormsley Library, and to an amazing luncheon served at the Getty Estate. Our City guide met us at the flat and traveled with us by taxi to our very special, behind-the-scenes private tours of the Churchill War Rooms and Tower of London, which were amazing. Our friends and we agreed that using Jane’s wonderful service was well worth the expense and made this short trip one to remember the rest of our lives.

Staff and guides deserve an A+
Barbara Droskoski | August 10, 2015

Traveled to London , July 2015 with two grandsons, ages 11 and 7. All arrangements except air were through In Any Event tours: hotel, driver, guides who specialized in our daily tours.Sites we visited included Westminster Abbey, Hampton Court and Maze, The Eye, Thames River Cruise, Maritime Academy, London Dungeon, James Bond in Motion, Emirates Stadium. At the Churchill War Room, Tower of London, Windsor Castle, and HMS Belfast we had an additional guide with private tour. There were no hassles with transportation, arranging and coordinating tours, etc. It was a memorable, educational, and enjoyable vacation. Staff and guides deserve an A+.

An outstanding top travel specialist.
Heidi Hughey | August 4, 2015

I was interested in a garden tour of the Cotswolds and found England specialist Jane McCrum on Wendy Perrin’s WOW List of Travel Specialists. Wendy states if you email through her website, the agent will VIP you and Wendy will monitor your trip to make sure the agents live up to their reputation.

Email sent. Jane McCrum called the following day and I explained my interests. Primary focus on gardens in the Cotswolds, small manor houses, architecture and small postcard English villages.

I received a rough draft itinerary the following week. OMG! You are kidding me, was all I could think. The draft looked spectacular. I could think of no changes or input. I only asked why also Kent and Sussex? To provide a better overview and comparison of gardens in the region.

The trip begins, July 2015: After a few days of leisure in London, my driver/guide Jo picked me up at Spencer House after a private tour. We headed out of London, first stop Broughton Castle. We were greeted by Lady Saye and Sele, the delightful owner of the house. She gave an overview of the history of the house, built in 1306 with additions in 1550. It was the center of opposition to Charles 1. I quickly gained knowledge of the English Civil War. Lady Saye invited us into her kitchen for tea. I wanted to wrap her up and take her home.

That evening I checked into Barnsley House, the perfect Cotswold manor hotel. The gardens were designed by legendary gardener and former owner Rosemary Verey. A perfect beginning.

The week was a whirlwind of everything I had imagined: Quaint towns, Bourton on the Water, Stow on the Wold. Hidcote Gardens (a famous Arts and Crafts garden c1905), Kiftsgate Gardens, Highgrove (Prince Charles’ exquisite masterpiece). New guide Donna halfway through the week as we pushed on to the southeast, stopping at Highclere. No words necessary.
Gravetye Manor, elegant hotel of English dreams. Tucked into garden designed by William Robinson for the evening. Sissinghurst and Great Dixter, two well-known gardens that had me entranced. Great Dixter, designed by Christopher Lloyd, was mesmerizing and perhaps the fact that the head gardener, Fergus Garrett, picked me a bouquet of sweet peas in stunning colors swayed me to think it trumped Sissinghurst as the better garden.

Lunch with Princess Olga Romanoff, the daughter of Prince Andrew Romanoff, the eldest nephew of Tsar Nicholas II of Russia and her son Francis at her home, Provender. A delightful woman who opens her home for various events.

Quick tour of Canterbury Cathedral. Last stop, Chartwell House, home of Sir Winston Spencer Churchill—a stop that is worth it. The phenomenal week was almost over and I spent my last night at the remarkable Coworth Park Hotel, which is 20 minutes away from Heathrow. The hotel is in Ascot and has a large equestrian center. I cantered my horse around the estate through yellow meadows watching polo ponies practice.

Thank you, Wendy Perrin, for matching me up with Jane McCrum of In Any Event, an outstanding top travel specialist.

Travel Tips

6 Things You Need to Know About Renewing Your Passport

Billie Cohen | November 22, 2015

Travel Tips

Summer Vacation Idea: British Columbia for Every Type of Traveler

Billie Cohen | July 13, 2016

Travel Tips

Make Sure Your Private Guide Can Do These Six Things

Brook Wilkinson | March 14, 2016

Travel Tips

How to Never Wait in Line at a Tourist Attraction Again

Wendy Perrin | June 16, 2015

Travel Tips

How to Use TripAdvisor to Find Great Things to Do

Eric Stoen | October 1, 2014

Destination

How to Make a South Africa Trip Extraordinary? Go In Winter

Billie Cohen | August 24, 2015

  • Have you returned from a trip arranged by this Trusted Travel Expert?

    If so, please leave a review of your experience so your fellow travelers can decide whether this travel planner is right for them. Include your name (because anonymous reviews are not fair), the month/year of your trip, the destination(s) you traveled to, and your advice for anyone who is considering hiring this travel planner. If you’d prefer to share your review privately, email Wendy.