Make Your Next Trip Extraordinary

Felt very customized for our tastes
Carrie Lazarus | October 13, 2016

Christos put together a fantastic 2 week trip for us to Greece. From the moment we landed in Athens, to the visits to 3 islands, it was flawless. The hotels were great as were the guides, the excursions and restaurants. The trip felt very customized for our tastes. We are already thinking about Italy next year and will call on him again to plan our trip.

Would highly recommend
Thomas Nyhan | October 11, 2016

Very good recommendations on lodging and we were repeatedly upgraded. All transfers went very smoothly notwithstanding repeated changes in the schedules for the boats and airplanes. Agent was particularly helpful when the ferries in Greece went on strike on a departure day. They worked in real time to find an alternate ferry ride on the scheduled day of departure. All the guides were very knowledgeable and well educated. Agent was very responsive to every inquiry. I would highly recommend Christos and his team.

We had a great time
Stuart Kovensky | August 10, 2016

My family and I would like to thank Christos and his team for planning our trip through Athens, Santorini and Mykonos. We really enjoyed ourselves and their recommendations for hotels, restaurants and activities really helped make the vacation special! In Athens, our tour guide was great, and the dinner at Kuzina was a real highlight of the trip. Sitting on the top floor there and looking out over the Acropolis was amazing! Santorini was truly beautiful and the team at Mystique was so gracious and helpful. Our sunset cruise there with Santorini Sailing was truly the highlight of our entire trip. They were so funny, great tour guides and very good cooks. They even gave us the name of a SCUBA guide in Santorini that turned out to be a great find. Mykonos was amazing. We went to LIA beach for scuba two days and that was great. The staff at Myconian Ambassador was second to none. At the front desk, Virginia and Mike handled all of our requests with ease, and the Head Waiter (George) and the rest of his team, including Leo, were fantastic. We felt like home there.

All in we had a great time and we couldn’t have done it without Christos.

We should have put a little more effort into the planning phase....
Joe Chuba | July 31, 2016

Christos and his team were very responsive and courteous in the planning phase and during the trip. We had a great time and really enjoyed the Santorini leg of the trip. All of the guides True Greece booked for us were amazing. They were also very quick to make a last minute change to one of our activities. Awesome service. One thing I would do if I could go back: we should have put a little more effort and engagement into the planning phase. We never had a conversation with Christos or his team. We did everything over email. In hindsight, it would have been better if we did talk. Mykonos turned out not to be the right fit for us, but we never really had much of a discussion about how the destination fit into our preference. Advice: Take advantage of the experts and ask more questions.

An amazing experience
Jan Heininger | July 8, 2016

In April 2016, we traveled to Greece with our two adult kids and our son-in-law. Christos Stergiou and his team planned a wonderful trip for us that perfectly met our needs. We are all well-traveled so adding in off-the-beaten path activities is important as well as not missing major sites. To do so, excellent guides are crucial and the guides TrueGreece provided couldn’t have been better. We especially loved Eleni, our guide to Epidaurus, Nafplio and Mycenae because when she introduced herself she said really wants her guests to understand Greece and what they are seeing so she does a lot of “blah, blah.” We told her she could “blah blah” all day long because that was exactly what we wanted so we got a good 5 hour lecture on Greek history and culture that not only greatly enhanced the sites we were seeing but gave us a context for what we’d see on the rest of the trip. Guides can make or break a trip and Christos’ guides are top notch.

The guidance we got on planning the trip was excellent (Athens, Delphi, Peloponnese, Crete and Santorini), the hotels were perfect (and with great concierges), the vehicle we used to tour mainland Greece was superb (and this a real sticking point for our family because we’re all tall except me who gets squashed if the long legs of the others aren’t given enough room), and the mix of driving, flights and ferry was just right.

