Make Your Next Trip Extraordinary

Derailed half-way through due to illness
Hillary Barrack-Palmer | March 9, 2017

All I can say about Donna Thomas and her team is WOW! They created the trip of a lifetime and, when it got derailed half-way through due to illness, they reorganized everything and were always available.

The trip was planned to perfection. We were given everything we needed and more, and can’t wait to go back and finish what we started. And you can bet that Donna and her team will be the people we call to plan the trip.

When it comes to New Zealand, no one knows it better than Donna and her staff. And I’d like to give a special shout-out to Kori, who was amazing at handling everything we needed down to the last detail.

Started in Auckland and drove through the country
Jeff Sievers | March 7, 2017

Donna Thomas planned a superb trip for my 50th birthday. We traveled to New Zealand’s North Island from February 24 to March 5 2017. The trip turned out to be everything I hoped. We started in Auckland and drove through the country to finish in Hawkes Bay. Donna helped arrange sailing on an Americas Cup boat, kayaking in the ocean with dolphins, private tours at Hobbiton, an exclusive day with the local Maori people and wine tasting in Hawkes Bay. She arranged fantastic locations to stay including B&Bs that really allowed us to meet and get to know the local people. If you get to turn 50, this is the way to celebrate. Thank you, Donna!

Would I access her services again?
Gerry O'Connor | March 3, 2017

Wendys “WOW” agent, Donna Thomas, was a new experience for me. I am a seasoned, independent traveler with lots of do-it-yourself upbringing.

Donna and her team were professional, efficient, flexible, knowledgeable, and accommodating. The tour guides she recommended knew her well and spoke highly of her. I sensed they were all an extension of her. All her recommended tours/experiences were exceptional and unique.

She does not end her oversight when you depart on your journey. One of her on-site representatives called our hotel to make sure all was going as planned and assured us of her availability. Donna was aware of a traffic accident in one of our ports of call and checked with our tour guide to make sure we were not impacted by the delay and had indeed made it back to the ship. We knew we had access to assistance, should anything untoward have occurred.

Would I access her services again? Absolutely and without hesitation. Over the years she has garnered a wealth of information and contacts which benefit the client greatly. There are always hiccups in travel but with a seasoned agent the hiccups are kept to a minimum and, when they do occur, they are resolved quickly and efficiently.

Available 24/7
Edy Netter | January 26, 2017

She seemed like she was available 24/7 while we were traveling! Extraordinary! All logistics were excellent and itinerary was detailed. She helped us make choices, gave us great options to choose from, and listened will to our likes/dislikes.

Checked up on us
Gloria Rosen | January 26, 2017

Very good communication with Donna and staff. Selection of Accommodations and tours were excellent. Handled all our internal flight, car rental and transfer arrangements. Trip ran smoothly and Donna and her staff checked up on us during our travels. We had a wonderful experience. Trip to New Zealand and Australia, Dec. 2016.

WOWED by her delivery.
Bronwen Kelly | May 6, 2016

Donna Thomas and her team at New Zealand Travel, Inc. recently planned a 6 week trip to New Zealand and Australia for us (March 15 – April 29, 2016 including stays in the Otago Peninsula, Te Anau, Queenstown, Arthurs Pass, Nelson, Blenheim, Rotorua area, and the Coromandel Peninsula in New Zealand and Melbourne, the Barossa Valley, Kangaroo Island, Tasmania, Hayman Island (Great Barrier Reef) and Sydney in Australia). Donna heard our desires and needs (limited mobility traveler) and went out of her way to ensure accommodations, transportation, tours and even restaurants were appropriate. Donna’s caring and attention to detail is unsurpassed. From our first conversation we knew we were in good hands but we were WOWED by her delivery. Donna and her team provided a detailed itinerary, contact information, driving directions, confirmations, restaurant recommendations and reservations before our departure and followed up during our journey to ensure all was going as planned (it was). We are seasoned travelers and typically plan our own vacations but Donna’s knowledge of both countries was so compelling we let her do it for us this time. We can honestly say this was one of the most stress free trips we have taken as we could focus on and enjoy wherever we were without worrying about organizing details for the next few days or weeks. All the planning was done for us in advance and was perfect. You cannot go wrong engaging Donna Thomas — you can only go wrong if you don’t!