The whole trip went off without a hitch. I would strongly recommend that anyone wanting to visit Santorini NOT go via a cruise ship. By staying on the island for 4 nights (in a terrific hotel — Astra Suites– that spills over the edge of the caldera), we managed to avoid cruise ship passengers, travel to all corners of the island (and around the caldera by boat), toured the ruins of Akrotiri that had been buried and excavated like Pompei and experienced the Greek Orthodox Easter in the mountain town of Pyrgos that is set ablaze on Good Friday with burning cans of fuel lining all terraces, rooftops, steeples and fences. It was an amazing experience and one you can’t get from the truncated visits made by cruise ships. Also, avoiding high season in Greece and going in shoulder season as we did was a great decision. We missed the crowds and had absolutely splendid weather. I can’t imagine how wrung out we would have been doing the trip in the height of summer, which is when most tourists visit.

Excellent experience...
George Foussianes | December 3, 2015

Excellent experience…there is nothing like having an expert on the ground during our trip to handle the unexpected modifications that we made once we arrived in Greece. Thanks for your help!

He did a terrific job
Dr. Bill White | October 7, 2015

True Greece—We had already booked a week aboard the sailing ship the Sea Cloud, when we asked Christos Stergiou to build us a month-long trip around our cruise. He did a terrific job. We conducted the initial planning via Skype while we were vacationing in Bali. He put together a trip which was special. The single most important point regarding the trip was the quality of the drivers and the guides. Always to the minute on time and the guides were some of the best we have experienced anywhere in the world.

The trip was fantastic
Martha Holland | October 6, 2015

Christos Stergiou is a superb travel planner. Patient, thorough, and kind. My friend and I traveled to Santorini and Naxos with a few days in Athens. Our Santorini boutique hotel, the Andronis, was the best-loved in the neighborhood. Great tour guides at the excavation site and the wine tasting. Our Naxos villa was too out of the way and we would have preferred being nearer to the port area. The Mod Hotel in Athens was no substitute for the grand hotel (name forgotten), but we were glad to sample both. Do not schedule that Onassis restaurant in Athens again—it was far away and certainly nothing special. Would have preferred a dinner in Naxos of Christos’s choosing. The trip was fantastic overall, and we had the most wonderful time.

The trip was a great success
Jeff Goble | August 10, 2015

Christos and his team helped us plan a two week trip to Greece with our daughter & son-in-law in July 2015. As expected they were great helping us decide where to visit (Athens, Crete, Santorini & Rhodes) and arranging great guides, experiences, restaurants, transport & accommodations. But what really set Christos apart was the high level of support we received once we arrived in Greece. This became especially valuable as our arrival coincided with the start of massive protests leading up to the referendum on the EU bailout program. Fortunately for us Christos had booked us into a hotel right on Syntagma Square so we were able to observe the protests, the crowds and democracy in action. Throughout our trip True Greece maintained daily contact with us to keep us informed of the political situation and to make sure our trip was going well. The trip was a great success and we owe a lot of it to Christos & True Greece.

Cruises

Watch: How to Choose the Right Cruise

Wendy Perrin | September 8, 2016

Travel Tips

How to Never Wait in Line at a Tourist Attraction Again

Wendy Perrin | June 16, 2015

Airline Travel

Philadelphia Airport Layovers: The Best Way to Spend Them

Brook Wilkinson | March 10, 2016

Airline Travel

An Interview with Frequent-Flier Legend Randy Petersen

Wendy Perrin | April 23, 2014

Cruises

How I Became a Cruise Ship’s Godmother—and Why I Can’t Review My Own Ship

Wendy Perrin | May 11, 2015

Ask Wendy

How to Get Help in an Emergency When Traveling Abroad

Wendy Perrin | May 15, 2015

  • Have you returned from a trip arranged by this Trusted Travel Expert?

    If so, please leave a review of your experience so your fellow travelers can decide whether this travel planner is right for them. Include your name (because anonymous reviews are not fair), the month/year of your trip, the destination(s) you traveled to, and your advice for anyone who is considering hiring this travel planner. If you’d prefer to share your review privately, email Wendy.