Nothing short of fabulous
Carol Brigleb | February 22, 2016

Donna’s love of New Zealand is infectious which made us excited about our trip and we were not disappointed – all of us want to move to New Zealand. Everything Donna planned for us was special and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The planning was flawless and thorough so the trip went very smoothly. I have already recommended Donna to several friends who are thinking about visiting New Zealand.
As a side note, I would like to tell you that Donna also planned a four week trip to Australia for us, which we are in the middle of. AMAZING!! Our accommodations are top notch and our tours have been terrific. The attention to detail required for our trip was herculean and Donna and her staff created an itinerary nothing short of fabulous and included everything we asked for and then some. A memorable experience that has moved to the top of our list of favorite trips. Donna and her staff are to be commended for a job very, very well done!!

My best experience yet.
Sheila Van Norman | January 26, 2016

Donna Thomas and her team were outstanding in planning a four week trip to New Zealand for my husband and I over Christmas. I’ve worked with several of Wendy’s travel experts before and I’ve always been quite happy, but from the very first contact, I could tell that planning with Donna would be my best experience yet. After an initial discussion (all by phone I would add, Donna is in Pennsylvania and we live in Quebec City, Canada) , Donna and her team worked with us to arrange an itinerary and accommodations that suited us perfectly. It took a fair amount of back and forth, but Donna and her team gave us excellent advice and helped us plan our ideal trip. The trip was flawless and exactly what we wanted. We’re thrilled with our experience and I would do it all again in a heart beat.

One of a kind itineraries!
Kelley Wilde | November 16, 2015

My husband and I just completed 5 weeks in New Zealand planned by Donna. First of all, you must visit New Zealand. And you have to use Donna and her team at NZ Travel Inc. Donna loves New Zealand and creates one of a kind itineraries! The tours are out of this world (try to do a private or small group, you get so much more out of it) and the lodging was intimate in amazing locations. We toured three islands of NZ, each of them very unique. Our top must dos: Kiwi Dundee in Coromandel Peninsula, Fox Glacier helicopter tour, overnight in the Doubtful Sound, Peninsula Encounters (walk through a sheep farm to penguin and sea lion breeding colonies!) on Otago Peninsula, and bird watching on Ulva Island. The amount of detail provided before we left for NZ was incredible; turn by turn instructions, detailed contact information, even an atlas filled with great info like lunch stops and photo ops. They have really thought of everything. Donna and her team clearly love New Zealand and love what they do!

Donna Thomas is a GEM
Peggy Schuemann | May 26, 2015

Donna Thomas is a GEM and her team the BEST.  We had her plan two trips for us.  The first, to New Zealand, covered so much of the natural beauty of that wonderful country.  We stayed at wonderful lodges and bed and breakfast accommodations.  We were lucky to visit Christchurch before the earthquake.  Donna encouraged us to add the Abel Tasman walk to our itinerary, and the scenery was lovely.  We saw much of the South Island and also spent time on the North Island, at Bay of Islands at a wonderful B&B with a great chef.   We returned to Donna to play our trip to Australia.  Everything was A-1.  We met some friends in Melbourne for the tennis, and Donna also coordinated their itinerary.  All went off without a hitch.  Knowing we were meeting special friends, Donna passed on a “perk” to us.  Being a well known customer of the Langham in Melbourne, Donna was approached by the hotel that their Presidential Suite would be available to her guests, and she passed that opportunity on to US.  How lucky to meet our friends in Melbourne, both itineraries lovingly planned by Donna Thomas, and then stay in the Presidential Suite.  Hats off to Donna Thomas, call her for your New Zealand adventure, her expertise is in this destination, but perhaps also for Australia!

Truly amazing!
Dennis Casey | May 7, 2015

Donna Thomas and her staff are truly amazing! My wife and I were completely delighted and impressed with their understanding of our wishes, flexibility, thoroughness and attention to detail. Donna visits NZ often and has met face-to-face with her recommended tour agents and accommodations’ staffs. She KNOWS New Zealand. She provides maps, offers suggestions to enhance traveling from place to place, makes travel, event and restaurant reservations and has an insider expertise that’s invaluable. Just one example: on our multiple trips on NZ rail service, she knew and reserved for us (on each leg) the best seats on the best side of the carriage in the best row for sightseeing, noise reduction, and carry-on storage. That’s knowing your product.

Perfection
Al & Ann Cohen | April 14, 2015

We traveled to New Zealand from 3/17/15-4/9/15. My wife and I took our granddaughters and we toured both the north and south islands. Donna and Kori customized the trip to our needs and the only thing I can say is “perfection.” I cannot say enough about how well the trip was planned, catering to our every need, and the book with the day-to-day itinerary and vouchers for all the accommodations and tours made life easy. Also, it seemed that everybody knew Donna and we got so many upgrades, the most amazing of which was the Bolton hotel in Wellington, which upgraded us to the Presidential suite—like that could ever happen again to me, ever. All I can say is if you go to New Zealand and don’t use Donna, mistake—big mistake.

Amazing experiences
Chris Stoll | March 31, 2015

Ask a trip advisor to plan 3 1/2 weeks in New Zealand for 3 couples in a van, traveling 2600 km with a budget, and what do you get? An extraordinary trip planned by Donna Thomas with the freedom of independent travel, but the detailed attention and planning of a real expert. Our group just returned from our March 2015 adventure full of amazing experiences. Donna worked with me for several months fine-tuning the itinerary to fit our expectations. She made all of the reservations, from quaint, little cabins at the beach on the Coromandel Peninsula to a three-bedroom apartment with a drop-dead gorgeous view in Queenstown. She steered us to Lake Wanaka, a less touristy version of Queenstown, where we took a stunningly beautiful, late-afternoon plane ride over Mt. Aspiring. She suggested an early morning walk around Lake Matheson, near Fox Glacier. The lake was so still, you could barely tell if you were looking at the mountains or their reflection. Donna recommended a cruise on Doubtful Sound, again away from the tourist crowds. It was certainly a highlight. We had a few private guides, each one knowledgable and enthusiastic, to show us the sights he loved. We especially liked our “Best Abel Tasman Day Trip” with Rod. We spent the day on his boat just absorbing all the beauty and fun of the area. Donna and her staff were a pleasure to work with and the results were A+. I still can’t figure out how she arranged such perfect weather.

The expertise that Donna and her staff have cannot be outdone.
Ellen Kucker | March 20, 2015

My husband and I recently returned from a 3 week vacation in New Zealand. This is our 3rd trip there and our 2nd that Donna has planned. The expertise that Donna and her staff have cannot be outdone. Many years ago I was a travel agent so I have some sense of the time and energy it takes to plan such a detailed trip. Donna gave us 3 choices in each venue to choose from including descriptions of each property. She has been to each property . They know and respect her. She has taken every excursion that she suggests and her maps tell you where to stop for gas and what to see along the way. Donna and her staff are lovely to work with and I can only say that I hope everyone who travels to New Zealand is lucky enough to work with Donna.

It was amazing
Rob Feakins | March 4, 2015

My wife and I had planned a trip to Australia during the last two weeks of December 2014. A week before our departure, my wife said if we’re going to travel that far, why not see New Zealand. I had been for work but she never had. So I hastily called Donna. And said I needed a vacation to New Zealand figured out and booked before I departed for Australia in seven days (I didn’t want to be working out logistics for New Zealand while we were in Australia). And boy did she scramble. I asked for a driving vacation around the South Island. There aren’t a lot of options in some of the places we were going but Donna used her expertise and clout to find us last-minute accommodations for this trip, including finding us lodging in Queenstown on New Year’s Eve. Her suggestions of where to go and where to stay were perfect. And the thoroughness of the itinerary was amazing—right down to a driving map with hand-drawn notes of places to stop off. That one amazed us. Donna also provided us a guide for one day, who was amazing and took us four-wheeling by the Shotover River. The highlight was our overnight cruise on Doubtful Sound that Donna recommended over the more crowded Milford Sound. It was amazing and it’s not to be missed.

Destination

Fly Your Own Plane to Fogo Island, Newfoundland

Wendy Perrin | April 10, 2014

Destination

In Search of the Extraordinary in British Columbia: Got Recommendations?

Wendy Perrin | June 29, 2015

Sites and Apps

Apps To Help You Survive Holiday Travel

Wendy Perrin | December 12, 2016

  • Have you returned from a trip arranged by this Trusted Travel Expert?

    If so, please leave a review of your experience so your fellow travelers can decide whether this travel planner is right for them. Include your name (because anonymous reviews are not fair), the month/year of your trip, the destination(s) you traveled to, and your advice for anyone who is considering hiring this travel planner. If you’d prefer to share your review privately, email Wendy.